We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Republic The Residences
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$646
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
US$829
US$689
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sallamai Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky's Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)
US$173
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
543
178
57
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
178
57
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub suitesunday brunch isbedroom penthousedj playingprivate poolhouse musictropical villapillow menukoh samuicoffee machinethe main pool arealarge balconyevery eveningrooms are greatoutdoor showerfantastic staywelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The view from the restaurant over the pool to the sea is beautiful but the DJ at the pool has no idea that most people come to relax. Once he arrived we left the pool area which was a shame because we had been traveling for months and just wanted to relax not listen to his load music. The quiet, background music the hotel provided was delightful. We couldn't see the need for the DJ in the afternoons. We arrived at the hotel at 12:30pm and our room wasn't ready. No problem we'll wait at the pool which was a not located near the hotel. By 2:30 we were in the restaurant ordering one club sandwich and 2 cokes while still waiting the room to be readied. That lunch cost us $25 AUD for a sandwich and 2 glasses of coke which was mostly ice! That experience put an end to us eating at the hotel. We found a cheap, gorgeous restaurant right next door. At 3pm the room was ready so we walked back up the road to the hotel section. There were no towels in the room nor had the rubbish bins been emptied from the last guests so what they did while we were waiting in the heat and noise at the pool we have no idea.
The staff were friendly and helpful. While the beach looks lovely you can't swim because it is so shallow. if you want to walk in the water take some wading shoes or reef sandles. Breakfast was pleasant but no more than you expect from any beach resort. After a rocky start we warmed to the hotel after a while but we won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Although the room is very spacious, Room 315 has no places to put your belongings in the bathroom. Our toiletries had to be placed on the floor. Be prepared to walk a down the road to the breakfast restaurant and the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barcelonaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachRepublicGM, Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The DJ that we have most afternoons is extremely popular with almost all of our guests - we are a beach club resort and attract a hip and young-at-heart mix of both younger and older couples (we have retired couples who visit us every year!), and also families who greatly enjoy the chilled ambience - we are sorry if this is not what you were looking for. We apologise that your room was not ready at the 2pm check in time - we were extremely busy with check ins that particular day, and I have spoken with house keeping and I apologise sincerely on their behalf regarding the missing towels and overlooked emptying of the waste paper bin. Our breakfast usually receives excellent reviews and is very extensive. It sounds like you were looking for more mainstream type of hotel, and am sorry that despite our excellent team and well appointed rooms that we weren’t the right place for your visit to Samui. I hope you will give us another chance at some point, or at least come back to try our famous Sunday Sessions with the award winning Sunday brunch buffet spread.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I don't know where to start with how amazing this place is.
I got Married at the Beach Republic on the 28.07.2014 and it was everything I had dreamed and more.
The staff are amazing the attention to detail outstanding and the property a slice of heaven.
I cannot wait for a return visit to Beach Republic.
To Julie and Staff, thank you for an amazing wedding, meals, drinks, service, cleaning and everything else you did for us.
HIGHLY RECOMENDED STAY!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked the 4 bed villa for a family holiday and had the most relaxing week imaginable. So many positives to highlight. Suffice to say it was hard to leave.....

The Villa: was so spacious for the five of us. Spotlessly clean with superbly comfortable beds and great pillows (my particular bug bear - in fact there is a "menu" of different pillows in case you aren't happy with the ones you have!) We had our own pool which we didn't use as much as we should as spent most of the day at the Beach Club. Did have a few midnight swims accompanied by the sound of crickets and geckos after dinner out. Air con in the room was excellent. Didn't use the kitchen area as this is a holiday and refused to cook!! Plenty of complimentary bottled water supplied every day. A nice touch.

The Pool: We spent the majority of our holiday poolside as the beds were so comfortable. Never had trouble getting one of the "salas" which are bigger than my bed at home and provide lovely shade. Drinks service is at the touch of a button - and the pool/bar staff are efficient, friendly, relaxed and not intrusive. Lovely big beach towels provided every day. The water in the pools was rather warm but not as warm as the sea - but the pool shower is refreshing! Our teenage kids particularly loved the poolside DJ who played every afternoon Tues-Sun. Hard to please teenagers sometimes but they rated the music!

The restaurant: We ate in house a lot, even though the staff are very good at recommending other places nearby to go and eat. Menu is diverse and perfect for a family who all like different things. Didn't have one "dud" meal all week. And the best part of all - there is Rose from Provence and plenty of it!

The Staff: wonderful all round. Friendly, helpful, polite and as previously mentioned not intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble and they can book pretty much anything for you from the hotel. We had a small crash in our hire car on a trip round the island - Beach Republic were incredible; sending out two members of staff who arrived at the scene within 10 minutes to help us sort everything out with drivers, insurance people etc. They stayed with us for the whole 2 hours it took to get it all sorted.

The Spa: we all tried it and all loved it. Very spoiling and relaxing.

There are plenty of special mentions but worried will miss someone. Julie, Nong, Apple, Phu, Peem, May, Christina to name but a few. You made our holiday very special and we can't thank you enough.

Room Tip: The villas are lovely. Very spacious with own pools. And very short walk to the pool/beach. Did have a peek in the Penthouse apartment too which was AMAZING!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsMac65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

During my latest travels to Thailand as a special treat for the girls i booked 03 nights in a pool villa at Beach Republic.
We were greated by a very efficient reception and a nice cold drink befor being shown to our very own pool villa , well of course it was as excpected, clean and spacious with a fantastic outdoor shower and well stocked mini bar.
The front of the resort was well maintained and plenty of different areas to lounge or sit, with a large pool.
Breakfast was an occasion, and had plenty of good quality choice with eggs to order.
My only fault with the Republic is the size, and quantity of the food choices more so any snacks you order by the pool .
What i did appreciate was the poolside vibes being played out by their resident dj , and how well the staff worked more so how friendly they were even away from the pool area.
Their is a nice little restaurant next door to the right that is good value for money, and serves up large dishes for those that enjoy good food in plenty.

Room Tip: splash out and enjoy your own pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mountaindweller m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just back from a one week stay at Beach Republic. On arrival we initially had our doubts. The entrance is far from grand, up a small dirt road off of the main island highway. The lobby at check in was very small. But after seeing our beautiful villa complete with pool just a few feet from the bed (nothing like rolling out of bed into your own pool in the morning!) and after seeing the amazing setting of the beach club, we were hooked.

The beach club area is beautiful, looking out over a picturesque beach. The atmosphere at the club is very relaxed and the food was great. True, you will spend more than at a standalone restaurant outside of the resort, but the prices are still reasonable. The water in front of the beach club is not very deep - we walked 10 minutes South to a better swimming area. Still, other guests were swimming in the ocean in front of the club.

The staff were always friendly and wiling to go the extra mile. Thank you for everything Lek!

The villa was outstanding although a few extra touches would have been nice including iron and ironing board in the unit. (They were available from housekeeping).

Overall a very unique and original resort. We will be back!

Room Tip: Penthouses and villas are nicest. Club suites are decent value for money.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews