We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort on the Lamai Beach”
Review of Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Austrian Alps, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Resort on the Lamai Beach”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

the Samui Beach Resort is a very lovely Resort directly on the lamai Beach.nearby some Restaurants and Shops ,to the Lamai Center about 15 to 20 min.walk on the beach.the beach very pretty,next to the rock hin ta and hin yai.the gardens of the Resort very nice,with beautyful trees,flowers and statues.the rezeptionists ,also the wife of the owner are very nice and John ,the Manager is just an angel.he is the one,making you feel just very good,anything you Need,he will help.I can recommand the Resort.

Room Tip: the rooms pool and beach view are just great,but a bit expensive the other rooms are fine,the very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    145
    53
    21
    29
See reviews for
37
200
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The place is by a very good beach with deep water. Good for swimming.
The room was just as advertised and very comfortable and clean. Despite being furthest away from the beach I loved the pleasant walk each morning through a well tended and decorated garden and various birds singing.

I like the beach restaurant too with good service. Now the pool is very very small but to be honest the sea is so good that I don't think anyone other than children would want to use it.

Here are a few ideas to make the place so much better.
- It would be great to add some ashtrays near the beach beds. And put some sort of a sign for people not to throw trash on the sand (since there is a bin available for that). People, especially when on holiday need to be reminded of such civil requirements.
- Replace the wardrobes at the cheap rooms (the one I have stayed smelled of mould so much that I just kept its door shut throughout my stay. It may just as well be not there. Maybe some shelves should be put up there or something instead.
- The tap on the sink somehow rotated on its own but since it did the job, I didn't feel the need to request repairs.

The place is not at a lively area but there are some good restaurants nearby and if someone would like to socialise, the crowds in Lamai are just 10 minutes away on foot (or a motor taxi can take you there).

The staff was helpful but there is free wifi so you don't much need concierge service.

If I ever visit Koh Samui again, I'd like to stay in this hotel. There isn't false advertising and it is definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a budget property. The rooms are average.
Stay if you are on a tight budget. The receiption is not available after 9pm till next day 8 am. No room service.. However the beach is accesible from hotel and is very peaceful.
You have alot of restaurants outside the hotel. The main Lamai centre which is the buzzing area is 30 minute walk. So if you are wanting to stay at buzzing place look for options near Lamai Center.

Room Tip: Choose the room near to the beach. The premium rooms are beach facing are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We upgraded to a beach front room these were newly opened in December 2013 brilliant room very spacious massive bathroom and a full size fridge freezer ( why I don't know we were not planning on doing a big shop :)
For me what let this hotel down was the lack of friendliness, the reception staff were wonderful and can't fault them but the rest seemed to have a can't be bothered attitude. We stayed 5 nights here our bed sheets were never changed the cleaners were very poor just focusing on mopping our room floor with a beach towel they. Seemed to spend more time on their mobile phones than doing cleaning.
The bar staff didn't have much enthusiasm either, we learnt that the owner was back in Holland which may explain the lack of enthusiasm.
There were some brand new drawer units in our room which I showed the manager left in charge explaining they just need a screw driver to tighten the fixings so the front wouldn't fall off, however this was never seen to, a shame because these rooms are lovely.
The pool was straight outside our front door and well used by us and the view of the ocean, eating here was fine the food was lovely and although on the outskirts of Lamai centre which was only a 20 min walk there were still some great restaurants close by.

All in all we had a lovely stay just feel that it could have been better had the staff been more attentive still gets a very good mark from me though.

Room Tip: Beach Front rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunodjkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great location! We did not even realize that this place was walking distance from Hin Tai and Hin Yai (a top rated sight seeing spot in Koh Samui). So that was a surprise! The pool area is literally ON the beach. There are a lot of food, massage places, and family marts walking distance as well. This beach is nice and quiet and one of the most beautiful places we stayed in Koh Samui. The reason why I gave this place 4 stars is because the rooms were average. There isn't really a full wall separating the bathroom and bedroom so you can practically hear everything going on in the bathroom. But the good thing is, there is a balcony to chill on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLTann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My girlfriend an I checked in at 10:30pm an right from the start the staff were extremely professional but there usual friendly Thai self. All the staff even the front office manager took time out of there day to make sure our stay was going perfect. An I must say it was. From the beautiful rooms to being right on the beach. This is a fantastic hotel for a wonderful price. I work at a 5 star hotel in Canada and the service was right up to par even for being in Thailand and paying roughly 30 dollars a night. I'll recommend this hotel to anyone and will for sure return one day.

Thanks again for allowing are amazing experience in thailand to reach the next level.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdebruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Booked this hotel through a internet site (sorry can't remember which), arrived and was brought to a double room. I had a few issues with the room, which were quickly sorted out - I was immediately upgraded to another room with no questions asked and no excess to pay.
Restaurant food was delicious, beach chairs available and pool. Massage also available on the beach. Staff very friendly, and if you want a more lively crowd just walk down the beach and the crowds will be waiting for you.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms away from restaurant and swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#34 of 50 in Lamai Beach
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Resort

Property: Samui Beach Resort
Address: 124/11 Moo 3 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samui Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing