We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd, a great escape.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd, a great escape.”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Silver beach is a small cove with just about 4 hotels around it. The Samui Yacht Club is at the end of the beach with bungalows clustered around the hillside and most look over this beautiful bay.
We did not stay there but merely went for a day out on recommendation.
The sandy beach is very close to Lamai and just 6/7/ mins drive from the bustle of Chaweng, a welcome change. The beach is quiet and clean enough with some shade and the Yacht club has a great pool with sun loungers around and some salas overlooking the beach as well.

We went for the day. The pool was superb and safe for kids and the restaurant had a fairly comprehensive menu albeit very average tasting, (all the Thai food was so sweet) I will go back again for the location but with low expectations of the food. A small price to pay though considering the hotel welcomes outside guests to use their facilities for free. The service was friendly enough but there was no real service to speak of, one had to go to the bar oneself etc, again no big deal, just as a business model they could clean the place up a bit and improve service, but then they would have to charge more etc etc.......... Quite refreshing actually with the advent of so many expensive places around the island now charging 'the earth' for everything.

The sea is very shallow with many small rocks, so take some beach shoes and if you want to snorkel it is perfect for beginners who don't mind walking or crawling out over rocks for the first 20 metres, my daughter and I spent an amazing 2 hours out there.

Room Tip: maybe ask for seaview from the rocks above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyJoelThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    153
    78
    32
    21
See reviews for
116
213
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
morae-mallaig
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here earlier this month for 4 nights and we loved the beautiful setting and quietness of the resort. Our accomodation was five or six steps from the sandy cove. The villa we stayed in was well equiped with a fridge freezer and mini bar, and big enough en-suite with bath and shower. We hired a moped which was only 150 baht per day (£3.00ish) just so we could get out and about round the island. We ate at the hotel the food is fantastic and very reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We would most definately stay here again and will recommend it to our friends and family. Changwe is only 5 mins away (by moped) plenty of shops and restaurants to chose from there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
824 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This looks like a great place to stay for a holiday. It has a flavor of Bali. Bungalows are set into a garden that leads to a beautiful cove with a sandy beach! It looks so quiet and so exclusive. The pool area is gorgeous. But I didn't stay at this resort. I only visited it and by reading other comments it seems that maintenance and service are its main flaws. What a pity! Because this looks like a real paradise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here in June 2012, with a friend.
Rooms are big and cleaned every day. The bathroom really is nice, kind of gives you an outside feeling. Covered with plants (in pots), nice shower with warm water and a nice bath.
Room gets cleaned every day. Breakfast in the restaurant is included. It has a private beach (Crystal Bay) which is not the nicest I've seen, but it's ok.
The staff is friendly and helpfull.
Renting a scooter here is possible for 250 TBH per day and you don't have to deposit your passport. This way you can explore the island and Lamai / Chaweng. If you go out in the evening, like we did, just park your scooter in front of the Mercure hotel and you're good to go.
Taking extra guests to the hotel wasn't a problem at all. No questions asked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here either day of holding our wedding at the venue. The rooms are a little dated and cheap looking, however we rarely spent any time in the room taking advantage of the views and beautiful beach. The entrance to the sea is has plenty of dead coral so be careful not to slice your feet open.

The venue was perfect for the wedding being close to where guests were staying in Lamai. The food and beverage is good, however the morning breakfast could have been better.

I would recommend this hotel for young couples or families with children.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dxb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Greatly located near Lamai but outside of the busy area full if concrete buildings, in a small fairly preserved bay with only a very few bungalows. Nice feeling of being in a cocoon outside of the madness of Lamai (which is 3 minutes away by car) and most particularly Chawen (10 min away by car).

We were upgraded to a see front deluxe room, which was breath taking.

A tiny problem with water in the shower: either cold or burning hot.

Service was useful although neither friendly nor smiling.

Room Tip: See view is so so, not worth paying more. Either you get a beach front room or you don't need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier_Reiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Samui Yacht Club is the largest of 4 small hotels that occupy the small beach in scenic Thongkatian bay. The bay is actually a small cove nestled in the highlands that separate the big commercial strip of Chaengwa Beach from the smaller Lamai Beach areas. The beach itself is sandy and clean (relatively). The bay is sheltered and it makes a great spot for swimming and splashing in shallow waters close to shore. Good for all ages. SYC's individual huts are roomy and the property takes-up a full half of the beach and the hillside along the east end of the bay. Each hut is roomy and those that accommodate an extra bed have plenty of room for 3 adults or a smaller family. Our room had a decent-size fridge and OK air conditioning. Great, right?

Unfortunately, the management seems incapable or disinterested in fully maintaining what was once one of the nicer places to stay in Samui. They are noticeably understaffed and the staff that is there, though friendly, are mildly disinterested. The bathroom tub was stained from old leaks and the faucets caked with calcium build-up from lack of attention (technically not dirty, per se). The rooms were superficially clean and a bit rundown. The pillows were lumpy and we only had a top sheet on the bed.

We saw dirty dishes all around poolside the day of our arrival that weren't cleaned up until mid-morning the next day. Although the breakfast buffet is meager and unimaginative, the food on the menu is actually pretty good and delivery is prompt and courteous. Just don't expect anyone to pick up your dirty dishes...ours sat on the patio for two days before I carried them down to the kitchen myself. The foliage is lush with orchids and massive trees...but totally unkempt and weedy.

But...would I come back again? Absolutely (though alone, my wife wouldn't join me). It's all about location and value. If you can stand less than top-notch and look past a little mold in the grout then you can enjoy one of the absolutely finest beaches and greatest views in Samui.

Room Tip: Ask for a view or a place by the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.9 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Lamai Beach
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Bay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Bay Yacht Club

Property: Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Address: 209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Bay Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Bay Yacht Club sits on a small but perfect beach on the Island of Koh Samui in Thailand. The calm warm crystal clear sea, powder soft white sand and beautiful tropical gardens make this location truly special. The resort consists of 43 bungalows all set in over 12,000 square meters of lush tropical gardens. Many species of birds and butterflies can be seen enjoying the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crystal Bay Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Yacht Club Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Yacht Hotel
Crystal Bay Yacht Club Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing