We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thai House Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel located on lamai beach. Great location and nice small hotel.

Beachside massages were great and reasonably priced.

On site food was ok for what it was but you are better served walking down the street and trying other places out.


Staff was friendly but their English is very broken. So know this going in if that is a big issue for you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai House Beac... K, General Manager at Thai House Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for sharing us your experience through tripadvisor , your comment is appreciate us.

it is unfortunate sadly to hear that you experiencing the lack of English from some of our team , we will take appropriate action to resolve and it is in our budget plan already to have an English class for staff in low season.

We hope to welcome you back again and to provide the better service...

Best regards,
Jintana S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    236
    71
    27
    10
See reviews for
212
288
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and i and our friends from Australia have stayed at the Thai House for the last 2 Novembers. We can not say enough great things about the Thai House. The rooms are simple but nice. The pool and beach area are great as is the location. Above all we found the staff to be excellent. Starting with the front desk to the restaurant to the cleaners. They are all super friendly and efficient. We are all looking forward to returning next fall.
Sincerely,
Scott, Lynn-Canada
Pete, Suzie-Australia

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skatedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai House Beac... K, General Manager at Thai House Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Scott, Lynn & Pete, Suzie,

Thank you for your returning to Thai House Beach Resort and thank you for your time writing a very nice comment of your experience with us.

It is our great pleasure to know that you appreciated our resort and staff f has been efficient and helpful we will definitely share with our team.

We are more than happy to welcome you back to our Resort and to provide you the best service once again.

With the best regards,
Jintanan S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 31/12/13-4/1/14. All in all had a great experience. We got upgraded for the first two nights to a Deluxe family as there were no Deluxe rooms available. Then moved rooms two nights later to a Deluxe which we have to say was ALOT better in terms of decor and bathroom. The resort must be slowly undergoing room renovations as the Deluxe family wasnt as good as the Deluxe.
Wifi was pretty good. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Location is excellent being right on the beach, but if you want to head to Chaweng it's a 15 minute drive which isn't necessarily so bad if you want to stay away and have a relaxing holiday. The pool area is lovely and massages are readily available at the resort's outside massage station. They charge only slightly more than other beach massage huts but the ladies are very professional and the hut is alot nicer. Photos on the Website are a good representation of the resort. We didn't get to try the restaurant as we were on a detox program with another resort nearby. Price wise - a little more on the expensive side (it was high season as well) but for the level of service and cleanliness (much like you'd receive at bigger hotels) its OK. Would recommend staying here and If visiting Lamai again in future I would consider staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pros: amazing location on Lamai beach. We saw some of the other beaches on the island, and wouldn't have traded our location on Lamai for any other beach. The staff was very nice. Our villa was spacious. Free breakfast. Great bars and restaurants on the road parallel to the beach.

Cons: Hotel staff's English was lacking, out of all of the hotels we stayed in while in Thailand, their English was by far the weakest (I also realize that we should not expect everyone to speak perfect English, but compared to the other places we stayed... this one was at times a struggle to communicate). Hotel food was mediocre at best. There was something near the pool that smelled like a septic tank... not sure what/where it was coming from but I was glad we didn't spend time near there. Could be true for most of the resorts in the area (I have no idea) but we saw a very large cockroach in our room the last day. I realize this type of stuff happens in certain locations and climates, but it was disappointing considering we spent a good deal of money staying there.

Other notes: points about reserving lounge chairs early is true. It wasn't an issue for us because we were up at 7 almost every morning. But if you go out to the beach (at least while we were there) at 9 or 10 expecting a chair, good luck. However, one morning we did an activity and when we came back around lunch there were no chairs so we put our towels on the sand and a hotel employee came up to us about 5 minutes later and told us he had chairs for us. I have no idea if people vacated the chairs or he put them there but it was very nice of him and nice that we didn't have to spend hardly any time at all in the sand!

Room Tip: Seemed the Villas were the best bet. We had villa J and loved the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilson_jenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked this hotel 3 months in advance for a week-long stay, mostly based on good reviews on Tripadvisor. Upon arrival, they put us in a room on the 1st fl - very, very small (they crammed 4 beds together - so much about (as advertised) "deluxe family room" (!). A tiny balcony was facing a dirty wall and the bathroom was smelling of sewage. We asked to change rooms and were told that we would have to wait for 3 days before they could put us in one of the rooms facing the garden on the 2nd fl (needless to say, we could have not survived in that first room for one, let alone two nights, with such an terrible smell permeating everything). The only alternative was a 2nd fl room in the same section (facing two water tanks and some service area, including garbage collection/recycling area), but at least that did not smell. We decided to take it since our reservation was non-refundable (otherwise, we would have definitely left for another hotel). Although the bathroom in the second room did not smell, it had other problems. The water in the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, very often there wasn't enough hot water for 4 people to take showers, the furniture was shabby and dirty (a beige upholstered chair was badly stained, we did not dare sitting on it), we had to "fiddle" with the TV cable to get a good reception/picture, the phone did not work at first, neither did the safe (both were fixed, but the "damage" was already done, as far as we were concerned). Furthermore, the pool is small and gets crowded, beach is narrow and often very dirty (the hotel loungers are worn out, everything just looks sad and tired).... all together, not worth the money we paid. Lesson learned: never book a non-refundable stay. Here are some (albeit very few) positives: breakfast buffet was decent, staff at the restaurant is very pleasant and friendly, and the proximity to the restaurant row in Lamai was a plus. Sadly, the negatives outweigh the positives - we would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a Deluxe Family Double with breakfast at the Thai House Beach Resort for 5 nights at the beginning of our vacation.

In summary, stay here for the location on the beach. The rooms are ok/average, at best. There was never much hot water in the evenings and the bathroom fixtures were not maintained. Our bathroom faucet never really shut off and the lever to flush the toilet was chipped and barely got the job done. Despite the room, we would probably go back if we got a good deal. We enjoyed Lamai beach as compared to Mai Nam and Bo Phut where we also stayed on this trip.

Pros: great beach location and easy walking distance to the main Lamai shopping/ restaurant street. Very convenient. Hotel lounge chairs right on the beach...but get there early as people claim their spots for the day pretty early. Room was a nice size since we opted for the family room which had a small day bed that we used to dump our stuff. Breakfast was also decent; however the centerpiece was certainly the beach as the restaurant sat right on the beach so you had a wonderful view every morning. Staff was nice and courteous.

Cons: Average rooms in need of maintenance. Be careful of the location as the first room they tried to give us was on the first floor had a view of a wall (no kidding)! Well, to their credit, they moved us to a second floor with garden view - which looked much better after seeing the first room. Not much privacy, though, as the balcony looked upon the hallways to the other rooms so people were constantly walking in view of our balcony. Additionally, scooter rental was a more expensive than outside (which I don't mind); however I would expect some quality control for that extra charge. The scooter we got was a bit worn and had problems starting. Mind you, I understand that these are all subcontracted out; but again, I would expect that they do some basic quality control before accepting on behalf of their customers for the premium that they charge.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jilojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

the hotel is totally perfect to stay when you are on thailand trip
the best hotel in thailand this is what i think
the staff is too frank
the room service is awesome
the food is tasty
and the best thing is location
the best location of hotel you ll ever have in thailand
near to beach
little bit costly hotel
but totally worth it
must must must visit

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashi2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.7 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
748 reviews
3.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai House Beach Resort

Property: Thai House Beach Resort
Address: 131 Moo3, T.Maret, Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach 84310 | Koh samui, Suratthai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai House Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai House Beach Resort is located at Lamai Beach on beautiful island of Koh Samui. Only 35 kilometers from the main land, it is easily accessible from all major airports in Thailand. Transfer time from Koh Samui airport approximately 30 minutes. Bus from Bangkok to Samui will take 12 hours. Daily Ferry Service will take one hour and half for every trip duration 08.00 am to 06.00 pm. We can arrange transport for you by the budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thai House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai House Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Thai Hotel Beach
Thai House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing