We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of our life”
Review of Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Dear readers,

I stayed her in the December of 2010, christmas until new years eve. And we came back in Januari of 2011 in the same holiday. That is for a reason! And I will explain you why.

We arrived very exhausted from Cambodia, we were already traveling for like a month had a lot of expierce with differt hotels and hostels. We know what we could expect! this was different because of the relaxed athmosphere, friendly staff en great service was noticable at the very beginning. The owner came directly to us after checking in. Showing us around the place telling what we can and should do in the area. Great tips and advice what you follow when you are there. We also met a other owner of the place a realy friendly and outgoing guy who will do everything to make you stay as comfortable as possible, Didn't see this before in my whole trip trough Asia. Maybe it's because the owners are not locals, but more western orientated? you tell me? The staff is really open trying to connect with you and telling you about their culture, if you are open for that. We went with on of the staff members on is day on a road trip to the places you had to see when you're there. If you will ever read this thank you for this you are a great guy!

The bar was most of the time crowded with a lot of people. Nice place to meet other people if you are traveling alone. Not just the people from the resort came there but also other people from others resorts, just because of the relaxing en friendly athmosphere! They have a great cook over there his english is not up to the max but is willing to try. If you don't feel like eating thai food, no problem! Great pizza's by the way;)


The beach is next to the bar.. A really relaxing beach not that crowded so you can pick your own spot. same as the swiming pool. But why swim in the swimming pool if you got a great sea just in front of you? For people with little children its a great and safe place to let them swim.

If you want to explore the island, they have scooters for rent. If you want to do same kind of trips first ask te owners or one of the staff members what are normal prices and good organisators to go top.

The room we had was comfortable with a nice flat screen and to many channels. But on the other hand why do you need a screen if you got the the best nature and culture al around you. I've given the sleep quality not to the max because we had a room wich the airco made a crazy noise. When we told it to the administration they were so kind to give us a another room. But honest is honest. I also have putten the selection of Room Service empty because we've never used it. I'm not even sure if it is possible?

We left this place to travel to other countries. But after a while we were tired and felt like just chilling and relaxing for the end of the holiday. That's why we want back to this place and just chilled out. You know the commen sentence:"It's never as fun as the first time". I warned myself for this. I this case it wasn't true. We again had the time of over life but more in a relaxing setting, chilling at the beach drinking some beers, you know what I mean.

Conclusion: Price compared in what you get is more than great, great place to stay for short long stay. Great staff . And the owners know how to make it comfortable for the travellers. At the end that is the only thing you need when you on holiday

All the best!

Room Tip: Supirior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafoxnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed there for a week in January. Rooms were good, and staff first class. Even though we mover to stay at a different resort, we kept returning for food and the live music on Tuesday and Friday.
We were always very welcome. The manager (Remco) was particually good, and very hard working. Would recommend it to anyone. We will be back in January!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caravandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed here for 6days after initially planning to stay 2nights. It isn't where people go out but you can walk 10mins across the beach to get to Swing Bar etc which is a lot of fun. The staff were so helpful here and did everything to make you feel comfortable. The restaurant is amazing and once a week they have live music which is fun. The pool is great and leads right on to the beach. Although the rooms are fairly basic, it had everything we needed and fan worked well so slept well! All in all I would highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I am a regular to Samui since 1995 and the Island has grown and developed in a great way. This was my first stay at Samui Beach Resort and it will not be the last.
The staff were attentive, spoke great English and despite us being demanding customers served us with a smil from start to finish.
I expect a lot from my accomodation as I value my time away from Bangkok dearly. Samui Beach resort is the type of place that cannot normally be found. The most perfect part of Lamai beach with the best value and quality food. It even has a swimming pool for that extra luxury. All of this at Budget prices?? There is nowhere else to stay in Samui.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemdealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in august and found it okay. The rooms are huge (which was really amazing), the bathroom is okay, there isnt a mini bar but the staff were always kind and always willing to help.
Its right beside the beach which was really great and about 20 minute walk to the bars. We found walking along the beach got there quicker and as the beach is so lovely, it was a gorgeous walk. It isnt an amazing hotel but there wasn't anything awful about it. Just pretty average!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katieanderson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I have stayed on Samui on many occasions and finally found the perfect hide away. It's a 10 minute walk to Lamai centre, or you can rent a cheap motorbike. But you don't really have to go out. Massageparlour ,7-eleven and many stores arround the corner also. Free wifi was just installed. Every Tuesday there is a life band playing, with a delicious BBQ overlooking the tropical white sand beach of Samui. The Bungalow where i stayed in was cleaned every day and even had a 42 INC tv on the wall. The restaurant food was real good and there are many good restauants in the nearby area. I was there in Low season but i think when i return it will be high seison so i booked a bungalow allready for that time because i think they will be fully booked. Yves and Remco (the owners) are 2 decent guys who will do all to help you. Thanks samui beach resort!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonieandAree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights. The bungalow was clean and had hot water, but it is divided into two rooms and the walls are paper thin, enabling you to hear anything and everything taking place in the room next to you. The beds are quite hard so not the best for sleeping, but the rooms were clean and we were given fresh towels when asked.

The "resort" is run-down and doesn't look like the pamphlets that are given out. The restaurant area has been updated, but the area around the pool isn't as nice. The pool has a lot of chemicals in it (you can feel it on your skin) - but the beach is really nice and the water was beautiful. It's a 10 minute walk from the grandfather/grandmother rock.

The staff are all very nice, except the owner who seems like a bit of a jerk. It is a bit of a hike to the main part of Lamai if you take the road, it;s shorter if you walk on the beach. It's much quieter than Chaweng, so it depends on what you are looking for. For basic place to stay it's OK, but you could probably find something better if you looked around.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janermacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#41 of 51 in Lamai Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Resort

Address: 124/11 Moo 3 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £17 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing