We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After 6 weeks spent in Thailand, this was our last night in Koh Samui, on the way back from Koh Phangan and we wanted something fun and nice. And fun and nice this was!
Beach Republic has an awesome location with a direct access to a lovely beach and not far away from the airport (25 min drive) if you will be traveling. The service at this resort was awesome! Everyone full of smiles and personal attention. Breakfast the best we have had in Thailand in our 6 weeks. The pool area had live DJ and lots of lounge space, even awesome beach beds right at the edge overlooking the beach. Cocktails were great! And we had dinner there too, which was lovely. There is a separate pool for children, which is nice for the children and especially for those who do not have children and are able to relax in all adult pool. Rooms (we had deluxe Club suite - basic room) were really nice!! Huge kitchen area, very modern, large balcony. All in all, really nice, chilled and at the same time good quality stay. Recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurakelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed at the Beach Republic for 6 nights with my wife in a pool villa. Our daughter, son in law & 3 grand kids also stayed and had a 2 bedroom suite. We were a little apprehensive about how the little ones would go with the dj and music pumping out, but all was good.
The staff were excellent and all were helpful. From the front desk helping with transport around Samui and giving the kids some Thai language lessons to the pool side staff and the housekeeping we couldn't have asked for more.
Breakfast was great with plenty of options and very fresh. Croissants made fresh each morning and served still warm & crisp were a great touch. Only annoying thing was paying extra for a cappuccino with breakfast.
Other food was also great with the pizza oven particularly popular.
For the children (all under 6) the staff were great and fussed over them. There are 2 pools plus a wading pool for the little ones. There is no kids club but there are some water toys to play with. While there is no child specific menu, we did find enough from the menu to keep them happy during the day.the kids also had room service at night a couple of times which worked well.
Our pool villa had some broken tiles with sharp edges that were dangerous to little feet. We were very happy with the pool villa other than the tile issue.
This was our 5th visit to Samui & our first here and this was the best Pool villa layout we have had. Room sizes are generous and all air conditioned. The pool villa has 2 outdoor showers with a bath inside with only a hand held shower inside. Water pressure can be an issue, but this is typical of Samui.
Overall we had a very relaxing stay that we all thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Pool villa is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifesToShort-Enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I've traveled all over and I can honestly say this was one of the best stays I have ever had anywhere. Every little detail is so well done from the rooms to the food to the pool. It was difficult to even go out and explore Koh Samui as they have an amazing DJ who plays from 1pm-6pm. Day after day we sat by the pool listening to great music and being taken care of by an extremely attentive staff.

The food definitely needs to be mentioned again. This will sound crazy but their Caesar salad is the best I have ever had. I ordered it 4 times in three days. I also suggest trying the blue crab ravioli and the Mediterranean couscous. We also had a few thai dishes which were just as good. If you are thinking of visiting Koh Samui I definitely suggest staying here or at the very least coming for a day at the pool and food!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanns22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Well.. After staying at Beach Republic I must say its definitely a personal favourite in Lamai. We only stayed for 2 nights, but it was one of the better places we stayed on our trip to Thailand. The service was great. The rooms where very comfortable, large rooms with extremely comfortable large king sized beds - ours even had its own kitchenette - stocked with everything we needed and more.. Both the food and drinks where of a high standard and weren't too expensive. The front desk helped us with Scooter Rental at a very reasonable price and had it ready for us within an hour of our enquiry. They also helped us with directions around the island. The rest of the staff around the restaurant and bar where pollute and friendly and always ready to help with whatever we needed. The pools x 2 where lovely and clean - and salt water! (the best kind) And the DJ playing at the poolside was really cool. Had some great tunes which kept the vibe bumping and everyone in great spirits. We really loved our stay here - and intend to return and book a villa on our next stay. 5 stars - 'Beach Republic' - thank you for such a wonderful time..

Room Tip: The standard rooms are great.. You can hire a scooter and park it safely downstairs in the garage ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have to start by saying at first I wasn't too sure about this resort to stay at given the wide range of accommodations in Koh Samui after reading the varying reviews on Trip Advisor. But I was so glad to stay here! The staff are all amazing, especially Cristina who made our stay most memorable. The staff are very friendly and approachable, There are so many great staff whose names I'd like to mention but there's not enough space.

Rooms are rated as 4 star on many sites, I'd personally rate them as 4.5 star. The kitchenette makes a handy addition to the generous room sizes. Bathrooms and amenities are 5 star, beds are great but a bit soft for my personal preference.

The atmosphere and ambience makes this a great place to stay. One of my worries was that this place would be targeted at drinkers and party goers in their 20's, but this is not the case. There were a wide range of groups including some families with young children and grandparents all enjoying the resort during our stay.

The music is absolutely sublime. Dj Dan has a great talent, and his music is not loud and rowdy - it is perfect for the sunsets.

As non-drinkers my group enjoyed the food and cooking class too. The spa was exceptional by Thailand standards which are usually very high in upper end resorts - professional spa therapists who knew their job well, far better than the amateurs found in beach huts. Breakfast was not huge, but was still larger than most western upper end hotels I've stayed at.

The location and shuttle bus make this the perfect place to stay. We did go to Chaweng once, but regretted the rowdiness. Lamai was lovely and fitted our needs well.

The staff here go above and beyond, always with a smile on their face.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have ocean views, villas may be good value for groups. Worth asking for a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamiheat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in a one bedroom modern pool villa. The villa was spacious with a good size pool and sitting area and a very comfortable bed. The only suggestion I would make regarding the Villa would be updating the blinds to block-out curtains, we were woken by the sun most mornings. We had days lazing by our pool, listening to tunes and drinking cocktails.

The highlight of this resort is most definately the staff. From the gardner who greeted us with a bow and huge smile each morning to the wait staff, Apple, Terry, Tuan and the very impressive Claire the restuarant manager. Claire you made our trip most enjoyable and our demands were always met with a smile. I also watched the way you treated the staff, with grace and politness and this made an impression on us. You understand service and people.

This resort is a true four star resort with a few added extras. We loved Dj Dan's house tracks during the day, he was also a great guy eager to please and have a chat with his crowd.

New Years was superb. A great buffet spread, fire dancers and an exceptional display of fireworks from the resort and around the Island.

We loved the location of the resort, on previous stays we have stayed in Chaweng but its really getting very busy and crazy there. We had everything we needed at the resort, we especially enjoyed the tapas menu for grazing throughout the day. We also had some great dinners in the restuarant.

A great stay. Thanks again to all the wonderful staff.

Terrie and Mark - Melbourne

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I was a bit skeptical before arriving because all the reviews were so incredibly positive, so our expectations were quite large. And now we've just arrived home after our 14 days stay over Christmas at The Beach Republic – and what a great stay!
All the staff members are incredible nice, polite and helpful no matter what you ask for, you really feel they are there for you - with a huge smile.
The rooms we stayed in, Club suite (we had 4 rooms in total for the family, age 17-74) was spacious, modern, clean, bright and well equipped and with a nice balcony that was big enough to seat at least 6 people.
The bed was the best hotel bed I have slept in ever. There were quilts, not blankets, and they even had a special pillow menu so you can choose a pillow that fits especially for you. Every night the turndown service delivered "Todays Manifest" and a treat to the room – brilliant idea!
From the room we went on a little walkway down to the restaurant, pool and beach area - all clean and beautifully kept.
The location was perfect to us. After our last visit to Koh Samui, we were very sure that we didn't want the noise in the center of Chaweng and Lamai. So we chose The Beach Republic because of the location, a bit out side, but still easy accessible by a 10 min walk (Lamai), free shuttle, taxi or by songtaew.
It feels like The Beach Republic has its own little beach. The beach is not as shallow as Chaweng and central Lamai, and the waves are not as powerful, so it's possible to swim there. I do not understand they who complain about the beach, I think it is nicer than central Chaweng and Lamai! The pool area (two pools) is also very nice and surrounded by various sun beds. From the sun bed you can press a button and then comes the pool staff serving you drinks, food, towels etc. And through out the day the DJ played relaxed music while we dozing in the sun.
They also have an excellent restaurant serving delicious breakfast (loved the breakfast that had plenty to choose from, you must be quite spoilt if you have complaint about that!), lunch, dinner or a snack. They serve all from traditional Thai to international and all with great sucsess.
I think my daughter ate chocolate fondant every day for 2 weeks .... And Sunday Brunch is a must! Even if you are not staying at the hotel, take a trip to try it - remember to book a table in advance.
And not to forget the Christmas Day Traditional Dinner Carvery – excellent food, drinks and nice music from the DJ and the saxophone player.
If I have to come up with anything negative about the The Beach Republic , i think it must be that the gym/fitness room that could do with an upgrade. But for me, the whole stay was a great pleasure and I can recommend anyone to stay at The Beach Republic.
Thank you for making our holiday such a great experience – keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#8 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#10 of 51 in Lamai Beach
434 reviews
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
2.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £60 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing