We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel BUT avoid the Sunday brunch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The hotel, rooms and food are great but the music is so loud at 2 pm that we went back to our room to get away from the pounding music.
The guests were not mainly 20 year olds but 40+ and no one seemed to enjoy the music being so loud.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The villas with their own chemical-free pools are always a popular choice.

Since we first opened in 2008, the Sunday Sessions Ultimate Sunday Brunch Club has become an island institution. It has been named the island's best by Fah Thai Magazine and others and each week upwards of 100-200 people enjoy the gourmet feast and great atmosphere.

The DJs who were playing this Sunday spin mellow grooves, suited for tropical sunbathing, swimming, and Champagne sipping. On the Sunday in question, we were happy to welcome over 150 guests who stayed throughout the afternoon enjoying the beautiful day.

We are of course disappointed that this wasn't to your liking, but we look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

You can't beat this resort for the price. it's only been two weeks since we were there and I am already nostalgic for the fantastic vacation my husband and friends and I had at Beach Republic. The staff have a casual friendliness and are attentive and helpful. We LOVED our suite and the little touches like free wi-fi, turn down service, free bottled water, etc. The whole design of the hotel is hip, chic and simple without being intimidating or snooty. The poolside drink service is a perfect way to enjoy your day. We also really liked the daily breakfast buffet and were pleased with the spread there and service. I went to the spa one night and had a great massage and the spa itself is beautiful. I highly recommend it and have already told two of my honeymooning friends to check it out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliteTerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Planned a two weeks away - mother and daughter bonding! wow this was so much more than that. Have returned relaxed, rejuvinated and feeling like a new person. To say we were pampered is an understatment - from our collection from the airport to, beauty treatments to having food specially cooked to meet our dietary requests - without even the slightest quibble. Our penthouse was amazing, with the view from our pool over the hills. not that we spent much time there as the beach club is like a personal spa. Luxuriuos sofa style loungers and staff on hand for even the smallest request, by the time time we left I didn't need to ask for my drinks they arrived as though by magic. All the staff were expectional particularly the resort manager, answering all our querieis about the surrounding area and day trips to the elephants and markets.

All in all a wonderful trip - the only draw back was having to return to England - return trip booked for July 2011.

Room Tip: Book early, and ask to speak to Giles - manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eke26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I spent a week at the Beach Republic for our honeymoon in late April, early May 2011. Although the reception area is pretty basic, the staff was very polite and helpful on arrival. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, with kitchenette, private balcony, large bathroom with shower and 2 person jacuzzi tub. Our room was spacious, new and extremely quiet and clean - far exceeding our expectations. We felt like we'd stepped into a modern, tasteful boutique hotel - a welcome sight after 20 hrs of travel from the USA.

It was the low season in Koh Samui, so the hotel was pretty quiet during our stay, with maybe 15-20 other guests. The weather was fantastic. The staff and owners were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful but in an unobtrusive way. They were also very thoughtful - without any prompting, the hotel staff delivered a chocolate cake to my wife on her birthday! The breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful - a great selection of fresh fruit, omelettes made to order, fresh breads, fresh juices, etc. Other reviewers have commented that the food menu is the same every day - we find it hard to complain about anything do do with the food at Beach Republic. There was plenty of variety and the food was fresh and well prepared - a mixture of Thai and continental European. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Similarly, the bar menu was great - fresh cocktails, Thai beer and wine on offer. We recommend a freshly mixed Republic Mojito! As others have stated, the Sunday Brunch at Beach Republic is their signature event and was just amazing. The variety of food was incredible - a seemingly endless array of Thai and European dishes to sample through the day (11am-4 pm)!. Amazing.

The beach and pool area at Beach Republic are also fantastic. Just like the photos on their web site - infinity pools, pool and beach-side beds, the very essence of relaxation. The beach area is the nicest along this stretch of Lamai - we walked the entire beach. The best part about the beach area is that even at high tide you can walk for about 500 yards out into the ocean and still be in waist-high, clear, emerald green warm water.

My wife and I also really enjoyed the Spa at Beach Republic. We had a massage of one kind or another nearly every day! The staff at the spa were very friendly and helpful. At the end of our week they even gave us a small gift to say thank you!

We didn't venture too far from Beach Republic during our stay. We made a one day trip to Angthong National Park (reviewed elsewhere) - arranged by the hotel, and had dinner two nights in Chaweng. The rest of the time we were relaxing on site.

In summary - we'd highly recommend Beach Republic and would definitely go back there on a future holiday - perhaps staying longer next time.

Room Tip: Talk to the folks at reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjr7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Koh Samui We went there to relax and get some swimming and some sunshine and we certainly got both.
I was surprised at how modern it was for somewhere on a small island in Thailand, the rooms are very spacious and the cottages are beautiful. Just like having your own house and private pool but with room service and the most wonderful food included! A real holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quietcorner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Beach Republic is an amazing place to stay in Koh Samui! My boyfriend and me went there, we would love to stay in the pool villa, but it was too expensive for us so we have decided to stay in the Club Suite~ I think that’s quite enough for us, the room was very beautiful and stylish! Especially love the balcony; we were just sitting there for the whole afternoon! We were welcomed by a drink and some snacks with some warm smiles when we arrived, the staffs were very friendly and helpful! And the location is also quite convenient, only a 5 minutes’ drive to the Lamai. And the Ocean Club of Beach Republic is truthly amazing! Really love the cabanas and sunbeds!!! Highly recommend to couples that are going to Koh Samui!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Julie, the manager who was casually but smartly dressed at all times made us feel most welcome and was clearly in complete control of the situation and commanded the respect of the staff. She was always readily available if we needed needed any help and dealt with all of our requests in a helpful and friendly manner. We We are frequent visitors to Koh Samui and in the past have tended to stay near Bophut fishermans village. However in the last two years, since we have discovered Beach Republic, we have visited there as often as possible as day guests. On this most recent trip we foolishly chose an inferior hotel in Maenam as a base but were so dissapointed with the poor quality there that we spent more and more time at Beach Republic. We decided to abandon this hotel and checked into Beach Republic for the last three days of our Vacation. This was the best decision we we could have made, the Club suite we had was spacious, well appointed and scrupulously clean. The sumptuous bed was the most comfortable we have ever experienced in 15 trips to Samui over the last 8 years! The staff are all very attentive, friendly and efficient. The dining experience was second to none. The view from the pool area is suberb and the overall experience including the relaxing chill out music is fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the new block are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
413 reviews
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
2.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £52 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing