We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, relaxing honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Republic The Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxing honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I spent a week at the Beach Republic for our honeymoon in late April, early May 2011. Although the reception area is pretty basic, the staff was very polite and helpful on arrival. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, with kitchenette, private balcony, large bathroom with shower and 2 person jacuzzi tub. Our room was spacious, new and extremely quiet and clean - far exceeding our expectations. We felt like we'd stepped into a modern, tasteful boutique hotel - a welcome sight after 20 hrs of travel from the USA.

It was the low season in Koh Samui, so the hotel was pretty quiet during our stay, with maybe 15-20 other guests. The weather was fantastic. The staff and owners were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful but in an unobtrusive way. They were also very thoughtful - without any prompting, the hotel staff delivered a chocolate cake to my wife on her birthday! The breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful - a great selection of fresh fruit, omelettes made to order, fresh breads, fresh juices, etc. Other reviewers have commented that the food menu is the same every day - we find it hard to complain about anything do do with the food at Beach Republic. There was plenty of variety and the food was fresh and well prepared - a mixture of Thai and continental European. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Similarly, the bar menu was great - fresh cocktails, Thai beer and wine on offer. We recommend a freshly mixed Republic Mojito! As others have stated, the Sunday Brunch at Beach Republic is their signature event and was just amazing. The variety of food was incredible - a seemingly endless array of Thai and European dishes to sample through the day (11am-4 pm)!. Amazing.

The beach and pool area at Beach Republic are also fantastic. Just like the photos on their web site - infinity pools, pool and beach-side beds, the very essence of relaxation. The beach area is the nicest along this stretch of Lamai - we walked the entire beach. The best part about the beach area is that even at high tide you can walk for about 500 yards out into the ocean and still be in waist-high, clear, emerald green warm water.

My wife and I also really enjoyed the Spa at Beach Republic. We had a massage of one kind or another nearly every day! The staff at the spa were very friendly and helpful. At the end of our week they even gave us a small gift to say thank you!

We didn't venture too far from Beach Republic during our stay. We made a one day trip to Angthong National Park (reviewed elsewhere) - arranged by the hotel, and had dinner two nights in Chaweng. The rest of the time we were relaxing on site.

In summary - we'd highly recommend Beach Republic and would definitely go back there on a future holiday - perhaps staying longer next time.

Room Tip: Talk to the folks at reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjr7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    156
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
166
311
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Koh Samui We went there to relax and get some swimming and some sunshine and we certainly got both.
I was surprised at how modern it was for somewhere on a small island in Thailand, the rooms are very spacious and the cottages are beautiful. Just like having your own house and private pool but with room service and the most wonderful food included! A real holiday!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quietcorner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Beach Republic is an amazing place to stay in Koh Samui! My boyfriend and me went there, we would love to stay in the pool villa, but it was too expensive for us so we have decided to stay in the Club Suite~ I think that’s quite enough for us, the room was very beautiful and stylish! Especially love the balcony; we were just sitting there for the whole afternoon! We were welcomed by a drink and some snacks with some warm smiles when we arrived, the staffs were very friendly and helpful! And the location is also quite convenient, only a 5 minutes’ drive to the Lamai. And the Ocean Club of Beach Republic is truthly amazing! Really love the cabanas and sunbeds!!! Highly recommend to couples that are going to Koh Samui!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Julie, the manager who was casually but smartly dressed at all times made us feel most welcome and was clearly in complete control of the situation and commanded the respect of the staff. She was always readily available if we needed needed any help and dealt with all of our requests in a helpful and friendly manner. We We are frequent visitors to Koh Samui and in the past have tended to stay near Bophut fishermans village. However in the last two years, since we have discovered Beach Republic, we have visited there as often as possible as day guests. On this most recent trip we foolishly chose an inferior hotel in Maenam as a base but were so dissapointed with the poor quality there that we spent more and more time at Beach Republic. We decided to abandon this hotel and checked into Beach Republic for the last three days of our Vacation. This was the best decision we we could have made, the Club suite we had was spacious, well appointed and scrupulously clean. The sumptuous bed was the most comfortable we have ever experienced in 15 trips to Samui over the last 8 years! The staff are all very attentive, friendly and efficient. The dining experience was second to none. The view from the pool area is suberb and the overall experience including the relaxing chill out music is fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the new block are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had a more than fantastic stay ( 7 nights) at Beach republic. The staff was more than helpful and very kind, especially to our kids!!! Nothing was too much and they were allowed everywhere.
The room was beautiful as well, very spacious and clean. There were big flatscreen tv's and dvd players in all rooms, dvd's to take for free from the reception.

All weekend afternoons there is a dj playing very nice music and throughout the week just lovely lounge music.

The fact that it was low season made our stay even more fantastic as we don't really like crowds.

The staff is really so amazingly friendly, this alone is a reason to definately come back!!
Speaking of the food, this was excellent as well as far as we visited the restaurant, also some very lovely wines on the menu. Ofcourse all a lot more expensive than the local places allover Thailand, but this is not comparable to local Thai places anyway. This is pure luxury, and that's exactly what we needed!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

I went with a travelling companion/friend and experienced the luxury and peace of this inspiring location. She is already pestering me to return next year. Before then I am taking my daughter for a well deserved rest between jobs.
The rooms - both the one I used and those I saw give a welcome range of accommodation - all with their own character and levels of luxury and privacy . Some have their own pool. The whole experience was one that I would wish to share with family and friends - or even take a Bridge four! I returned refreshed, invigorated and ready to take on the world again. Tip - make sure you are on Skype and have music on your laptop and a Kindle.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janbarstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

My wife and I with a male friend just returned from Ko Samui and being our first time to Thailand had no pre conceived ideas about our holiday. We travel quite a bit and our immediate impression of BR was one of its lack of "WOW". Going up to our room the building and the passageways look barren, perhaps some wall decorations and plants to soften the carpark look. I understand that our room, (we had a 2 bedroom sky pool villa on the 3rd level) was only recently completed. The check in process seemed rushed and no one really bothered to show us to use all the ameneties. It took us 2 days to work out how to turn off all of the lights. Our bedroom didn't have hot water for the shower even though we called reception to advise them of this issue. We had that sorted out on the 3rd day. The villa itself however was clean and well appointed, beds very comfortable.
Our pool whilst very refreshing to have a dip in has a major design fault (infinity edge) in that every time you jumped in the water overflowed the "drain" and ran out over the tiled deck which became slippery.
Like all properties we have stayed at we looked in the villas directory for information about the resort. It contained very little information at all bar 3 pages of "legal stuff" and a comprehensive list of prices for all of the rooms contents weird??
We walked down the "driveway" from our villa to the restaurant bar area. No one in at check in bothered to show us down to this area and explain all of the facilities. We wandered around a bit like lost sheep until a staff member welcomed us and showed us around. The restaurant is unpretentious and the pool and surrounds are ok without being anything outstanding. The staff are friendly however you need to be very clear on what you order as we had a number of wrong drink orders brought to us.
Food at BR is very ordinary, breakfast is abysmal, same same every morning, chef get some imagination please. We booked in for the Sunday lunch which is built up bigger than Texas. It looks good but lacks in flavour and basic food preparation procedures. The staff all look out of place and seem to struggle with basic food preparation and food safety
techniques. The beef on the carvery was served "blue", and the person serving it was quite happy to carve this up. I explained to him that it needed to go back in the oven for at least another 20 minutes. I am not sure who trains these guys but they need work. The seafood on the buffet I was afraid to eat as the "ice" surrounding it had melted and no one had bothered to refill the ice. In the Samui heat it was a little time bomb waiting to go off.
The food in the BBQ area was also sitting out in the full sun with little temperature control, anyone heard of food safety in Samui. I expect this lack of concern in street stalls but not
at a major resort. I have had food poisioning ruin a holiday once before so hence my concern to unsuspecting diners.
My wife and I booked into the spa for a 3 hour chocolate pamper package. Staff were great and well worth the cost.
We wanted to do some trips during our stay and organised a boat trip out to the national park. Well worth going for the day. The reception desk booked this for us but there is not a lot of other choice for other trips. They have a folder with some pamphlets but if you want to get more info ask at the tour booking desks in town.
Overall the BR has the concept right but needs to invest in some training for its staff and get its food sorted out. The atmosphere and location is good but it lacks in some basic areas which if implemented would turn the BR into something great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCSuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
4.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
0.4 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Property: Beach Republic The Residences
Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing