We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A truly rewarding experience ... beach front hotel.. serene and calm surroundings ... ideal place to relax and unwind all the stress..
took a beach front villa..felt like living in your own house..villa had a private pool ... comfy beds.. the usuals you expect from a 5 star experience ... price was reasonable( offseason)
both there restaurants are located with a wide view of the sea...food was nice with an international variety ... breakfast is awe sum....
nice pool just next to the beach... cabana style set-up .... bar right next to the pool ..
not very far from the "business-hub" of the island ... cheweng beach.. where all the party places are..
you can take a car on rent ( THB 1500 for 1 full day).. easily available .. reception staff can help..
hotel staff was very helpful and warm..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbehera1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear rbehera1984,

Greetings to Mumbai and thank you for your wonderful feedback!

I am thrilled to read your comments as it seems that our team ensured that your holiday was enjoyable on all fronts.

Please let me know whenever I can reserve that Beachfront Villa for you again and until then we send our very best regards from tropical Samui,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    324
    81
    28
    22
See reviews for
231
647
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My family and I stayed at Renaissance for 5 nights ... and overall had a very pleasant experience. We had heard that Chaweng was the more commercial part of the island and wanted to stay at a relatively quieter place but at a place that has a feel of its own... and i must say Renaissance was a great choice. The hotel car came to pick us up at the airport and were greeted by cold towels in the car which was a nice touch. Hotel is about 15 minuted from the airport and also from Chaweng area. Check in was quick. We had booked two interconnecting rooms and as we were a little early, our second room was not yet ready at the time, so we all crashed in the one room. However,the second rooms was made available within two hours as promised. the rooms were nice and large with very comfortable beds and all possible amenities provided. We booked the garden view rooms and the private patio with jacuzzi outside was amazing with delightful views of the lap pool (there are two major pools at the resort) from our patio. Rooms service was prompt and always available and the staff were extremely nice, courteous and hospitable. However, the room make up service can be tad slow.

The breakfast was in my opinion a little dull but overall food quality was very good (you have to try the chicken wings). My children the loved the pizza and had it almost every day. There is a free shuttle service to Chaweng and Lamai beach daily from the hotel, otherwise it will cost you about 300/400 baht one way trip on a taxi. The beach of the hotel is a little rocky but is right next to the hotel and the pool. They have special shoes at the bar if you want to go deeper and want to explore the beach without risking to get hurt by the rocks. There is a small but well equipped gym as well along with a small children's room with some blocks, movies and other small toys (good for kids upto 4 years to pass some time). The hotel also booked a tour for us at the hotel and we got picked up and dropped as well from our hotel by the tour. Food prices are reasonable considering other options and quality is good. We did not try the spa but there are plenty of cheaper choices available for massage in the city once you get down to the beach. In my opinion for well rounded relaxing stay, Renaissance is classy choice provided you don't mind a bit of traveling to get to the more commercial areas.

Room Tip: A villa is a good option for couples but for families, i would suggest interconnecting rooms for som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SohailOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello SohailOmar,

Greetings from tropical Koh Samui and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent getaway with us!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at the Renaisance with your family. It seems that you enjoyed nearly all of our facilities and we hope that we can welcome you back one day.

Please feel free to contact me whenever I can assist you in the future via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com

All the best to Karachi,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a week get-away to Renaissance. We upgraded to the villa upon arrival, the hotel was pretty empty so we had the choice of which villa we wanted which was nice.

The pool is small, it's more of a whirl pool than a swimming pool. The villa is lovely, the bed comfy and small touches such as fresh fruit and ample water daily was excellent. The maid came into make up the villa twice daily which was also excellent.

The one thing (no fault to Renaissance) was the amount of mosquitoes in the area. We were constantly on our guard in the whirl pool, so much so that we spent more time by the shared pool by the beach to escape them. I read that Koh Samui was a perfect breeding ground for them... They aren't lying! Bring some tiger balm with you and use the mosquito sprays and plug ins the hotel provide.

Breakfast was great! Eggs cooked to order, try the Samui Benedict! For the alcoholics like us, Bloody Mary was a nice touch.

The location of the hotel seems miles from Lamai beach, but try walking along the beach some time, it's really not that far! Some nice beach bars along the way. It is certainly a taxi ride anywhere else.

We arranged a boat trip through the hotel, they were very helpful on reception to fulfil your every need.

Keep up the good work Renaissance!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Sawasdee Londonlad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday memories with the TripAdvisor community!

I am happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our Garden Pool Villa as well as the breakfast spread that is the pride of Chef Tor. We will make sure to share your positive feedback with the team.

Indeed Mosquitoes are present on Koh Samui, especially in the early evening hours. Our weekly fogging of the gardens helps to reduce them a little and going forward there should be a lot less as we are moving into the good weather season of August and September.

We wish you all the best and will definitely do our best to "keep up the good work"! Please dont wait too long to visit us again.

Until then, all the best,

Killian Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last min top up the difference to a villa garden view room instead of a deluxe room as booked. The pool is quite tiny, but the room was really nice especially the four poster bed. Didn't enjoy the shower in the toilet, it's a sunken bath which makes it difficult to shower as the rain shower head was very near the wall. Very few mosquitoes if there is any.

The hotel compound is beautifully landscaped and maintained . The main pool was fantastic.
Go around sunset and enjoy lazing around the bean bags. Happy hour 1 for 1 drinks is a bonus.

Breakfast was quite good, probably one of the most healthiest choices of food available. Can also request for beef noodles thai style soup and other Ala carte items.

The beach is ok, do be careful when walking along it. Wearing shoes is a must, might get cuts. Not suitable to swim.Too shallow.

Overall nice hotel, need transport to get around. Unless you don't mind staying in hotel the whole time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Cara P,

Greetings to Singapore and thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor!

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the tropical surroundings of our resort as well as the private Pool Villa. We are looking forward to the upcoming "high tide season" where water levels will be back to a normal level after a very long dry season this year.

We hope that you will visit us again one day, Cara, and please feel free to contact me directy whenever I may be of assistance via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com

All the best,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a week for a relaxing time away from the big city.

Hotel is a good run property which unfortunately shows it's age. Than again, with those ridiculous hotel rates in Koh Samui one has to make compromises. Nonetheless good hotel.

Honestly, except breakfast we did not eat in the hotel and we did not fancy sitting in empty restaurants on out own. Breakfast is good and I have to admit that the 'Bloody Mary' station is a good idea too.

All the team was great. Right from airport pick-up to restaurants, housekeeping, reception and all the others I have not mentioned.

Would I recommend it? I already have.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubai_UAE_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear dubai_UAE_traveller,

Greetings from Koh Samui to Dubai! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your getaway with us! We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for already having recommended us!

We are constantly upgrading our resort and while all villas are in process to get a facelift, the entire Deluxe Room and Suite building will be refurbished in the period of 15 October to 15 December 2014 to showcase a contemporary twist on Thai interior. As the villas are located separately, there will by the way be no impact to our villa guests during that time.

I sincerely hope that we would be able to welcome you back thereafter to let you experience the fresh feel of our resort.

Until then I remain with best personal regards,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had an amazing experience at the Renaissance Koh Samui. I went with my husband and 3 year old daughter and have all the best things to say about this resort. We felt so relaxed, pampered, and taken care of from the moment we arrived. Upon arrival they give you freshly made mango and lemongrass ice cream and cool towels to beat the heat. Our room was comfortable and beautifully designed, with wood floors, a tile shower that opened up onto a balcony with a jacuzzi and two chairs with a nice view of the more private pool. They had a turndown service every night in which they dimmed the lights and lit a scented oil that smelled like lemongrass.

We were also happily surprised to learn breakfast was included and what an amazing breakfast. To start every day with freshly made guava, lychee, or mango juice or fresh coconut water straight from the fruit, plus any kind of food you could wish for including fresh tropical fruits, meats and cheeses, freshly made breads and pastries with all kinds of jams and toppings, eggs or pancakes made to order, a selection of Thai and Chinese foods including pad thai, chinese dumplings, and much more- also including a bloody mary bar and coffee/espresso made to order. Heaven!

The property has two pools, a lap pool that is more private and a large infinity pool right on the beach. The pools were great- the one by the beach has two shallower sections that are perfect for kids, including a selection of water toys for kids to play with. But they were also walled off from the deeper pool which meant adults are free to swim without being splashed by the kids. On the beach they have chairs and umbrellas and a bar, as well as water shoes you can borrow and a kayak you can also borrow. One night our family took the kayak out across the water towards Lamai beach, and a storm started in the middle of our trip. Though the water is very shallow and we made it to shore fine, when the staff did not see us they came out in their car to find us and bring us back. It was very kind and wonderful to feel so taken care of.

They also sponsored a cocktails and tapas night for all guests, came around periodically to the pool giving out mango and sticky rice, and many other little details that make you feel appreciated. the property itself is just gorgeous. Full of greenery and heavenly smelling flowering trees, and includes an herb garden used by guests who choose to take cooking classes there. We loved walking around and exploring everything. There is also a small play room for children with some tables, chairs, and toys that we used once, that was a nice extra. When you tire of paradise, there are free shuttles that take you to Lamai and Chaweng beaches for the day. The beach at the hotel has VERY shallow water so it is not that great for swimming, but we went to Lamai beach and it was nice with very calm, warm water. I did not find the beaches to be the crystal clear, green water that one may associate with the Andaman coast in thailand, but the property was so wonderful I actually cared less about the beach. The front desk staff also helped us to book a few different trips/tours. By far the best was the tour of Ang Thong, by boat. It was really helpful to have such a knowledgeable staff that could make all of the reservations for us.

Finally, again I have to give the staff a special mention. My daughter is very friendly and she quickly made friends with many of the staff, who indulged her day and night, walking around with her, giving her little gifts of ice cream or flowers, sitting and drawing with her, chasing frogs with her, etc. We were extra relaxed knowing she would find company and entertainment wherever she went, and they graciously told us she was the star of the resort. Everyone went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. Thanks to Nut, Dear, Honey, Aom, Bom, Killian, Victoria, and many others whose names I am forgetting. We had a wonderful time and hopefully one day we'll make it back!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms (not private villas) are still spacious with an outdoor jacuzzi, but they are on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rg925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear rg925,

Greetings to New York from sunny Koh Samui!

Thank you for being such special guests. Indeed our team still remembers your daughter as she entertained everyone around the resort! It was a true pleasure to have you with us and I am thrilled to read your comments in regards to the room, breakfast and the special care of our team.

Please dont wait too long to return as the good news is that starting July, water levels will rise again and be swimable all the way through end of March next year.

All the best to you and your lovely family,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The only thing I expect in a pleasure trip is to get pampered and forget everything. If this is what you are looking for, this is a great option.
Even though we did not have good luck with the weather the first couple of days our experience at this hotel was amazing. The food is excellent and the staff is super friendly. A lot of high energy young tourism students from all over the world doing their professional practices there that will help you with anything as well as the local staff.
The only negative thing we found was the temperature of the private pool in our villa. However we asked for a room change and they gave us a super big luxury room with a whirlpool in the terrace that was amazing.
If you are looking for local food and massage experience there are a couple good walking distance options by the hotel.

Room Tip: Great option if you want to relax and get pampered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Eduardo P,

Greetings from Koh Samui! Thank you for your lovely review. We are excited to read your comments as they show that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation with us. I will convey your message to our team and hope to see you back again one day.

Sawasdee Krub!

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Marriott, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing