We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Booking.com
US$26
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/21
Hotels.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
TripadvisorUS$26
ZenHotels.com
PricelineUS$30
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
71
85
44
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
71
85
44
21
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at Sand Sea in May which is low season on Samui. After visiting Samui for over 15 years now we still can't work out why. We stayed in one of the pool villas which was absolutely right on the beach with a quite large pool not a plunge pool as in many other places. The villa was showing signs of age but was spotlessly clean and a bargain indeed. The included breakfast was a bit boring but the meals were cheap enough that you could easily order from the main menu. The staff were lovely and the location was perfect for us. Our friends staying at more 4 and 5 star resorts were envious. We will definitely return to Sand Sea Resort. Oh and the massage sala just past the villas is fabulous

Room tip: Go with the pool villa you won't be disappointed
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemgem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was almost put of this resort by some of the reveiws but am so happy that we decided to go there. We have just returned from 2 weeks of relaxation in paradise. We had a junior suite that led out to the pool which was next to the beach. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day including the bedding changed and clean towels. The staff are amazing not over the top but if you need anything you really only have to look up and someone will help you, they are really friendly and enjoy chatting to you. The manager Fon will even help you with mopeds etc and her dog Rocky is a regular at the resort. The girls in the masage sala Dtu and Nid are two of the best people that I have ever had massages from and they were proffesionally trained in Bangkok, the sala is next to the beach so you can get your massage whilst listening to the waves lapping the shore. Sid the night time security guard is fab. The food in the restraunt is excellent and reasonably priced to. Many reveiws have mentioned that this resort is at the far end of Lamai but in 5 minutes you can walk to the main street. We will definately be back.

Room tip: The junior suites that look out on to the pool on the lower floor are fab
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you are after a care-free, eat when you are hungry, sleep when you are tired holiday, and are not fussed about expensive bing and glitz (after all, you are on a beach holiday), then you do need to consider this place. It's probably 2-star or 3-star material but the location is great, on the north side of Lamai town, villas on the beach, a nice little bar and breakfast restaurant. What makes it good is that the beach villas are on the sand and it is just 20 meters down to the sea. You can sit on your verandah and watch the world go by, wander down for a quick swim when it gets hot and have a massage on the beach if you so wish. The villa itself is very, very basic with a bedroom, toilet and shower, and is air-conditioned. It is simple but it's clean and great value for money too. If you are expecting a big lobby, room service, satellite TV then this is not for you. If you want a simple, clean place close to everything in Lamai, and the convenience of being on the sand, then take a look at Sand Sea Resort! The staff are always smiling and helpful. We have been going there for the past 4 years over Christmas and New Year.

Room tip: If you want t0 pay a little more, ask for the Royal villas A1 and A2 (without the pool). their web site if quite helpful if you want to see villa locations. They have other beach villas slightly cheaper such as B1. B2 etc.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed for 2 weeks with my brother & friends, had some great weather and some bad storms but the hotel staff were always happy and helpful. Great food and atmosphere, great cocktails. beach front bungalows were great , walk out the door straight on the beach.

Room tip: the beachfront bungalows are the best
Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katloo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My Wife and I just came back from spending our honeymoon hear at the Resort.
All the amenities you need and want are provided. The staff was outstanding they were very friendly and very professional. Everytime we requested something it was fullfilled. Everything about the hotel was great the pool, restaurant, motorbikes massages everything. The location was great also. Just like others have mentioned this is the quiet part of the Lamai Beach but if you want some excitement you can simply walk down the beach to the more lively resorts. The resort is located not far from the city so you can walk to just about anywhere in town for restaurants or just to see something different. The have markets and all in the town as well. There are plenty of tours you can signup for which are also great.
They have security that walks the hotel area at night so you feel safe and secure as well and they do actually clean the beach area everyday. We spend 14 days from 18 Jan - 31 Jan. and it was great.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews