We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older hotel, but still keeping a good standard”
Review of Aloha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloha Resort
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Ebeltoft, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Older hotel, but still keeping a good standard”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed at Aloha Lamai for 1 week on familie holliday.
Rooms have seen better days, on the other hand, who wants to stay in a hotel room ( except for sleeping ) more than needed ?
Think the beds, air-con. etc have seen better days, but still functioning OK.

Swimming pool and outside area 5 of out 5 stars, when comparing to the other hotels nearby still 5 of 5.

Service from reception, restaurant, pool, cleaning are without exception better than more expencive hotels. Even when comparing to Marriot, Novotel etc.

So for a familie holliday, we can only recommend this.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on first floor with after midday sun light, its a frying pan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmfGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    81
    54
    24
    27
See reviews for
63
70
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

warm friendly welcome upon arrival..
Felt 'at home', lovely ocean view from our balcony and when we stayed there again a few weeks later we had an even better room right next to the restaurant and in front of the pool and ocean.
buffet breakfast had nice casual atmosphere.
Good room service daily.
Excellent internet access with Wi-Fi-free!
Will definitely stay there again
Great location. Just a stone throw away is a smorgasbord of masseurs, was able to have a massage daily. Many restaurants just minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liisa and Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am a pretty easy going person who has stayed in alot of hotels, of varying budgets. Recently, I spent 3 weeks travelling around Thailand by myself. This was the most expensive hotel I stayed in and so very bad in comparison to the clean, helpful and cheaper other places I stayed in. I don't want anyone to have this impact on their holiday the way it did mine.

Any who, here are the key points
- My room had an over powering smell. Turns out it was black mould and the way they tried to solve it was to douse the room in mould remover chemicals. Either way, was pretty bad for my health!
-There was no quilt/cover/duvet on the bed. Just a grotty blanket sandwiched between two sheets.
- Everything in the room was old and filthy and a lot of it was broken (bedside table on a lean, 2 broken lights, missing light bulbs, door swiper very temperamental)
-Breakfast buffet was revolting and set upon filthy table cloths with ants and cats wandering around.
-At breakfast I looked into the kitchen to see 3 staff members dressing up a cat in a paper dress. In the kitchen. Wearing their aprons etc...
-There are cats everywhere. Better than rats I guess, but when a cat walks into the lobby (one of the two areas kept immaculate in this filthy place, the other area is the pool) past the door man and 3 idle reception staff with a MASSIVE rat in its mouth it is quite shocking and surprising. While I understand that this nature doing its thing, I don't understand why no one tried to direct it outside and let it walk over to where I and another guest were using the wifi on the couch. When I told reception what was there (incase they hadn't seen) they stated without looking up (because that's how they roll) "oh yes it's our trap". The cat and its rat then headed down to the darkened dining/kitchen area...
-the staff here have such an attitude and half the time you feel as if you are gate crashing a private party. Nobody does much work and I found reception/ pool staff and housekeeping to be unbelievably rude and at times verging on bullying.

Positives:
- The pool/ beach area is very tidy and well kept
- The hotel events/ tour organiser lady was very helpful, approachable and professional
- If you stay here at the end of your trip you won't mind going home

I was really dumb and stayed in this place when I should have moved. Do yourself a favour and find one of the many other cheaper hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSheehan501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Spend 2 last night on Samui at Aloha just before New Year - one of the few affordable resorts at a late booking.

Very nice welcoming to the hotel and easy check in.
Stayed in hotel room with sea/pool view even if we booked hill side - a very nice upgrade.

Large nice room but bath room needs a refurbish - flushing the toilet was always a gamble so had to call for house keeping/mechanics twice. Supportive and friendly staff!!
Also need some more lamps and light - dark in the room and impossible to understand lightning system - funny times before it got under control.
Very nice pool area and location on the beach is perfect.

Had a late departure and had to check out at lunch hour but the staff happily arranged for a shower/changer room without charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Contrary to our inhibitions, we found the property to be nice, clean and well maintained. The location was excellent and the resort was right on the beach. Aloha seemed to a good choice for families who love quiter, beachfront vacations. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was reasonably good. The back lanes of the resort were bustling with restaurants and shops offering good Thai and Continental food. Drawbacks observed were (1) no tea-coffee makers in rooms and no provision for bed-tea either (2) not many in-house food options, except for one high-priced restaurant. I would still recommend the place.

Room Tip: Try an opt for sea facing rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvashis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Fly to KOH SAMUI........ head to Lamai Beach...... lots of places to stay.... cheap or more expensive.. something to suit everyone.
KOH SAMUI is an island south of Bangkok...fairly large as Thai islands
go......lovely beach...... loads of good places to eat ...can be as cheap or
expensive as you like......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkiittiiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Koh Samui is a tropical Island paradise which attracted much international investment in hotels in recent years. It is not possible to stay in certain hotels for under £500 a night. They and many like them offer a pristine, sanitised, safe environment which takes advantage of Samui's fantastic scenery, sand, sea and weather, and the cheap and charming Thai labour-force. These are duplicates of hotels all round the world and they are deliberately remote from the real Thailand, the real Samui.

There is an alternative. These are the older Thai Hotels that are located on the best beaches and are in the centre of resort towns buzzing with restaurants, bars and spas. The Aloha Resort located in the centre of Lemai's soft sanded beach leading to a bathing area in the sea gets pleasantly deep pleasantly fast. There also a good swimming pool by the sand in a coconut palmed garden.

The hotel offers superior and deluxe rooms. Invest in the extra small amount to get the deluxe and you will have a balcony with an uninterrupted view of the sea. The hotel is slightly old and could do with an overhaul in places. The breakfast is not brilliant and no-one seems to eat in the restaurant but the staff are polite, helpful and speak a form of English.

In my opinion at about a discounted price of under £60 a night with a sea view and under 50 paces to the beach one direction and a bustling high street the other direction knocks the flip-flops off those same-same hotels ten time the price.

Room Tip: Try to book without breakfast and have breakfast in the Jamaica bar at the entrance. Pick your own s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#26 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#38 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Resort

Property: Aloha Resort
Address: 128 Lamai Beach | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Lamai Beach
Aloha Hotel Koh Samui
Aloha Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing