We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manathai Koh Samui(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$550
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beach Republic The Residences(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$559
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
US$927
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$781
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$1,423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$867
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,192)
Filter reviews
2,192 results
Traveller rating
1,769
313
75
27
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,769
313
75
27
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden poolsun hatsthai nightwedding plannerfruit kebabskoh samuiour honeymoonon the rocksfresh flowersbeach frontboutique resortfire dancersbbq nightthai dancerscocktail partybeach bagthai buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,554 - 1,559 of 2,192 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Firstly the good stuff, it does out way the few bad things about this resort.

Rocky’s is a beautiful resort, attention to detail is impeccable, the rooms are beautifully furnished, the grounds are well maintained and the guest areas are simply stunning. It is a boutique resort, small, friendly and nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff, in particular the reception staff and the lovely Canadian restaurant Manager who all made our stay at Rocky’s very enjoyable. My partner has Coeliac disease (no wheat and gluten) the reception staff made everyone aware of his condition and as soon as we walked in to the dining room they knew what he could of could not order from the menu. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and they truly do make you feel very special. Before we left Bangkok I was bitten a few times on my leg by Mosquito’s, when I asked at the reception where the nearest pharmacy was the receptionist immediately called one of the drivers to take me, one of the other reception staff heard my request and within minutes produced many lotions from a store for me to try to save me the trouble of going to the pharmacy late at night, this is the kind, helpful, caring manner the staff have all the time.

On arrival at Rocky’s we were shown to our room, a large Jr Suite with ocean views, a luxurious room set up high in the hills with a fantastic view of the gulf of Thailand. A perfect start to our long awaited 7 night stay in paradise, our first few days in Koh Samui were idyllic, we had a few trips planned and explored the island by boat, car and taxi. (The round the island trip by boat is a must)
We decided to spend the last few days in the resort, chilling, swimming, relaxing
And enjoying the facilities. My partner and I had Thai massages on the beach, I had foot, hand and body treatments and wow talk about pampered to the max. Both of the pools are lovely, the garden pool is set in beautiful gardens and is used as a “quiet pool” to relax in peace and quiet and the other is on the beach, slightly bigger than the garden pool but is normally busier.

Now for the bad stuff…. I had read the reviews on trip advisor before I booked Rocky’s and the few bad reviews are mainly centred around the wedding issues at the resort and the problems the large wedding do create and it does feel like the wedding guests get priority at the expense of other paying guests.

Most of the weddings at Rocky’s are small, private and none intrusive, set on the beach and do not in any way interfere with other guests. We met 2 or 3 couples getting married and the weddings looked beautiful.
If you’re unlucky enough to be staying when the large weddings occur this is completely different and it does spoil your stay. We arrived back at the hotel on the Monday evening after a lovely round the Island trip to find a letter from the Management posted under our door, it stated “we could not eat at the restaurant or use the bar the following evening after 5.30pm due to a wedding party and private function of 100 in house guests” If this was a large hotel with a selection of bars and restaurants it would not cause a problem but Rocky’s has 1 bar, 1 restaurant a reception area and 2 pools, that’s it! To be told you can not use the restaurant and bar is completely unacceptable in my opinion, yes we were offered free wine, a room credit and a taxi to take us elsewhere but does that make excluding guests ok? If Rocky’s want to hold huge weddings they should inform guests when booking so we have a choice, you do not just book a wedding for 100 guests the previous day so why were we not told earlier or when we enquired about booking?

My only other gripe with the resort is the building work going on next door to the hotel, the so called “quiet pool” is not so quiet and the noise of drilling, banging etc could be heard over my ipod on full volume. Yet again no notification before booking the holiday.

Overall, we were happy with the resort but the wedding problems would put me off re-booking the hotel, unless I could be assured this would not happen again. It is a beautiful hotel spoilt by a few silly problems the management could easily fix by just being honest and upfront with guests.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We chose to have our wedding at Rockys based on reading hundreds of reviews, and we are so SO GLAD we did. We arrived on March 5th for twelve nights to Rockys and immediately we felt at home, any anxiety we had about the wedding was put to rest on our first meeting with Rio Rose, the lady is amazing, she is platinum!!
The wedding day itself was magical, we had rain but that didn't dampen the mood or the fun of the day. Every one at Rockys are so professional, the day went so smoothly without any glitches, they make everything look so easy and flawless.
I had no worries handing my hair and make up to a lady I had never met before to do, she just went ahead and did a fantastic job. We loved the pictures Tom the photographer took, he was so professional and got on with the job without us even knowing he was there. He gave us all our photos on a disc which are beautiful. John whom conducted our service was so friendly and warm and welcoming too. The flowers were out of this world, just so beautiful, and beautifully arranged. A BIG THANK YOU to Noi whom was our waitress for the reception meal, she was so pleasant and helpful another gem to this beautiful place. We were very excited to be able to thank the wonderful chef whom prepared our food, the food is like nothing I have ever tasted before, absolutely amazing!! All our guests thoroughly enjoyed our wedding at Rockys and the experience they had there too.
We were very sad to say good bye on March 17th, but we left Rockys knowing without a doubt in our minds that we will return next year.
Rockys is tranquil and calm, with fantastic management and staff. They go the extra mile in getting to know their guests, from little touches like cool towels and fruit by the pools to the staff and guest cocktail evening on Fridays, which makes this hotel stand out on its own.
If any bride and groom to be, are reading this review thinking about where to have a wedding do not hesitate, go for it at Rockys!! Rio is amazing, she and all the other staff will make you feel like a King and Queen on your special day.
Thanks again to EVERYONE working at Rockys for the most amazing stay in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NillyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Individual rooms, bungalow style, set in the most magnificant tropical gardens. Many rooms also have good ocean views. The food is to die for - lovely breakfasts and quality extensive room service menu. The restaurant would have to be one of the most romantic we have experienced at night. Open pavilion style set on rocks over looking a quiet beach. The service is outstanding - try the complimentary cocktail night where the staff join with guests. We also took the opportunity to use on of Rockys staff drivers to tour to island. Although this resort is not situated on the more popular beach areas, they offer a shuttle service for transport which is more than adequate. We have travelled well and this resort rates as one of the very best we have been to. Special thanks to the lovely staff who came and said goodbye to us! Reviewed by K & W - Australia.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie2Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

My husband and I had our wedding at Rocky's Resort on 2nd January 2010. It is THE most magical place we have ever stayed. The staff are exceptional. Rio Rose, the wedding co-ordinator, took care of everything. Initially we were very nervous booking the entire wedding over the internet via e-mails. There was no need to be, Rio kept us up-to-date on all of the the arrangements - we knew we were in good hands. When we arrived at the airport, we were picked up by Rocky's porter and transferred in a beautiful air-conditioned mini bus and given cold mint towels to refresh after our flight and cold bottles of water. Once we arrived at Rocky's, we were greeted with more cold towels and fruit cocktails – with the heat this was really appreciated! Rio showed us around the resort and gave us our itinerary for the week. She talked us through our legal documents - she had arranged for us to meet her representative in Bangkok a few weeks prior to the wedding and we then went off travelling while the representative had the documents processed and translated.

We met with the DJ, Registrar, Celebrant and Priest over the next few days. Rio arranged for my dress to be pressed in time for the big day. She really thought of absolutely everything! On the morning of the wedding, we and our close family members headed off to Nathon, the main town, and were married in the gorgeous little Catholic Church. We were then taken back to Rockys in the fancy jeep and had lunch. Then the fun began, the beach blessing was scheduled for 4.30pm and we had 41 guests attending! The hairdresser attended to my hair and my bridesmaid's hair. We were thrilled, she did exactly as we wanted, we just showed her pictures and she worked her magic! The beach ceremony began at 5pm - the tide was high that day after the full moon so it was better to wait for the extra half hour. It was absolutely everything we could have imagined and more. Then we had superb canapes and sparkling wine. The beach was decorated beautifully and the food and the flowers were amazing! The photographer was very good - we were given a photo album and a CD of all 300 of our photos. We chose to eat in the banquet room despite deciding on a beach BBQ whilst still in Ireland. The staff and DJ recommended this and we are so glad we took their advice - the air conditioning was very welcoming given the immense heat! DJ Blair was super and managed to please everyone - all age groups. Poon and Oop were fantastic too and even joined in with the dancing and fireworks.

We would definitely recommend Rocky's Resort if you are getting married – or if you are visiting the area for holidays, it is indeed a very nice resort, the staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and the food is lovely too. The rooms are amazing - just absolutely gorgeous. Quite a few of our guests were travelling around Thailand for a month or so and each and every one of them loved Rocky's and were quick to point out that it was the nicest hotel they had stayed in. It is a short 5 minute taxi ride from the main Lamai beach centre.
We stayed in Thailand for our honeymoon too - I would highly recommend Koh Lanta and Phi Phi Island. Both Islands are a lot quieter than Koh Samui. Stay clear of Patong in Phuket - full of sleazy bars, MacDonalds and Starbucks - awful!
We are returning to Khao Lak for our first anniversary and would love to go to stay in Rocky's - perhaps next Summer.

If you want any more details just e-mail me jennie.breen@hotmail.com

Jennie & Rob Bray

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed at Rockys for the second time in February. This trip was with family as we were there to get married. Rockys was as excellent as we remembered. Everyone is so helpful and friendly and will go out of their way to may your stay as relaxong as possible. We stayed with both our sets of parents and also my sister and her partner and my husbands sister and partner. They had all stayed in other resorts in Thailand before joining us and all agree thta Rockys outshines the rest!
The attention to detail and the genuine staff friendlyness is second to none.
Our wedding was outstanding and all our family and friends had a lovely day, if only it could have lasted longer.
We will definately be back to Rockys in the near future. Maybe for our first wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews