We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Pool Villa was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand Pool Villa was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Lucky for me I read reviews prior to booking. Only one Grand Pool Villa is "on" the beach, the others are just next to the actual ocean front villa, so still very close but I would feel pretty sad paying the same price for the ones that are not on the beach so book in advance and request the one that is exactly on the beach. All in all very nice room, clean and tidy small private pool. Large bath, big enough for two adults. Huge walk-in rain shower that was totally exhilarating. As another reviewer observed, the bed is two mattresses pushed together, at this price I have no idea why they cannot remedy this! Crazy. But anyway, the bed was very comfortable but made sleeping with the girlfriend like sleeping with your sister when you have that division in the middle of the bed, weird. No hardline internet in the room and the wifi would not reach my iPod or my girl friend's laptop, so we had to go out by the pool or bar if we wanted to check email or surf the net for stuff to do. Buy a wifi booster on the net and bring with...cheap solution. Food was great, service was fine, not as many smiles as you would hope for. Makes a great romantic getaway or honeymoon place. The party seen is mostly at Chaweng beach but I did find some nice beer bars here at Lamai and some nice girls. Here's a golden tip...if you want to have a real nice absolute beach front bungalow that is super clean, great service, etc on a budget. I found Kings Garden Resort at Chaweng and moved there after sending the gf home early. Room 27 is the beachfront room, for 60-100 USD depending on the season, you are literally 10m from the beach when you open your big windows. The beachfront Grand Pool Villa though will make you feel like a rock star for a week or for however long you stay! Good luck!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davertontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    384
    92
    39
    38
See reviews for
199
649
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

All in all The Pavilion was great - we stayed in a Deluxe Spa Room on the first level, so had a deep stone spa bath that fit two people. Privacy was not that great outside due to only bamboo blinds around the spa but manageable.

Service was fantastic, the room service prices were reasonable, and the pool and private beach excellent.

Our biggest issue was with the bed - as seems to be standard these days but in my view unacceptable for a 4.5 star hotel, the king size bed is two single beds pushed together... so there is a very uncomfortable middle of the mattress, especially if you like to cuddle! Also, the mattresses are ridiculously firm, like sleeping on boards really. As we stayed for quite some time (14 nights), by half way through it was very uncomfortable, and obviously did not get any better! If you struggle sleeping on futon-like bedding, you would struggle. I think by improving on their beds the Pavilion would be perfect!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briggas43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

The Hotel is gorgeous, pool grounds restaurant and especially the location right on the best part of Lamai beach. The staff are very attentive and the service fantastic at the bar, breakfast etc. We were offered an upgrade on arrival to a hydro pool room which was beautiful, until we were woken at 4.30 am by our neighbours in the adjoining room. I ended up having to sleep with ear plugs in. The next day we complained to the desk and were told that it was a one night booking and that the room was vacant for the rest of the week, so we decided to stay. Unfortunately in our 7 nights the room was booked out to 3 different couples who were all noisy (think it is the room design though) also think that this room is used for putting people up on passing through basis and they are not fussy about who!! We would have been happier in our original room I think.
Having said that we had a fantastic holiday, you need to get out and about as the prices of drinks and food are 4 times as much as on the beach and in town, although if you want luxury with your cocktail you would be happy to pay for it. We prefered to eat at the beach restaurants which were less formal than the Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

It was a fairly good stay. But breakfast and generally food were disappointing: we could not really eat it :(
There was indeed smell coming from the kitchen area and we could hear the staff talking from there as well, which was not really a problem, but the smell definetely was. I recommend asking for the room far away from the kitchen.
Also on the last day of our stay, after the maid cleaned the room, both our balcony door and entrance door (!) were ajar and the blinds were drawn shut... we were both sure that we closed both doors before we left: we have informed the staff about that, so they probably have dealt with that already.
The staff were generally polite and friendly, but just a bit clueless when we asked them about travelling onwards...
Overall given the quite high rates, I would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasiliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We picked this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor and great pictures, but felt compelled to write this review to warn others.. We booked two rooms – Twin and double for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year. We have been to Koh Samui four times previously and were looking forward to a rare short break with our adult kids. The first thing that hit us was the smell walking past the bin area to get to our rooms. We had Jacuzzi rooms but they were much smaller than the website made out. The bed was rock hard ( I like a firm bed but this was cheap and ridiculous) - the twin room was the same but no twin beds. It was exactly the same bed configuration for all rooms - a plywood base with twin beds pushed together. Double would just use one double sheet - twin two single sheets - so there was no gap…..not ideal for my adult daughter and son! Also as the bathroom and toilet only had frosted glass and looked into the room - again only ok for couples. The room configuration was awkward – not enough hanging space. The balcony had a Jacuzzi but you had to keep the blinds down to have some sort of privacy - so no view. They did move my wife and I into a pool villa room for the night – bigger space but a really small bathroom.
The next morning we met for breakfast - again a huge disappointment – very poor selection and poor quality. The egg station backed onto the same bin arae we walked past! The beach and beach bar were fine - the pool was small and surrounded by large pebbles. Not sure why as you had to walk over them - similar for the pool showers – you had to stand on them. We spoke with the manager and he agreed their rooms were not ideal unless you are couples, they also owned the backpackers hotel opposite (may give you a clue) .
We decide to check out and asked if they could help us with other accommodation (they said no – help yourself to the internet) which is not a good feeling on a four day break over Christmas ! We secured another hotel quickly which was 5 mins away and a much better standard and size for very little more and it turned round what could have been a disappointing break.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelledalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

Had a short 5 day break staying at this hotel. Was very impressed, picked up from the airport (for a small fee arranged by the agent), the reception staff all spoke decent English. Very clean throughout.

We stayed in a jacuzzi deluxe double room. Room was clean and air con was already on. Had everything we needed. Only minor thing was that the jacuzzi wasn't properly cleaned everyday.

It was actually my 30th birthday on the third day of the trip but neither my g/f nor I actually told them. They must've figured it out from the passport or driving licence when I hired a moped for the day. Had a cake left for me on the evening of my actual birthday. Very thoughtful.

Concierge was also very helpful with all the sights and things to do (except she didn't really know about the Muay Thai fights)

Would recommend the venue to anyone. Decent value. Guys at the beach bar were a good laugh, even when it rained they kept us entertained with games. Lamai's a nice resort. Didn't get massage or treatment at the hotel but plenty of seedy/non-seedy places on the main street at much cheaper prices. Very good buffet breakfast as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fungmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the staff at the Patio Restaurant, the quality of food and service was outstanding (you really should try the Jumbo chilli prawns - they are delicious!). Loved the location also - quiet, peaceful and relaxing, without too many beach vendors. The Spavillion was also fantastic and value for money! The pool boys were very kind and sure can make a yummy cocktail! Even the cleaning ladies were lovely enough to spray our room for mosquitoes when ever it was needed.
Our holiday was our honeymoon, and the Pavillion Samui Boutique Resort really is a Honeymooners dream!
Thank you to all the staff that made our stay so memorable! We hope to see you all again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank versa_seventies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort

Property: Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Address: 124/24 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in contemporary Thai style nested in a tropical garden set in a gorgeous beach front location of Lamai on the tropical Koh Samui Island offering 70 elegantly appointed luxury accommodation units of rooms and suites with spa and Villas with private pool to be complimented by full services and facilities for great holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Samui Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Hotel Pavilion Samui Boutique
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing