We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Coral Cove Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coral Cove Chalet
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We wanted to go back to Coral Cove resort since we had loved it 2 years ago but they were doing construction so stayed at Coral Cove Chalet instead for the first time this August. The rooms are definitely very tired and need serious renewal. The air-con is either on or off, no fan, paint cracking, beds creaking, windows impossible to open or to close...Bathrooms depressing. We arrived at night and felt quite down with the rooms which are the old dark kind of wooden bungalow room, probably quite classs when they were built a few decades ago but not on the level of what is available today (although not for the same price).

The staff at reception is maybe the worst in Thailand: you would really have to hunt around to find a more unpleasant unhelpful unfriendly unsmiling bunch. The staff at the restaurant, pool bar, cleaning is perfectly nice, friendly, helpful...Everything you would expect and love in Thailand.

The breakfast buffet is fairly commonplace but quite OK considering. The restaurant is uninspired and irregular. Avoid the sandwiches and hamburgers. The kids liked the fried chicken which we liked more than the fried chicken at Shangri-la in Bangkok. The Thai dishes are OK but they will not make them spicy even though you repeatedly ask for it (a bit but not as much as we would've liked). Fairly reasonable prices considering that the hotel is in a no-man's land and you have to take a taxi to buy a bottle of water (we thought the restaurant was expensive until we went to hotels in Chaweng where a pad thai cost 220 baht).

THE MASSAGE IS THE BEST WE'VE HAD IN THAILAND in a pleasant massage spot (no intimacy though) out in the open with a nice breeze but not on the beach - no sand on skin. There is a little round massage lady who is very sweet and a little older lady who is very strong. Both are extremely good masseuses and really know their business (Thai massage not the oil soft type).

There a 2 small "private beaches" which are both quite pleasant for snorkelling not so much for swimming aThe one on the right which is accessible only by tgoing down a fairly steep flight of stairs after the pool is usually deserted and ideal for snorkelling.

We loved the place and despite the extremely unpleasant receptionists we would go back for the calm, quiet and scenery. If you want nightlife and shops this is not the place but if you want peace and quiet and don't mind old creaking floors, it can be ideal.

We stayed for a total of 2 weeks and occupied 4 rooms (see below for room recommendations)
We wouldn't recommend this resort for people with reduced mobility and families with small children since there are quite steep stairs to go anywhere.

This is not the place if you prefer a nice sandy flat beach. Both beaches are quite rocky (we had water shoes). Careful not to destroy the coral, it was quite damaged on the more busier and smaller beach on the left.

Room Tip: This hotel is very spread out so the room choice is crucial. Definitely recommend a bungalow and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chihiroparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    116
    41
    22
    14
See reviews for
43
136
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good value for money.

Location a bit away from the action - we stayed for a few days to get settled in the the area and more to a slightly more exclusive hotel, perhaps spoilt us ..

Great views from the rooms and access to a private beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've stayed in this hotel 10 nights and have enjoyed our overall stay a lot! The hotel's 'backyard' is like a very big garden, with a lot of trees/plants and our room had a view on the beach and the pool which was pretty, not to forget the balcony! The breakfast was splendid, a lot of variation and all-you-can-eat, with a view on the ocean while eating. Employees were very friendly and always greeting when you walked in. The only minus I could think of is that the beach is not a sandy beach but a rocky one, so that wasnt pleasant for the feet. Other than that swimming was nice, and the nicely formed rocks on beach and the villa's in the hills make it a gem. The location is right between Chaweng and Lamai, which means you will always have to take a tuk tuk or cab to get to another beach which can be inconvenient at times (especially in the evening did the tuk tuk drivers try to charge you extra money, : 400 to bo phut is a bit much f.i.) 50 to 100 baht is a fair price to get to chaweng , and 200 a fair price to get to bo phut. We enjoyed! Thanks !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koala_b18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viersen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A beautiful charming hotel in a tropical garden. Our bungalow (226) had an unspoiled view over the beach and the sea and direct access to the beach. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom needed a little refurbishment but everything else was great. Room service was perfect with fresh tropical flowers the other day. Pool area with plenty sunbeds and umbrellas and poolbar service to the sunbeds. Happy hour daily from 5-7 with cocktails 2for1. Good breakfast choices with eggs any style and different Thai dishes. Nightly bus service to Lamai and Chaweng (fee). Mr. O the driver provided us with good restaurant tips.
If you want to stay in a nice small hotel you're right, if you're the big resort type go elsewhere.
We'll come back.

Room Tip: Ask before arrival for a bungalow with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerViersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were quite excited to go there since it was the end of our trip to Thailand and we made a reservation for the Jacuzzi suite and be able to relax.

The room was good for the price (wall cracks and water leaking traces at some places) nice ocean view and quiet. First disappointment: the Jacuzzi was only a small bubble bath enough space for one person (come on....)

The second big disappointment was the beach (the reason of booking this hotel)... Garbages everywhere, bottles, styrfoam plates of food floating, plastic bags, clothes (even found a shoe!) it was polluted and there is no sand at this beach, there is only uncomfortable granules of rocks (hurts!) we tried to do snorkelling as it was supposed to be popular for but the water is always very cloudy (which might be because of the pollution, i wouldn't be surprise). There was about 30 persons at the swimming pool and 6 persons at the beach for the whole stay. Welcome to Ko Samui!

Breakfast is good. The restaurant is VERY expensive (about double price than other places!) and the hotel is far from everything and they charge you about 400-600 bahts for a round trip to lamai or Chaweng... (So, there is no service without $$$).

The staff is not helpful for activities, they always answer that they don't know. At that point I was feeling kinda stuck there... especially if you don't want to waste money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PositiveTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Rented a scooter from hotel.After 9 km. we had a flat reartire.We tried to call hotel but number on their card was out of order! So we went to a nearby hotel an asked them to assist us. The got in touch with CCC but their answer was we had to fix it ourselfs! So we went for a repairshop. New inner tube was placed. Shop owner told us that outertire was in very bad condition and should have been replaced long ago.
As we returned to the hotel we experianced a second flat. Again new inner tube.
Fiinaly arriving at hotel (we lost whole morning)staff stated that all repairs were at our expence and that they had now other bikes.
So much for service at CCC!
My advice, stay away from this place the room are crappy, only 1ac socket and the service is lousy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robeintje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

CCC does not deliver its promisses. The resort is old and is in need for an update.
The rooms have a 1980 interior, the bungalows are placed so close together you can hear your the 'fun' next door.
The beach, is there a beach?, is so smal you can't call it a beach.
There are better places to stay nearby, check Ban Sua that's really good!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robeintje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Cove Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Chalet

Property: Coral Cove Chalet
Address: 210 Coral Cove Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Cove Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Cove Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Cove Chalet Hotel Koh Samui
Coral Cove Chalet Koh Samui
Coral Cove Chalet Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing