We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Koh Samui resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Rockys is a fabulous Resort. The staff are friendly, efficient and maintain beautiful gardens, pools and lovely rooms. We appreciated the complimentary iced water drinks, folded towels and fruit that were refreshed while relaxing about the pools or beach. The breakfasts and buffet dinners were exceptional. The cooking school with chef Um was great! Rockys is very peaceful and a short taxi ride to explore attractions such as the Elephant trek and waterfalls, markets. You need to go to Chaweng if you want lots of shops and eateries, and a visit there reminds you of the benefits of a peaceful setting. The beach is not good for swimming so you need to walk or taxi a little way towards Lamai Beach if you want to swim in the sea. However the views are lovely and kayaks are available free of charge. We certainly recommend Rockys for a special holiday.

Room Tip: We were very lucky to have a huge, authentically decorated room that was private b999, however, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you, There are exceptionally low tides at this time of year, but you can walk out to deeper water, special shoes are provided to protect your feet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Rockys Resort for 2 weeks in July 2014, 1 week in a pool view room and 1 week in a seaview room.

Being our first visit to Thailand and Koh Sumai we wanted somewhere romantic to chill out and relax as a couple, and for the most part we got it.

The setting is beautiful, with views over the bay and plenty of trees, red lanterns, and a tropical garden feel, making this a really pretty boutique resort.

Both our rooms were superb, very spacious and set out beautifully and had everything we could have asked for.

The staff at Rockys are exceptional, very friendly and personable and are a credit to the resort and left a good impression with us.

There are a few gripes however which stops us giving a 5 star review.

Firstly, as mentioned by previous poster below, the website gives the impression that this is a very chilled out resort, ideal for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

We were quite surprised however, by the amount of families at the resort, which is not a problem normally for us, but there were quite a few children running round all day with a free reign and dive bombing into the pool and having plenty of 'noisy' fun etc from early morning to evening.

Nothing wrong with kids enjoying themselves of course, but we were expecting a romantic chilled out and quiet resort as implied by the website, and to be honest it wasn't really that.

The beach is great for relaxing, with very comfortable sunloungers, free water and mid morning fruit snacks to keep you going, but there is definitely no chance of being able to swim, with sharp rocks and shallow waters.

We knew what to expect being called 'Rockys Resort' but we've been to a few resorts with 'rocks' in the title and still been able to swim in the sea.

Here, there is no chance as the rocks really are lethal.

The resort is 5 mins from Lamai with shuttles going out from Rockys a few times a day.

The last pickup from Lamai centre is around 5pm however, which seemed a little strange, we thought there should be one later, say for example around 10pm.

Also the events put on are quite expensive, as is the food in the restaurants. Better off getting the free shuttle into Lamai which takes only 5mins and has a wide range restaurants with tasty dishes to get stuck into!

All in all, we enjoyed our time at Rockys but feel the resort is better catered to families than those looking for a relaxing and romantic holiday away.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank lovely_stuff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you, We get many types of people here at Rocky's but there are more children here as normal when the European school holidays are on, which was when you were here. There are times when there are no children here at all. Come then and you will receive a free night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was a guest at Rockys for a wedding and the venue is stunning. The food, service and location are all stunning. My only complaint is it's so far from town. The local shops are a bit of a hike down the hill and there's not a huge selection there either.

Room Tip: I was near the top pool and being able to step out and be in the pool in four steps, or just enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you, We are just 5 minutes in our free shuttle bus or taxi. It is walk-able but a good 25 minutes.
I believe the benefits of being out of town a little and be on a private beach, with no vendors at all far out weighs the disadvantage of having to travel into town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I got married at Rockys, The hotel team, Ann especially could not do enough to make our stay and the wedding day as stress free as possible, the hotel, rooms and surroundings were perfect, my only gripes, if you can call them that, the F&B needs more variety and I think the rooms should have dehumidifiers, Otherwise one of the best holidays we've had. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you, as others are gardens are really great. We are currently looking at both menus in both of our restaurants to improve the variety, hope you come back to try them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

When my husband & I decided to have a destination wedding we could not have chosen a better place to get married. We got married on 21st June & everyone who came agreed it was one of the best weddings they had ever gone to.

The ceremony, reception, flowers were so tastefully done I was very impressed. The Wedding Planner Ann was fantastic, she made my Wedding Day perfect and I was very happy with the overall results.

The resort was just amazing & wished we had stayed longer instead of going to Phuket as it was such a let down after staying at Rocky's.

The room we stayed in was the Deluxe Beachfront Suite, highly recommend. My family stayed at Rocky's and loved it just as much as we did!

The staff here were all very friendly and always greeted you with a smile, nothing was too much for them, very helpful.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beachfront Room 333
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jo-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you, We are really happy that we made your wedding day so special for you.
And we hope your guests will support us here too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic all round experience. For family maybe a bit closer to main and secluded beaches would be better, but there is hotel transport.
Hotel restaurants were a bit of a let down vs some of the others tried. Breakfast could be better, but ok

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank DJCCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you, It was regrettable that you chose a time of year where we have extremely low tides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Given the weather conditions, we couldn't enjoy much the resort...I was raining cats and dogs for the whole stay (4 days).
Food was good though variety could have been better.

The main negative point we have about this place is that, when we called a few days before about the weather and the advice on to come down or not, the resort told us " everything is fine...". Though all advices on Internet were rather negative, we decided to come down based on the resort's feedback. When we arrived from India, everybody was just surprised seeing us coming in such weather conditions...

Business is business but do not expect us back!

Room Tip: my trip was in March 2011 but i couldn't select it in the drop down list....so, selcted march 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vindaarvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the weather here, I checked the dates of your stay and a few days before the weather was good. so my staff were correct, predicting weather in todays climate has become very difficult.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
741 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
811 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,406 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,670 reviews
6.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £115 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing