We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I have heard about Beach Republic from various people. One for its Beach Club concept and from others about the rooms and Villas they have. Visiting a friend in Samui I decided to stay there.

Arrival
The driver was ready and well visible at the airport. He did not speak much English but one can see he is amazingly polite and tries very hard to please a guest. Upon entering the car he offered cold towels and water. Shortly after we drove off he informed of the duration of the drive and close to the arrival he called the reception to inform. Fantastic!

It is for that, I believe, that all was well organized and a real VIP feeling was created!

Rooms
Love it!
I had booked a Penthouse Jacuzzi and was immediately happy. The room has great color schemes, amazingly large and very modern, trendy but without feeling out of place. Good taste. Amazing is the bathroom which is simply huge! Fantastic quality of mattresses and one can choose different pillows for its material and fill.

During my stay I visited the other rooms. All are just fantastic and I easily could stay at any of them. Very spacious, good taste and colors schemes is very well chosen.

Beach Club
It all is about the Beach Club!
The staff is really friendly. Relaxed, easy going but very friendly and most helpful. Good english knowledge from all. It is very nice to relax, listen to the music (excellent mix and volume). It offers great possibilities to be part of the scene, private or simply lay all alone at the beach.

Cocktails
I loved the Cocktails!
The bartender has various receipts for cocktails and one easily can see it is his 'pride". They taste amazingly and have good dosage of alcohol...lol

Wine
A big surprise was also the wine selection and its pricing. At most places pricing is very high. Here, very affordable prices and no feeling comes up of being ripped off. The selection is simply fantastic!

Food
I missed the Sunday Brunch, which apparently is fantastic and very popular, as I did not stay on a Sunday. Food offer is very good. From easy going Pizza to fine dining and the taste is good.

Team
At all times I have had no troubles with the staff. Instead, they all are very friendly, smiling and try hard to go beyond guest expectations. It is a great atmosphere which very much is made by the staff.

In addition, Julie, who is the Resident Manager, is always around and very approachable for any question. Very nice lady and most helpful!

Conclusion
I very much can recommend this place in Koh Samui!
I guess it is actually suitable for all kinds of people. Families, singles, couples, - anybody who wants to feel young and be in a cool atmosphere but still wants to have comfort and luxury.

Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dragonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Perhaps its obvious to some but it wasn't to us, however if you come here you either book an apartment in a new block or a residence which is your own private villa. We have a family of three ( including a daughter aged 17 years) and we booked a two roomed villa however were upgraded to a 4 room villa. Of course we didn't need the extra rooms but the large pool and surroundings really were beautiful. We can't comment on the apartment as we didn't go into them, but we understand they are quite new. The only negative comment on the villas which may put some people off was that the shower and toilet were joined to the main bedrooms( lovely air conditioned ) but effectively were outside and had a bamboo/grass roof which did mean they let in a little rain ( we had a number of short sharp showers) and both the rooms we used had a resident frog/toad ! i know this would freak some people out... not us... but I think worth mentioning !
Everything else was lovely. great atmosphere, lovely pool area and superb beach side location.
Few other points which may be helpful
1. We had great deal from expedia £78 per night inc breakfast for whole family. Other sites were much dearer.
2. Owners do cash in a little on food and drinks which are much cheaper elsewhere. You can though stock up on drinks etc for the villa ( lovely fridge) from the small siupermarket on the main rd if you wish.
3. You are a little out of the way here and rather than asking reception to call you a taxi to Chaweng ( 400 bart) or Lamai ( 200 bart) if you wonder onto thee main road any taxi driver ( especially the communal ones with the open back who pip their horn as they pass) will do it for half of that... you may need to haggle a bit but you are pushing against an open door).
4. Great Thai ( very cheap) food at the Starbay restaurant next door where you can eat over-looking the sea .... fantastic for lunch !
5. Beach residence charge a 10% service charge on top of what are already high charges. I hope that this 10% charge is passed onto ALL staff on top of their salary 'as a tip' and not used to make up their salary ! if not maybe you could deduct it and poay to the staff in cash !.... just a thought?

All in all though a lovely location and great accommodation, but maybe not for everyone ?

Room Tip: We were in room 105 which we think was best location next to restaurant area, close to reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to the Presidential Pool Villa. While we are not a traditional hotel in the sense that all of our rooms and facilities are not in one building, we are certainly a hotel with 39 apartments and villas, a full restaurant, spa, steam room, fitness room, and two ocean-front infinity edge pools.

I feel that the food and drink prices are quite reasonable for the quality that is offered and are comparable to other resorts on the island. The 10% service charge is passed directly on to the staff on top of their salary.

With the safety of our guests in mind, it is the resort policy to only work with taxis that we know and trust. Their prices may sometimes be slightly higher than those that can be obtained by flagging down a car on the street, but we feel this is the responsible decision. The communal taxis are actually converted pick-up trucks with benches in the back. While they are quite a bit cheaper than a private taxi, they make multiple stops and are not as comfortable or convenient.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you at Beach Republic again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just under two weeks and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one of the deluxe suites which was very comfortable and spacious and had everything you could possibly need. It had a very modern , clean feel and it was lovely to arrive to complementary cocktails and a big smile! We had no private pool like in the villas but for us it was enough to have use of the two pools down at the beach club. That area really is stunning.That is where the restaurant is also located and it's wonderful to have breakfast looking out at that view! We found breakfast staff always very efficient and friendly. The breakfast is great... so much choice! We only ate in the restaurant for dinner once or twice as yes it is expensive but I imagine similar hotels aren't much different with the 10% service charge and vat... It didn't bother us much though as we much prefer to get out and about and try the restaurants in Lamai- where there is a great choice and which are amazing value. If you planned to eat there regularly I guess that wouldn't be great! In my opinion the location was great as it was out of the busy areas - but between Lamai and Chaweng so quite convenient to both. You really will have to rent a scooter or a car however unless you plan to stay in the resort for the whole holiday or do some walking or else depend on the taxis or songthaews (which are cheap anyway- bout 5 euro for 2 to Chaweng) We decided to hire a scooter however from the hotel and it was a great way to get around and for so cheap!! ( about five euro a day! ) Any trips you would like to take , reception will organise for you which is great. They cannot do enough for you. We felt very well taken care of and we can't wait to return!!!!! Fabulous place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Found this hotel over rated and overpriced paricturally for food and drink.
Rooms are excellent, they are modern and very clean.
Customer service around the pool and in the resturant was in my opinion very poor in fact the worst that we experienced during our whole hoilday in thialand, we had stayed in four other hotels during our trip. This was the most expensive hotel during our trip and we were saving the best to last, however we felt let down. Was it worth it? Sadly no.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cottage01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am glad that you found the rooms to be excellent, modern, and clean. They are all very new and have been outfitted to be as comfortable as possible.

I feel that the food and drink prices are quite reasonable for the quality and variety that is offered such as thin crust wood fired pizza, grain fed burgers, goat's cheese and artichoke salad, Tasmanian Salmon, Phuket Lobster, and of course a wide selection of Thai specialties.

The 10% service charge is passed directly on to the staff on top of their salary.

I am sorry that you experienced poor customer service in the restaurant and around the pool. The vast majority of our guests are very satisfied with the high level of service that we offer. Of course, poor service at any time is unacceptable. To ensure that the service is always excellent, last week we brought on new management level restaurant staff who have been conducting training sessions and working with the waitstaff daily.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that you were let down and I sincerely hope that you give us another chance to provide you with the outstanding level of service that we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Beach Republic offers 'hotel boutique chic', with a major laid-back and chilled feel. The management and staff cater for your every need and nothing is too much trouble for them. Fabulous!

We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment which was very spacious, comfortable and had all the facilities needed to accomodate a family of 4.
The beds are extremely comfortable, changed regularly and turned down every evening. All rooms have air con or you can choose to use a centre fan. All rooms have complimentary tea, coffee and drinking water, etc. The fridge/small larder is fully stocked but very expensive!

Food and beverages are very pricey in all the major hotels on the island and Beach Republic is no exception. However, the restaurant offers a very good selection of both and the standard is excellent.

Breakfast is served in the open-fronted restaurant, just a few metres away from the residences and offers everything you could want - the coffee in wonderful! The restaurant overlooks the pool, palm trees, white sand and a very calm sea. Total tranquility right from the start of your day!

All in all, great hotel in a fantastic location.

Whilst Samui is a relatively small island there is much to see and do and hiring a car is advisable. We had a 1.3 Suzuki Jeep which cost £12 (550 baht) per day. Not much room in the back, but perfect for what we needed. Hotel has plenty of parking space.

We will return to Samui and Beach Republic and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for month in a modern Two Bedroom Villa, June/July 2011 also stayed same time last year 2010. The villa is fantastic, plenty of room and the fully equipped kitchen is sufficient. The second bedroom is upstairs with its own separate sunbathing deck. This works really well for two couples but probably not so good if you have small children and require the second bedroom for them as it is quit separate from the rest of the villa.
The pool is a great size and very private and the garden around the pool is nicely done.
The breakfast is good and down at the beach club situated right on the beach. The beach right outside Beach Republic is not the best swimming beach but a walk around to Lamai which takes about 20mins the beach is beautiful.
Overall Beach Republic is a wonderful place to stay either for a short stay or longer what we do. Highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed at The Beach Republic and was amazed at the high quality of the residence and the whole resort. I felt like I was at a six star resort and the atmosphere was unbelievable. Robert and Dave were a pleasure to spend time with and helped make my stay there even more enjoyable. The location is directly on the ocean and and extremely peaceful and relaxing. On my next visit to Thailand this will be my first and final stop.

Steve Wickes
Maui, Hawaii
USA

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve60629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
752 reviews
1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
0.4 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 103 in Chaweng
2,636 reviews
1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
2.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £56 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing