We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, marvelous gardens, large villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance for a week this January and we are very pleased with the resort. The impeccable service and attention started with a couple of e-mails that I exchanged with the hotel management before we arrived. They treat you unbelievably well and the staff are generally very happy and attentive like nowhere else I have been. My highlights:
1. Amazing tropical garden and birds around the resort.
2. Very calm atmosphere and no crowd - you feel like you are in a private resort even on the beach.
3. Large and cozy villas with huge outdoor space, very high ceilings and the only thing you hear are the birds in the gardens.
4. Incredible food in all dining venues at very decent prices and excellent service.
5. Calm waters in the bay of Lamai.
6. Very pleasant spa and beach massage offers with view of the ocean.
Generally a very beautiful and romantic place and we can't wait to go back there for a longer stay. The only thing the resort needs is some renovation although it is perfect as it is and the slightly dated setting gives it a more natural and down to earth feeling.

Room Tip: Get a garden pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Borislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Borislav S -

Greetings to Sofia and thank you for your kind feedback!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday getaway to Koh Samui with us and that you appreciated the relaxing and calming atmosphere of our Pool Villas and the tropical gardens.

I am especially proud of your comment in regards to our culinary offerings as it shows us that the menu changes Chef Tor and Didier had executed from October to December are well received by our guests.

We will continue to upgrade the resort which includes the newly renovated Banana Leaf restaurant and will be followed by upgrades of our villas, the Deluxe Rooms, Lobby as well as tawaNN restaurant to ensure that all areas of the resort remain in sharp condition.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Good food, nice beach, very friendly staff!! Good entertainment programme, nice pool, everything perfect!
Newspaper everyday, food changes, live cooking shows, beach parties, very clean, good candies at reception

Room Tip: Very nice the pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buchares2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Buchares -

Greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui! Thank you for your wonderful review. Its a pleasure to read your comments showing us that you simply enjoyed your vacation with us...

I am especially happy to read that you loved the entertainment by the beach - I am assuming during the weekly Beach BBQ and completely aree with you: The coconut candies at the reception are divine!

We hope that you will come back to visit soon and send our best regards,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We've traveled to Thailand many times before and this was our first visit to Koh Samui. The resort is away from the center of things which can be a plus and minus. Getting into town was a challenge since the hotel's shuttle only ran twice daily. The resort is not directly on the main street, therefore taxis do not pass by and it's a bit of a hike in the heat down the dirt road. The included breakfast buffet was amazing! Every dish imaginable, all delicious!! Staff was very friendly. We stayed in one of the bungalows with a private pool which was beautiful and spacious. The beachside pool is gorgeous with incredible views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mehim2cutedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear mehim2cutedogs -

Greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback here on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased to hear that you loved your villa, our breakfast as well as the pool and not to forget the service of our team.

You are correct in regards to the location: The Renaissance is located a 7 minutes drive from Lamai and 15 minutes from Chaweng. Both towns are easily accessible by either motorbike, hotel car, complimentary hotel shuttle that runs twice daily or public taxi (or indeed a pick up that passes by at the main road, which is 5-6 walking minutes away). Most of our guests enjoy the location, at the quiet beach of Laem Nan (next to Lamai beach) which is away from the hustle and bussle of Chaweng and Lamai while being close to nightlife and shopping.

Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day!

Herzliche Gruesse nach Stuttgart,

Killian Donoghue
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great resort, friendly staff, very nice accommodations. On-site spa was very nice, in an out-door garden area. Awesome breakfast spread. Friendly and helpful staff. However, internet somewhat slow. Villas are great - but not enormously spacious

Room Tip: Hotel provided car service comparable to local taxi service for airport and elsewhere. Slight premiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRJLOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear MRJLOLO -

Greetings from sunny Koh Samui and thank you very much for taking the time to post a review sharing your experiences.

I am very happy to learn that you loved our villas (they are 130sqm inclusive of outdoor private terrace space with a small pool), the service of our team as well as the Quan Spa.

We have taken up your comment in regards to the Internet speed. We actually provide one of the highest speeds on the island but are checking whether there was a "bottle neck" during your stay. I am happy to let you know that we will also upgrade our speed by another 50% within the first quarter of 2014.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back one day as Hong Kong is so close with daily flight connections directly to Koh Samui.

Until then, I remain with best personal regards,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is the first time that our whole family travel to Thailand together. It is the first trip for our son in law and 18 month old grandson. Six of us plus our grandson stayed in two beachfront cottages which are very spacious and beautiful. We enjoyed our private jet-pool and outdoor shower, our grandson was fascinated and delighted when he discovered how to turn the jet on and off. The complimentary breakfast was great with variety of food and beverages. The staffs were very attentive and chef Tod came out and greet us and asked if there were any thing else he can cook for us. We enjoyed the pool and quiet private beach with shallow and calm water which is very good for young children. We enjoyed our New Year eve dinner at Tawann restaurant, the view from the restaurant at sunset was very beautiful and romantic and the foods were delicious. All of the staffs are very polite and helpful, they all greet us with respect as we walked pass them. We would highly recommend this resort to our friend.

Room Tip: Beach front villa was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palfam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Palfam2013 -

Greetings from tropical Koh Samui! Thank you very much for recommending the Renaissance.

I am truly happy to read how much you enjoyed your family vacation in our beachfront pool villas as well as the culinary offerings. Indeed we received many positive comments about the New Year's Eve dinner by the beach and I am pleased to know that you also enjoyed our breakfast and the Thai saefood selection with views of Lamai Bay at our signature restaurant tawaNN. I will certainly share your feedback with Chef Tor.

We hope that you will not wait too long to return to Koh Samui. Please let me know if I may be of assistance with future arrangements via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com.

With best personal regards,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here on the 1st four days of our 16 day honeymoon and wow did Renaissance set a bench mark. Our other hotels we stayed at for the remainder of the honeymoon could not even compare. Breath taking scenery, the nicest possible staff that accommodate to your every need, the best buffet breakfast we have ever had, beautiful pool and recreational area, and a room that you don't want to leave. Everything you could possibly wish for in honeymoon or even family get away. Special mention to Woody who greeted us daily made us feel very special and made our stay there even more pleasurable.

Room Tip: All villa's are the same however the beach view ones would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Erhan A -

Greetings to Melbourne and I hope that you arrived safely back home after your honyemoon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum.

We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in one of our private pool villas as well as the breakfast and the caring service of our team. I will make sure your compliment reaches Woody who is a true star in our team.

We hope to see you again soon! Sawadee Krub,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissance Koh Samui as part of our honeymoon and it was incredible. They picked us up from the airport in an SUV and from start to finish the service was absolutely impeccable. I have never met such a friendly staff. Everyone from the front desk to the maintenance crew is so genuine that they really make you feel welcome. We stayed at a beach front villa with pool access which was a bit exposed but we liked being close to the pool and beach front so it was great. I agree with some of the reviews that the villa could use some updating, particularly the bathroom shower and toilet area, but we didn't spend a lot of time in there anyway so not that big of a deal!

The breakfast buffet was one of the highlights for us. They have everything you can imagine from fresh omelets to Thai cuisine and any fresh juice you could think of. The coffee was particularly good as well and the staff would offer a special drink each day and a coconut to drink as well! Another really nice touch is the two navigators, Killian and Didi, who always seemed to appear when you had a question, needed another beverage or were looking for advice about where to go for dinner or things to do. These gentleman do a great job of making your time there just a little extra special. Didi even got us reservations at a restaurant off the resort that initially told us they were booked! Another highlight was happy hour down at the pool bar. They had 2 for 1 drinks from 5 to 7 and we would go down and watch the sun set while sitting right on the beach every night. The pool bar staff is very friendly too so they make it a nice happy hour vibe.

Perhaps the biggest highlight is the Quan Spa located right near the main pool and on the beach. This is the most amazing spa that we have ever been to (and my wife has been to a lot of them!). Just an amazing setting and a very professional staff make this it a truly unique experience. One day we got a couples Thai massage in an open air beach sala which was of course right on the beach. It was actually one of their specials for the week so the price was very reasonable. The spa is a must even if you are not staying at the resort.

In terms of dining the food is excellent. We spent 8 days at the resort and only left once to eat out because we enjoyed it so much right on the resort. There is Tawann which is more of a high end restaurant that is worth every penny. The views, atmosphere and service there are just incredible. The Banana Leaf restaurant which hosts the breakfast is more casual, and there is a tapas restaurant as well that does an excellent job.

Also worth mentioning is the cooking class that we took while at the resort. That was a really unique experience as well. We cooked 3 different Thai plates which was also dinner for us as well.

The private beach and pool area is where we spent most of out our time relaxing every day and once again everything was impeccable. This is the type of resort that can meet any needs or expectations. Whether you are going for your honeymoon or family vacation the Renaissance Koh Samui is definitely to be considered. We highly recommend it and will definitely return for another wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hello michael q -

It was wonderful to have you as our guests and I am more than pleased that we were able to make your honeymoon trip so special!

One of the most important aspects of the Renaissance Koh Samui experience and each Renaissance worldwide is that our "Navigators" (which includes myself and Didier) are trained on identifying the best spots on the island to shop, see, sip and savor to ensure that our guests can discover each destination away from tourist tracks and see the real Samui. I am so happy that we were able to deliver this promise to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary - until then: All the best to New York!

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
739 reviews
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £119 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing