We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our salvation! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Perth
2 reviews
“Our salvation! ”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

After arriving in Samui to find we had booked the most awful hotel, we found and booked Rocky's on our second day. With it's amazing breakfast, helpful staff, beautiful rooms, great pools and relaxing atmosphere, Rocky's was the best choice we could have made!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lukewilliams90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    281
    69
    25
    7
See reviews for
462
1,112
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rocky's boutique resort is delightful! The Rockys has everything from fantastic views, beautiful rooms, lovely gardens and pools, private beaches, 2 restaurants producing mouth watering food, a few kayaks which you are free to use, the staff are very kind and helpful and every care is taken to ensure your stay is unforgettable!

Me and my girlfriend were blown away when we first arrived and had fallen in love with the resort by the time we left. We went for a reunion but it felt as if we were on our honeymoon.
The price is very fair considering the fantastic accomadation and service you recieve, it was truly a breath of fresh and i look forward to returning to this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerJohnWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we try to treat everyone the same, particularly honeymooners of which we have many, so I understand how you felt here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Booked through Kuoni UK and was recommended this hotel!! Absolutely lovely hotel! It is located about 30 minutes from the airport and about 5 minutes taxi from Lamai.

Beautiful rooms, housekeeping do a great job. I was greeted with a lovely birthday cake as I arrived on my 24th birthday!

There is a hot breakfast offered that is a la carte which is fab for a 4*. Cereal, pastries, fruit etc is also available. The lunch menu is great, you're looking at about 300 baht for a snack style meal - burger/sandwiches etc. Didn't try the dinner menu as we went out but it looked good.

It is 200 baht fixed price to get to Lamai centre and there is a free shuttle bus about 3 times a day, last one at 5pm. It is 500 baht fixed price to Choweng. All the taxi drivers know and agree to these prices.

You can't just walk from the resort because of a sharp bed in the road but a taxi being the equivalent of £4 to get to Lamai doesn't break the bank. There's loads of shops, bars, spas and restaurants here.

Happy hour is between 5.30-6.30pm and you can mix the drinks which is fab!! Always enough sun loungers for everyone, complimentary water around the pool and in the rooms. Complimentary wifi all around the hotel.

All the hotel staff went above and beyond to help us organise things such as a boat over to Koh Phangan and even helped our friend who wasn't staying in the hotel. Everyone was pleasant and friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The reservations manager Lucas was always checking we were ok at breakfast - really nice touch! Boat who worked on the bar was a fab waiter and all the girls that worked on reception were lovely and helpful!!

The night we arrived there was a free cocktail hour to meet the hotel management which was great and then another night there was a Cabaret show!

I wouldn't stay here if you were a massive beachy person (this didn't bother me at all) but the beach rocky and small (hence the name) but there is a small cove with sun loungers and the sea is clean and swimable and there are kayaks to take out. The massages on the tent overlooking the beach are a must!!

**Please be aware of the 10% service charge and 7% tax on top of the menu prices** not anything massive and it is at the bottom of the menu but we were caught out a little - we may have had one too many drinks mind ;)

Overall fantastic hotel, typical Thai style and I really don't have anything negative to stay about it. Oh also I was travelling with a friend and we felt totally comfortable - it wasn't too "coupley" there was a real range of people there from all over the world which was lovely!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgeous097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, Don't forget our free shuttle service to Lamai. It's there for your benefit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Rocky's was the most beautiful resort we visited in Thailand. Stunning setting looking at the beach, beautiful pools and tropical gardens. Attention to detail was very impressive beautiful flowers and rooms, along with stunning red lanterns lit up at night in the trees. Friendly staff and great food! Cheap and easy to get to lamai or free shuttle. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, we are please that you had such a fantastic time, hope you trip back to NZ was OK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston Tasmania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Rockys is a fabulous Resort. The staff are friendly, efficient and maintain beautiful gardens, pools and lovely rooms. We appreciated the complimentary iced water drinks, folded towels and fruit that were refreshed while relaxing about the pools or beach. The breakfasts and buffet dinners were exceptional. The cooking school with chef Um was great! Rockys is very peaceful and a short taxi ride to explore attractions such as the Elephant trek and waterfalls, markets. You need to go to Chaweng if you want lots of shops and eateries, and a visit there reminds you of the benefits of a peaceful setting. The beach is not good for swimming so you need to walk or taxi a little way towards Lamai Beach if you want to swim in the sea. However the views are lovely and kayaks are available free of charge. We certainly recommend Rockys for a special holiday.

Room Tip: We were very lucky to have a huge, authentically decorated room that was private b999, however, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, There are exceptionally low tides at this time of year, but you can walk out to deeper water, special shoes are provided to protect your feet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Rockys Resort for 2 weeks in July 2014, 1 week in a pool view room and 1 week in a seaview room.

Being our first visit to Thailand and Koh Sumai we wanted somewhere romantic to chill out and relax as a couple, and for the most part we got it.

The setting is beautiful, with views over the bay and plenty of trees, red lanterns, and a tropical garden feel, making this a really pretty boutique resort.

Both our rooms were superb, very spacious and set out beautifully and had everything we could have asked for.

The staff at Rockys are exceptional, very friendly and personable and are a credit to the resort and left a good impression with us.

There are a few gripes however which stops us giving a 5 star review.

Firstly, as mentioned by previous poster below, the website gives the impression that this is a very chilled out resort, ideal for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

We were quite surprised however, by the amount of families at the resort, which is not a problem normally for us, but there were quite a few children running round all day with a free reign and dive bombing into the pool and having plenty of 'noisy' fun etc from early morning to evening.

Nothing wrong with kids enjoying themselves of course, but we were expecting a romantic chilled out and quiet resort as implied by the website, and to be honest it wasn't really that.

The beach is great for relaxing, with very comfortable sunloungers, free water and mid morning fruit snacks to keep you going, but there is definitely no chance of being able to swim, with sharp rocks and shallow waters.

We knew what to expect being called 'Rockys Resort' but we've been to a few resorts with 'rocks' in the title and still been able to swim in the sea.

Here, there is no chance as the rocks really are lethal.

The resort is 5 mins from Lamai with shuttles going out from Rockys a few times a day.

The last pickup from Lamai centre is around 5pm however, which seemed a little strange, we thought there should be one later, say for example around 10pm.

Also the events put on are quite expensive, as is the food in the restaurants. Better off getting the free shuttle into Lamai which takes only 5mins and has a wide range restaurants with tasty dishes to get stuck into!

All in all, we enjoyed our time at Rockys but feel the resort is better catered to families than those looking for a relaxing and romantic holiday away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lovely_stuff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, We get many types of people here at Rocky's but there are more children here as normal when the European school holidays are on, which was when you were here. There are times when there are no children here at all. Come then and you will receive a free night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was a guest at Rockys for a wedding and the venue is stunning. The food, service and location are all stunning. My only complaint is it's so far from town. The local shops are a bit of a hike down the hill and there's not a huge selection there either.

Room Tip: I was near the top pool and being able to step out and be in the pool in four steps, or just enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, We are just 5 minutes in our free shuttle bus or taxi. It is walk-able but a good 25 minutes.
I believe the benefits of being out of town a little and be on a private beach, with no vendors at all far out weighs the disadvantage of having to travel into town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing