We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't want to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Republic The Residences

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

As I write this we only have 1 night left of a week stay. The service from the moment we checked in, to the pool boys adjusting the sun umbrella for us has been first class.

As part of our stay we stayed 1 night in a 5 star hotel very near by (wedding), that cost in one night 4 times the amount we paid for here and do you know what .... I missed Beach Republic.

The ambience down at the pool is superb with the DJ playing great chill out music all afternoon. The sunbeds are the comfiest I have ever come across and the breakfast kept us going all day.

The cleanliness and attention to details all around the resort is second to none.

Our 2 bed penthouse has been phenomenal and could not have asked for more.

The only negative I have, is that 7 nights is simply not enough.

Keep up the great work all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bean697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    156
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
166
311
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our experience with the hotel was really positive. Whilst reception was quite odd and off-putting on arrival, the rooms were lovely and big with a kitchenette and lots of space. We asked to be moved to a higher floor and the hotel happily obliged. There we had a view and more privacy.

Whilst it's fairly small, there was always a pool bed free and the pool boys were very kind and helpful. The lovely big day beds facing the beach were so lovely, and you could get umbrellas moved, up or down to suit what you wanted. The pool got the sun all day and was very relaxing.

There is lounge tunes playing most afternoons, which was fun for us as a young couple, but may not suit everyone. The breakfast was delicious with lots of options and open until 10.30 so you can sleep in. The staff were so nice and really helpful, arranging a good speedboat company to take us to Koh Phangan for the full moon party and everyone was always smiling and obliging. If you want something with a bit of life then come here, they had an anniversary party whilst we stayed with fireworks and flame-throwers. Overall, I'd really recommend staying here. How could you not feel relaxed and looked after? Great time.

Room Tip: A higher floor provides a bit more privacy on the balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Had a wonderful experience at Beach Republic.
The restaurant and pool are lovely, with a wonderful view.
We had a free 30 min massage which was excellent.
The breakfast is amazing, huge choice of food.
Very stylish resort and rooms. Restaurant is expensive but so much choice in Lami and Chaweng.
Housekeeping great and left us treats every day ie cake and desserts.
Mini bar is well stocked and room facilities are great. TV, dvd, ipod dock, tea & coffee, kitchen etc.
Only negative was the layout of the resort, reception tiny and the cant remember seeing the apartment block on any pictures advertising this resort. However, lovely apartments they were!
We had free airport transfers which were useful, and they picked us up from the pier. The vehicle was lovely and a choice of drinks onboard.
Happy hour between 5 - 7pm. If you want a sun bed, go to the pool early, or expect to wait until around 3pm to get one.
Would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemandshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Over Christmas, our family stayed for 5 nights at the Beach Republic Hotel in Koh Samui. This hotel is in an excellent beach front location a few minutes ride from Lamai. Since we were travelling with our grown children, we selected a 2-bedroom suite. The spacious apartment was nicely furnished with a kitchenette and a large balcony. The second bedroom was smaller and clearly designed for younger children -- there was no closet, no luggage rack, and no reading lamp. Oddly, both bathrooms had steps down of about an inch and a half, and since all the floors are white tile, presented a frequent tripping hazard. The hotel restaurant has a great breakfast buffet with a wide variety of dishes that change daily. The restaurant, pool and patio area are located along the beach a few minutes walk from the hotel building. This is a popular spot with many lounge chairs and sunbeds, a dee-jay, and a swim-up bar, and visitors come from other hotels to use the facilities (at a fee) during the day. We found we needed to reserve our sunbeds early. Possibly it was because of the holiday crowds, but the vibe at this hotel seemed better suited to partying than relaxing. We had only one complaint – the difficulty of getting towels in our room, which seemed a disconnect with everything else about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

the stuff is absolutly helpless,only several people understand english.we stayed at this hotel for one week at the penthouse sky pool villa (it is the most expensive variant at this hotel for two persons). every single day there was a big problem to get a towel on the beach! almost every day the cleaning ladies forgot to bring the fresh towels to the room or left for us only one fresh towel!!! people who wants to stay at this hotel should know that it is not only a hotel it is first of all the ocean club(this explanation we have got from the manager)! it means everyone from the street is welcome:you should only pay 1000 BAHT and you can use the swimming pool, the beach, the towels and eat for all this money( by their prices in the bar it is very easy to spent all these money only for one meal and couple of drinks)!it means you can stay at beach republic ocean club for the whole day absolutly free. the guests of the hotel can not feel themselves secure! you can not relax here or feel yourself priveleged, no! if you dream on quiet romantic holiday - forget it! every day come some loud drunk companies, who spent the whole day in swimming pool drinking alcohol right in pool!!! one day we tried to talk with the management about it and got the answer that the only difference for hotel guest is the privelege to get the so named sunbeds and sunsalas. bytheway to get this sala or big sunbed for two people you should be on the beach at 7.00 a.m! if you want to sleep over and come to the beach at 9.00 a.m. you can simply forget it! every sala and every big sunbed is already reserved))) it is a nonsence! honestly we are very very dissapointed! because we wanted to spent here our wedding anniversary, to have a quiet romantic holiday((( if you order the drink you should know that the time of expectation can be apr.30 minutes! next time i will book le meridien hotel, which is the next one on the beach and they respect their guests!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryzhik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for choosing Beach Republic and for taking the time to leave your feedback here. Our core front-of-house staff speak very good English and have quality language hospitality training. In the very peak season we do bring in a number of temporary staff members who are not quite there yet in terms of language, but who have demonstrated the right attitude, and a strong willingness to learn. We welcome their determination and feel that they add great value to the resort.

As you were staying in peak season and the resort and beach club were both very full, we did run low on towels and I apologize for this. We have since purchased additional towels so this will not be an issue any more.

Beach Republic is both a hotel and a beach club, something that our many repeat guests love. It gives the resort a special and lively atmosphere that is hard to find elsewhere. I do understand that sometimes the other guests can be quite festive and I apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. We pride ourselves on the open, fun, and relaxed environment that we offer, which is conducive to making new friends, letting loose, and enjoying the lighter side of life; and a great variety of people enjoy this hugely!

On the other hand, the tranquility of your balcony with private pool in the penthouse is a great place to catch up on reading, take an afternoon nap, or spend some time in quiet reflection. It's also worth pointing out that in the evening, the beach club is transformed into a truly beautiful dining venue with a tranquil and exotic ambience suitable for all occasions.

Guests staying at The Residences are privileged in that the entire row of ocean front salas and sun loungers are reserved for them. They are quite popular and if they are often taken early then we have many other sun loungers and other salas available.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments here. We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Republic soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Spent ten days in a two bedroom pool villa with my wife and her sister. First impressions are disappointing as the reception resembles a travel agents office, but that was quickly dispelled when we were brought to the accommodation.
The Villa was beautiful, and perfect for three or four people, the pictures on the website depict it exactly as it is, which is not always the case.
I was particular impressed by the attention to detail, and the changing room contained every gadget you might need including an electric fly zapper. The safe was located at eye level which saves you having to get on your hands a knees to enter the code, at my age these things are important.
The minibar was most impressive, a full size fridge with enough drinks to host a party of twenty.
and a great assortment of coffee for the espresso machine.
The Villa was cleaned before twelve every day, and we were supplied with beach towels even though they were also supplied at the pool.
The service at the restaurant and pool area was excellent , as was the quality of the food, you could also order from the restaurant menu, and have it delivered to your room.
The only negative point was the music at the pool, which was invariably mood music which the girls and I found boring, we requested a change to something more popular but this was not forthcoming.
The pool guys were great, after giving them a small tip on the first day, towels were placed on our favourite sun beds every morning saving us having to get up early to reserve them , small but important details.
Having spent more than twenty years in 5 star hotel management I found the Beach republic
is run with a high degree of professionalism and great attention to detail, which makes a stay there a real pleasure.
David Larkin 30.01.2013
.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StPatrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Top notch resort. The free room upgrade was a nice surprise.
The restaurant and bars are pricey (Asahi beer about AU$6) compared to the bars in town. But the service, the view and the food were very high quality.
The room was extremely well appointed and clean.
Would be nice if it was closer to town. It's a $5-10 taxi ride to Lamai or a 30 minute walk.
Highly recommended.
P.S. With nutella and banana pancakes on offer every morning- how can you go wrong!?

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A-B-C-849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
4.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
0.4 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Property: Beach Republic The Residences
Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing