We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Koh Samui by far!!”
Review of Orchid Suites

Orchid Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Suites
Ranked #49 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in Koh Samui by far!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

As soon as i arrived here the scene and feeling of this hotel, i could put it in one word: SCARY. We arrived here approx 5.30pm and as soon as we got dropped off by our airport transfer service i had this feeling this hotel was dodgy.

We (3 of us) stayed here for a total of 4 nights and by the first few hrs i was ready to find another hotel ASAP. It was just soooooooo deady quiet and u hardly heard a voice from other ppl that stayed there. The hotel rooms or bungalows if u wanna call them are situated next to trees which attract soooo many mosquitoes. Its impossible to open the doors for fresh air cos they will eat u alive!

Reception was the worst. There was only one reception attendant (a male) who was hardly there. We could always hear him upstairs (u could see his room from reception) sleeping or watching TV. When we asked for an extra pillow case he just left it on reception desk thinking we would come and get it ourselves. I hardly ever complain of hotels im just a go-with-the-flow person but this place was the worst! The ENTIRE place needs an upgrade from 50yrs ago it seems. The location of the hotel is toooooo far from main Chaweng and there is nothing to do in Lamai except perve on the caucasian guys across the street practising Muay Thai boxing. To get to Chaweng, call for a motorbike taxi its so much faster and quicker and fun!

I must say the restaurant right next opposite the uphill laneway on main road do really good meals and health shakes! They also run the Muay Thai clothing store and excellent laundry service (only 60B per kilo!!). So pass on the hotel breakfast as it will make u feel so sick (milk left out in the heat and just toast on offer) and go to this place for all ur meals! Very convenient!

Overall this hotel was a bad experience and i dont know how ppl pay t stay here its disgusting. I couldnt wait to leave this place and go back to Bangkok!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel_h_duong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The worst hotel experience ever - and that says a lot ! We always book hotels on the internet, and had booked this hotel for 9 days in june. First. We had booked airport transfer and the hotel had confirmed that. We arrived at Koh Samui airport, but no one was there to pick us up. We called them, and they said that they had no such service eventhough we had an e-mail confirmation FROM the hotel. We then took a Taxi and arrived at the hotel. It is low season and we knew that. We have been in Thailand earliere this time of year. We got our bungalow, and opened the door. We had never seen anything like this. The room was not cleaned for the last 2-3 months. Look at the photos. The worst part was the coups for coffee. Turned one around and it was dirty as hell, like we could se both the bathroom and fridge was. On the top of the fridge we put our finger and moved it a little and it was totally dark ! All things there was very old and used and in very bad shape and condition. We went directly to the reception and checked out, but the experience cost us two nights of paying. We easily found a luxury hotel ON the beach for $20 more pr. Night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I came to this hotel with my mother (age 78) for two weeks , but finally we stayed six weeks. This place is very quite, have big sweeming pool with jakuzji and two minutes walk to the beach. Breakfast was very good ( sweedish table) in the restaurant. Our wood bungalow in beautiful garden have two big beds ,satelite tv, air con, fridge, safe deposit box, telephone, hot water, free - coffee, tea, towels , toilet paper everyday , wi-fi internet, and beautiful view to the sea from the balcony. It was cleaning every day. The service staff work very good and was very friendly and helpful. We spent the best holiday and we'll be back again to this hotel .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRIS195306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Avoid this hotel - there are cheaper places in Lamai Beach.
Our bungalow, as well as the rest of the hotel, really needs to be renovated. The staff were unhelpful - they seemed startled/perplexed by the presence of guests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — hotel and room condition
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank r0nin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We chose the Orchid Suites Resort at Lamai Beach, Koh Samui mainly for the price. It was fairly inexpensive, compared to a lot of the overpriced resorts in Koh Samui. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for. Our room was very basic, and there are no little luxuries, but for a place to sleep it was adequete.

The resort consists of several stand-alone bungalows in a nicely landscaped garden. The pool area is nice too, although when we were there (off-peak season) the swim up bar was not open at all and looked like it hadn't been open in some time! Breakfast was a bit of a joke; the milk was always warm to the point of being off and everything else was a bit sad and soggy. Toast and jam for us!

We were only in Koh Samui for two full days (three nights), and on the first day we went into the main town at Chaweng Beach which was a twenty minute bus ride away. The resort had a free shuttle bus though, which was a great way to get into town but we never really could figure out how to organise to get the same bus to take us home. A tuk tuk did that in the end. On the second day we explored a little around our resort and found that by walking directly down the hill we could go through another, very shabby looking bunch of bungalows (not part of Orchid Suites) and come out right on the beach. The beach was stunning. MUCH better than the beach at Chaweng. It had crystal clear water, clean sand and free sunbeds! The big granite boulders dotted here and there made it even more picturesque. It was really the best beach we had come across in Thailand. No waves, just clear deep water. A couple of cafes sit just back from the sand along the beach, which stretches for quite a distance.

In short, the hotel itself leaves a bit to be desired, but the beach is only two minutes walk down the hill and is stunning. The free shuttle bus is handy too. Stay here if you want a cheap stay near the beach and you don't particularly care about breakfast!

  • Liked — Close to the beach, and cheap.
  • Disliked — It was a bit shabby and the breakfasts were awful.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophiesparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

This is a very basic hotel with basic amenities. We spent 6 nights here and got pretty much what we expected although the lack of available internet access at this hotel (or anywhere reasonably close by) was a major problem for us.
I know we're supposed to be on vacation but we need to stay in touch and i really prefer to reserve tours and everything else online....and read reviews of tours and activities online.

Room was small but clean. Unfortunalely it is almost impossible to take a shower without wetting the toilet paper. A little cramped. You get what you pay for so this was ok overall

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no internet. cramped
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ausbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Utopia Resort
Utopia Resort
#26 of 50 in Lamai Beach
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Perfect Resort
Lamai Perfect Resort
#11 of 40 in Lamai Beach
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Coconut Beach Resort
Lamai Coconut Beach Resort
#5 of 46 in Lamai Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Suites

Property: Orchid Suites
Address: 129 / 11M.3 T.Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Lamai Beach
Orchid Suites Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing