We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$327
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rummana Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Republic The Residences(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manathai Koh Samui(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Am Samui Palace(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
56
71
37
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
71
37
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachside bungalowshort walk along the beachwalking streetjunior suitethe beach is very niceexplore the islandthe main streetcleaned dailya great place to staynight marketbars and restaurantsmassageresortrepairrelaxationlaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Like one of the other reviews said if you're after a flash hotel this is not for you, but the position on the beach is so good. We stayed in a garden view room, it was quite small, really just enough room to out our suitcases on the floor and a small bathroom. My first impression was that it wasn't that good, but once I got used to it, and realized just how close to the beach and how relaxed it all was I absolutely loved it and would go back again. There is shade on the beach from some trees, the breakfast/dining area is open air and on the beach, the breakfast is basic but all you need. We had one dinner there and the food was good. If you needed something you just had to ask. The rooms do not have kettle or tea coffee making facilities, but we asked for a kettle and cups and got them, and bought our own coffee and milk. The pool is quite small but it wasn't busy when we were there and the beach is good to swim in. Small walks to shops, eating places, laundry, tesco. Sunday night is walking street which is about 100 meters from the resort, we ate there and the food was really good. The rooms were cleaned well every day, with clean sheets and towels daily. When walking around the resort and around the area there were some pretty bad smells coming from a drain and creek nearby, but there were none around our room, the beach, or the restaurant. If you're after a relaxing, no fuss getaway this is the place.

Room Tip: There were better rooms right on the beach front which we would get next time, ours was one bungalow back from the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arab520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

our villa is on the beach. it was not a top fashioned one but enough for a tropical visit. there was a balcony looking to the ocean. lamai beach is not the best beach but it's more quite so you can go to the chaweng beach with a 15 minutes bike ride and back to have a rest..

Room Tip: it's a bit far from the bars. they are mostly located on the chaweng beach but you can hire a motorbike from the hotel. don't forget to bargain!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehmetcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at Sand Sea in May which is low season on Samui. After visiting Samui for over 15 years now we still can't work out why. We stayed in one of the pool villas which was absolutely right on the beach with a quite large pool not a plunge pool as in many other places. The villa was showing signs of age but was spotlessly clean and a bargain indeed. The included breakfast was a bit boring but the meals were cheap enough that you could easily order from the main menu. The staff were lovely and the location was perfect for us. Our friends staying at more 4 and 5 star resorts were envious. We will definitely return to Sand Sea Resort. Oh and the massage sala just past the villas is fabulous

Room Tip: Go with the pool villa you won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemgem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was almost put of this resort by some of the reveiws but am so happy that we decided to go there. We have just returned from 2 weeks of relaxation in paradise. We had a junior suite that led out to the pool which was next to the beach. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day including the bedding changed and clean towels. The staff are amazing not over the top but if you need anything you really only have to look up and someone will help you, they are really friendly and enjoy chatting to you. The manager Fon will even help you with mopeds etc and her dog Rocky is a regular at the resort. The girls in the masage sala Dtu and Nid are two of the best people that I have ever had massages from and they were proffesionally trained in Bangkok, the sala is next to the beach so you can get your massage whilst listening to the waves lapping the shore. Sid the night time security guard is fab. The food in the restraunt is excellent and reasonably priced to. Many reveiws have mentioned that this resort is at the far end of Lamai but in 5 minutes you can walk to the main street. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: The junior suites that look out on to the pool on the lower floor are fab
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you are after a care-free, eat when you are hungry, sleep when you are tired holiday, and are not fussed about expensive bing and glitz (after all, you are on a beach holiday), then you do need to consider this place. It's probably 2-star or 3-star material but the location is great, on the north side of Lamai town, villas on the beach, a nice little bar and breakfast restaurant. What makes it good is that the beach villas are on the sand and it is just 20 meters down to the sea. You can sit on your verandah and watch the world go by, wander down for a quick swim when it gets hot and have a massage on the beach if you so wish. The villa itself is very, very basic with a bedroom, toilet and shower, and is air-conditioned. It is simple but it's clean and great value for money too. If you are expecting a big lobby, room service, satellite TV then this is not for you. If you want a simple, clean place close to everything in Lamai, and the convenience of being on the sand, then take a look at Sand Sea Resort! The staff are always smiling and helpful. We have been going there for the past 4 years over Christmas and New Year.

Room Tip: If you want t0 pay a little more, ask for the Royal villas A1 and A2 (without the pool). their web site if quite helpful if you want to see villa locations. They have other beach villas slightly cheaper such as B1. B2 etc.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougPeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews