We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Aloha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloha Resort
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We had a great stay, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke really good english. We had mountain facing rooms which were spacious and we had a large balcony - not much of a view but how often are you in your room anyway? There was a large variety for breakfast which was always nice and plentiful. The hotel's restaurant was a bit expensive but there is a 711 mini market across the road from the hotel and a nice restaurant called the Reggae Reggae bar at the end of the hotels drive opposite the 711 which has a nice chilled atmosphere, nice food and free wifi unlike the hotel. The white beach and sun beds are nice with a selection of restaurants along the beach which are easily accessible, there is also jet skis and a volleyball net. The pool is big and clean with a jacuzzi but the warm turquoise sea is just seconds away from the sun beds.
There were many places to choose from to eat from Swedish restaurants to Australian, German and the traditional Thai restaurants which are the best for value and provide you with a satisfying meal. We personally found that the market provided a nice cheap selection of foods if you don't mind the communal eating, but definitely best for value and taste! All of the stall owners are friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. Here, you can also buy fresh fruit and delicious smoothies.
Within the hotel there is a booking desk which has thousands of tours, spa days, excursions and places to visit to choose from. We went on the 42 islands tour with snorkelling which was idyllic and we also went on the island tour which takes your round the main attractions of the island - both took a full day. We booked them all through the booking desk with great ease and the staff were very helpful in recommending places to visit.
The Aloha Resort overall is a very nice hotel if you don't expect to be going to a 5 star. It's very friendly and welcoming but doesn't provide the 5 star service that some expect from it which is why I think it gets some bad reviews. We didn't have any towel restrictions or dirty rooms, they got cleaned everyday and our towels were replenished daily so overall we were extremely happy with our room as it was what we were expecting. It is an older building the needs a little tlc but it's not run down or disappointing. I think that some people are just too critical and see the negatives more than the plentiful positives.
The weather was 25+ degrees everyday, sometimes with a bit of cloud but usually blue skies. There were also a few showers but would only last about 10 minutes, considering we were there for 3 weeks (27th July - 19th August) we only had about 4 or 5 showers.
The hotel is located at the end of a lively street with hundreds of shops, outlets, stalls and restaurants so you get a bit of everything right on your doorstep without having to get a taxi.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to families and couples!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    83
    55
    25
    30
See reviews for
66
74
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

a nice lay back place.Liam and the lads at the bar where excellent hosts.Simon Jake and the the the rest of me pommie mates..ha im an aussie kun great blokes. made it a great stay.

Room Tip: be polite and lose the western attitude...ura guest bin another land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed at Aloha Resort, Lamai Beach, Koh Samui in August and had a great time. Resort is at end of Lamai Beach. Right on beach one side and walk out to road on other which had restaurants and good shopping. 711 across road. Breakfast was good, rooms were big and we had interconnecting rooms which was great. Booked day island tour through tour desk and this was also good. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SYKOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Between the strict towel restrictions, rooms last updated 20 years ago, very boring breakfast, the unhelpful staff who pretended not to speak English and extremely thick algea in the fountains around the hotel, we were left tremendously disappointed for four days of our honeymoon.
Not to mention that this hotel's website misled us into thinking that it was modern.
I can imagine a time when this was probably one of the better hotels in Lamai, but now it is certainly a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We have stayed here for 17 nights. Our room was quite allright. Location was great. We met several people we want to meet again - for example Liam in the pula bar. The massage girls next to the hotel, The Reggiebar near the hotel.
We liked the friendly hotell - not a luxurous hotell but nice anyway.
We will come back!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Aloha resort while in Samui and trust me it was a great decision. You have the beach on one side – all access and amazing night life and then the hustle and bustle of the market place with great restaurants and bars on the other.
The room was really spacious with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and beach and a seating area inside. Plus the bathroom was really clean. That’s my test for a great hotel room. There was however an incident of finding a huge spider in our room, but other then that the room experience was great.
There weren’t any key-cards so take that to be good or bad, your choice, I just found that convenient because in my opinion most key cards don’t work and you have to go to the front desk to charge them again.
As for the room service, I didn’t bother trying it because English isn’t really well understood by the staff, although they do keep smiling for no apparent reason.
The morning breakfast was fantastic and was free. It was out by the pool and for those who love fruits of an exotic nature, you’d love the choice they have to offer.
The hotel did offer a restaurant/bar but frankly we didn’t get a chance to check it out, too busy exploring the island as a whole.
Don’t bother turning on the tv though because while we were there, the only English channel was ESPN.
The hotel is small and in such doesn’t offer much business service facilities, but on walking distance you can find an internet café for your work.
There are also site tours close by and the entire market on the Lamai side of the island to explore so have fun.
Overall a nice, cozy hotel with a good spacious room, offering a beach side view with good memories.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeelansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I stayed here with my family in July/August 2009. The beach is absolutely beautiful and the hotel was nice. However, the pictures on their website make it seem a lot more fabulous than it actually is and there are much nicer ones out there. The rooms are nice but seem a little old. The pool is clean. The concierge is very helpful in getting you information on different excursions. We did an elephant trek and a snorkeling excursion that were both great experiences. The water is a little cloudy in the months of July and August. We all enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning, but usually ate dinner and lunch out on the street. There are tons of restaurants and shopping around and if you like partying there is definitely plenty of that too. I would recommend Koh Samui, but probably not this hotel if you're looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel. It was nice, but I'm sure there are better ones out there is you are looking for a luxury resort. I give it a 3.5 out of 5.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank slhannold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Weekender Resort
Weekender Resort
#32 of 50 in Lamai Beach
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Resort

Property: Aloha Resort
Address: 128 Lamai Beach | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Lamai Beach
Aloha Hotel Koh Samui
Aloha Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing