We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a true high end resort with everything you could expect of such an establishment : good service, great rooms, great amenities, great food, etc. The site is beautifully maintained with great gardens and two nice pools (one Olympic size pool). There's a fully furnished gym which we used. The only downside I would say is the beach ... There's a low tide which makes a good swim impossible. You may go further on lamai beach near rummania resort to enjoy great waters. The highlight of our room was the jacuzzi on our bug terrace. I would go back anytime. This hotel is a dream come true.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Valo_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Valo_voyage,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with the TripAdvisor community! We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us! The water levels are indeed lower in April and May, depending also on the current moon phase.

Hoping to see you on Koh Samui again and with best regards to Montreal,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    326
    83
    29
    23
See reviews for
237
655
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This is a place to come and stay!! It's for all ages, couples,friends and family. the staff are amazing here there all very friendly,kind and caring... The food is sensational at all restaurants! Tawann, Tapas bar, pool bar and banana leaf... Cocktails are amazing they have happy hour also! Defiantly will be coming back here to stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Deat Tanya C,

Greetings from the team of the Renaissance Koh Samui! Especially our culinary team around Didier and Chef Tor were proud to read your comments in regards to our beverage and food offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back and whenever I can assist you, please feel free to contact me via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com

With best personal regards,

Killian Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

we stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it. the pool bar service was fantastic, house keeping kept the room perfect and the front desk staff were great. had one of the best rooms here over looking the view of the beach. it is a quiet resort out of the way of the busyness of the two towns and only a short taxi trip back and forth! The beach dinner was a highlight and luckily we were here for the Songkran (water) festive for Thai new year and they put on a great show! We will definitely look at staying here again.

Room Tip: beach front pool Villa for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Melody J,

Greetings to Perth and thank you for sharing your holiday experience here on TripAdvisor!

Our team was happy to read your comment about Songkran as we have prepared it for a long time to make it special for our guests. How did you like the Renaissance Miss Songkran competition?

We look forward to welcoming you back one day... Maybe for your anniversary?

Sunny greetings,

Killian Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were looking for a Marriott Resort for our 3 1/2 week Far East Trip last month which included China, Hong Kong and Bangkok. We narrow our search to Thailand which has Phukett and Koh Samui-the latter which we have never heard of. When I first logged into the site, I was immediately attracted to the one bedroom pool villa with beautiful ocean views as well as the horizon swimming pools. We were not disappointed but what was a surprise was how nice and accommodating was the staff there. In the last 15 years, we have gone to the Hawaiian Islands for 2 week vacations each year. For the last three years, we have enjoyed French Polynesia-Bora Bora, Moorea and Tahiti. On the way to breakfast while awaiting our room, we were stopped by the Manager who introduced himself. We both tried to think-where has this ever happened before? When we arrived at the restaurant, we met a very nice intern at the hotel by the name of Niern, from the Netherlands. We also met Chef Tor who was always taking time to make sure we were getting everything we needed. Me being the cynic-said "this can't last more than a day"-wrong again-it did. When we entered our Villa and saw the pool, the room and the view, we just said "Wow." Often you have rooms labled Villa but don't live up to expectations-this one did and exceeded them. It was great relaxing in your own pool while admiring the great views. Service was outstanding wherever we went in this resort. A number of articles I read in Trip Advisor about this resort had complained about the walk to the pool-we didn't find it far or bothersome. It is a beautiful infinity pool, made for swimming and relaxing. We are already planning on returning next March. Do the pool villa if you go-its worth it.

Room Tip: Our only initial complaint was the hard mattress in our room. We complained and a padded covering w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear BearnieBoston,

Hello from sunny Koh Samui! It is great to hear from you and wow - thank you for comparing our resort and the service of our ambassadors to other high end resort destinations in the world. Your comments have already been shared with Niran and Chef Tor and I am very pleased that our team once more created a special experience for you as one of our guests.

Please do let me know when your dates in March are fixed, I would be happy to assist you with the arrangements.

Until then, we are sending our very best regards,

Killian Donoghue
killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent nearly a week at the Renaissance in July of 2013 for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Like many others suggest, we stayed in a pool villa. We absolutely loved this resort - definitely one of the best Marriott properties we've ever visited. We were constantly greeted by kind and courteous staff and even the property managers took time to get to know and remember us. It made our visit there even more personable and enjoyable. The resort was a true oasis. Even though they were at nearly 100% capacity, you never felt crowded out or overwhelmed by other guests. Most of the days were spent poolside or exploring the island. The US dollar goes far in Thailand, so for other American travelers, you can enjoy room service, cocktails by the pool and even spa treatments without breaking the bank.

The property offers a large breakfast assortment every morning with is a complimentary perk for any Marriott Platinum guests. Everything from homemade fresh juices, smoothies, yogurts to a fresh assortment of fruits, Thai dishes, pastries, meats, coffees, and American fare were offered. It would be impossible to not find something you liked for breakfast! And each day, they offer a slightly different assortment. This was one of our highlights every morning! If you stay and dine at the resort throughout the day, there are a couple different restaurant options offering good food as well.

The pool villas are large with a private entry way, large room with a couch and desk area, a bathroom with double sinks, a vanity and a large walk-in shower. Outside is a private patio great for enjoying the outdoors and a private jacuzzi pool with lounge chairs. Our one complaint for this resort and why I didn't rate it a full 5-stars is that the pool was not kept clean throughout our visit. In fact, the pool never really looked that appealing and we only used it once. Compared to the large pool on the property, we felt it was a bit dirty and uninviting. This was one of the aspects of the pool villa we most looked forward to and unfortunately, we were unable to fully enjoy it.

If this is your first time to Koh Samui, keep in mind that the weather will be warm, humid/tropical and occasionally rainy. Being prepared with plenty of bug spray and lightweight clothing is recommended. The bed has a nice mosquito netting on it, but be sure none are trapped inside the netting before bed! Unfortunately, they are something you will have to deal with in this part of the world. The resort though provides you with bug spray and a diffuser for your room to help keep them away.

If we return to Koh Samui, we will definitely visit the Renaissance again. For us and compared to the rest of the island, this resort was an oasis of escape from the hustle and bustle of Koh Samui and kept up to the high standards that you would expect from Marriott's Renaissance brand. I'm not sure it is possible to be here and not be relaxed!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a villa with a private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjscraftygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello gjscraftygirl,

Greetings to Savannah, Georgia, and thank you for taking the time to post a review even though your stay was last year in July - much appreciated!

It is nice to read that even after 9 months, you do remember your wedding anniversary with us and that you especially enjoyed our breakfast and Pool Villas. We have by the way completely renovated our main restaurant Banana Leaf last December and I think that it turned out nicely, delivering an even better breakfast experience.

Your comment on the pool cleanliness in the villa is well noted and our team will pay extra attention to this area in the future.

Do you already have plans for this year's wedding anniversary? Please let me know if I may assist - on Koh Samui or another destination in Asia.

With very best regards,

Killian Donoghue
killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for 8 nights which was far too short - definitely would have loved to have stayed a lot longer. From the moment we were picked up from the airport until we left, the whole experience was just wonderful ....the staff being the jewel in the crown providing exceptional customer service - nothing was too much trouble. Attentive (without being intrusive) always friendly and smiling. Great to have a management team who were always visible and available ....very professional, knowledgeable and going out their way for customers. Breakfast was the best ever! Sitting on beanbags at the edge of sea watching sun go down over wonderful background was so memorable. Ambience and layout of hotel providing relaxing and luxurious environment. The jacuzzi on our balcony was pure luxury to relax in and watch the sun set over the sea. We celebrated our wedding anniversary during our stay and had the most wonderful candlelit dinner on beach with 2 beautiful members of staff looking after our every need. An unforgettable experience which we hope to repeat in future! Our first, but definitely not last visit to Thailand and Ko Samui. .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Sue D,

Hello to Worthing and thank you for the lovely review here on TripAdvisor!

I am so happy to read your feedback as it was such a special trip for you, celebrating your wedding anniversary! The romantic dining on the beach or in a private beach sala is indeed a special experience during sun set, but more importantly I am proud to see that our team exceeded your expectations and created wonderful memories for you.

Please come back soon and whenever I may be of assistance, please contact me directly via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com

Greetings from tropical Koh Samui,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I always love this place especially the pool villa. I'll be back there again soon. Thank you the front desk and breakfast staffs. Also the pool staffs are very courtesy and friendly. The room are just fabulous, nice and cozy. I love the pool villa so me and my mate can spend the time privacy. Breakfast was nice and you can find everything you like plus they have an idea for the hang over which make me surprised . I got no complain and hope scome back again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Nana R,

Greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui! Thank you very much for choosing us as your island getaway. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the privacy of the pool villas as well as the hangover morning treat.

Please dont hesitate to touch base with us if you need to escape the city heat of Bangkok the next time. All the best to you,

Killian Donoghue.
killian.donoghue@renaissancekohsamui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing