We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2010

My husband and I had our wedding at Rocky's Resort on 2nd January 2010. It is THE most magical place we have ever stayed. The staff are exceptional. Rio Rose, the wedding co-ordinator, took care of everything. Initially we were very nervous booking the entire wedding over the internet via e-mails. There was no need to be, Rio kept us up-to-date on all of the the arrangements - we knew we were in good hands. When we arrived at the airport, we were picked up by Rocky's porter and transferred in a beautiful air-conditioned mini bus and given cold mint towels to refresh after our flight and cold bottles of water. Once we arrived at Rocky's, we were greeted with more cold towels and fruit cocktails – with the heat this was really appreciated! Rio showed us around the resort and gave us our itinerary for the week. She talked us through our legal documents - she had arranged for us to meet her representative in Bangkok a few weeks prior to the wedding and we then went off travelling while the representative had the documents processed and translated.

We met with the DJ, Registrar, Celebrant and Priest over the next few days. Rio arranged for my dress to be pressed in time for the big day. She really thought of absolutely everything! On the morning of the wedding, we and our close family members headed off to Nathon, the main town, and were married in the gorgeous little Catholic Church. We were then taken back to Rockys in the fancy jeep and had lunch. Then the fun began, the beach blessing was scheduled for 4.30pm and we had 41 guests attending! The hairdresser attended to my hair and my bridesmaid's hair. We were thrilled, she did exactly as we wanted, we just showed her pictures and she worked her magic! The beach ceremony began at 5pm - the tide was high that day after the full moon so it was better to wait for the extra half hour. It was absolutely everything we could have imagined and more. Then we had superb canapes and sparkling wine. The beach was decorated beautifully and the food and the flowers were amazing! The photographer was very good - we were given a photo album and a CD of all 300 of our photos. We chose to eat in the banquet room despite deciding on a beach BBQ whilst still in Ireland. The staff and DJ recommended this and we are so glad we took their advice - the air conditioning was very welcoming given the immense heat! DJ Blair was super and managed to please everyone - all age groups. Poon and Oop were fantastic too and even joined in with the dancing and fireworks.

We would definitely recommend Rocky's Resort if you are getting married – or if you are visiting the area for holidays, it is indeed a very nice resort, the staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and the food is lovely too. The rooms are amazing - just absolutely gorgeous. Quite a few of our guests were travelling around Thailand for a month or so and each and every one of them loved Rocky's and were quick to point out that it was the nicest hotel they had stayed in. It is a short 5 minute taxi ride from the main Lamai beach centre.
We stayed in Thailand for our honeymoon too - I would highly recommend Koh Lanta and Phi Phi Island. Both Islands are a lot quieter than Koh Samui. Stay clear of Patong in Phuket - full of sleazy bars, MacDonalds and Starbucks - awful!
We are returning to Khao Lak for our first anniversary and would love to go to stay in Rocky's - perhaps next Summer.

If you want any more details just e-mail me jennie.breen@hotmail.com

Jennie & Rob Bray

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Rocky's Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed at Rockys for the second time in February. This trip was with family as we were there to get married. Rockys was as excellent as we remembered. Everyone is so helpful and friendly and will go out of their way to may your stay as relaxong as possible. We stayed with both our sets of parents and also my sister and her partner and my husbands sister and partner. They had all stayed in other resorts in Thailand before joining us and all agree thta Rockys outshines the rest!
The attention to detail and the genuine staff friendlyness is second to none.
Our wedding was outstanding and all our family and friends had a lovely day, if only it could have lasted longer.
We will definately be back to Rockys in the near future. Maybe for our first wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duthie141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

A friend and I (both Aussies) stayed in early Jan for 5 nights. Took the special package - Jnr suite plus massage every day and a 4 hour spa (what bliss). Hello to the English honeymooners - we often chatted to you at the beautiful pool. Re food - breakfast wonderful - other meals helpings huge (one would do 2 for lunch). As well as the Resort we dined at the local restaurants - walking distance from the Resort.

Only problem we found was the mosquitoes in our room. We didn't realise we could have asked for nets. However, Resort does their best to get rid of them in and out of rooms by fogging. Hope to certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpacafleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I cannot understand the previous review regarding the standard and cost of food at Rocky,s. We have travelled all over the world,and we feel that the food was of a very high standard,presentation wonderful,the cost more than reasonable.
All the staff were wonderful, including the gardeners who were always cheerful,
If you want a quiet holiday in a peaceful resort to relax in then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Recently stayed at Rocky's and would definitely come back. We stayed in a Jr. Suite that had an amazing view. The staff were the star of the show. They were helpful, courteous, and went way beyond the call of duty to ensure our experience was a pleasurable one.

The only complaints I had were the food and the fact the another patron's book got better real estate by the pool for three hours than I did. They allow people the "save" the lounging chairs for hours which means you have to be an early bird to catch the good sun. The restaurant sounded great on the menu, but may have been some of the worst food I encountered in Thailand, especially for the price. After the first second night we decided to go to a local night market and got much better food at a fraction of the price.

Overall a great place to relax and enjoy this beautiful life.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iheartthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockys_Resort, director at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2010

Dear iheartthailand,

So sorry to hear about your experience with the sunbeds! I wish we had known that during your stay. Our policy is not to allow sunbed reservations, however, we do occaisionally get guests who are used to staying in resorts that do. We are currently updating our guest services booklet to include a note about our policy regarding sunbeds, so hopefully that will help the problem.

In any event, thank you for your feedback. We find it very valuable and will continue to work on improving Rocky's.

All the best,
The Rocky's Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Me and my Husband stayed at Rockys on 4th January for 11 nights we picked this hotel as it was our honeymoon. We had a fab time there all the staff were fabulous nothing was no trouble for them, special thanks to Nok the waitress she was brilliant and yes will be returning again sometime next year with the rest of the family. The meals were fantastic could not fault anything about the Hotel. We enjoyed the cocktail evening when we met all the owners Collette we think your lovely cos your from our neck of the woods ha ha.! The only thing I could fault is the entertainment was a bit flat and needs to be uplifted abit more!!! Good thing about rockys it s not in the centre of lamai which is just a short taxi ride away or youcan use the free hotel shuttle bus! We hired a moped for a couple of days which cost 200bht a day and went round the island which was very good fun!! Enjoy if you go we will be definately be back

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batchelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed at Rocky's for 12 days over the 2009/10 new year. We stayed in one of the beach front bungalows. They were spacious and contained all usual amenitys that would be expected of a classic boutique hotel. The decore was chic and the rooms were very clean and well presented, however, no bath in the en-suite. The hotel was located about two miles from Lamai, the local town. The hohtel ran a free shuttle service to Lamai three times, and Chaweng once day. The hotel restaurant was outstanding with a great variety of food on the menu and presented to the highest standard. It has won awards in previous years for best restaurant on the island. We dined at the hotel most nights. The staff at the hotel were fantastic and could not do enough for you. The Larsen family run the hotel to the highest standard. I was informed by the general manager John Ens, that they have their own vegitable garden close to the hotel that services some of the hotel needs and the family and hotel staff are involved with local community & school projects. This truely is a family run business working with the community. Lamai was the cleanest of the local towns and it had a great sea front with plenty of hotels and bars fronting the beach. A Meal for two in the town averaged £12-£15 for three courses. You can dine at more exclusive hotels & restaurants such as The Pavalion and pay a little more. Taxi service back to the hotel was about 3-400 bart, (£6-£8)however watch the taxi drivers as they will sting the tourist. They don't like using meters and you must agree a price before you start the journey.
The best thing about the hotel was the location, the private beach & the restaurant. The only problem at the hotel is the number of weddings they hold. During our stay we saw three, and the firework displays commenced at 11pm every wedding night. Not my idea of a peaceful resort if you want an early night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehungrybutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
743 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
773 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
499 reviews
10.6 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £89 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing