We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Lamai Wanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lamai Wanta
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lamai Wanta is a good hotel. The location is perfect close to restaurants, bars , shopping. Pool is very nice. The time is was at the hotel they did not have beds at the beach, maybe because of low season.

But for what you get the prices are to expensive. You can get the same for much cheaper in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy1307_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Lamai Wanta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel is located on Lamai beach and only few blocks from the city of Lamai. I stayed in a Garden Deluxe room. The room was plain...white walls, shower only, small TV, but the balcony had a nice bench and table to sit out and enjoy the garden. The pool and beach lounge chairs were right by the beach and provided a great view. The restaurant was not so great. The breakfast was mediocre and the food was overpriced. I'd skip the restaurant and go to the town for meals. The reception desk is not very accommodating for tours...overpriced. However, across the street was a tour vendor who can set you up with your needs. Definitely one of my favorites on Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the beachfront bungalow (#126) for five nights in mid-June. This quiet hotel is located directly on Lamai Beach, and consists of several bungalows (2 of which face onto the beach) and a lodge-like complex of rooms (not on the beach). There is a swimming pool between the bungalows and the sand, and, off to the side, an open sided restaurant that serves as the breakfast area in the morning. The hotel is located about two or three blocks from the main road, where shops, restaurants, pharmacies, markets, ATMs, and tourists are all quite plentiful. The floor of the ocean drops off fairly quickly at Lamai Beach, so it is excellent for actual swimming.

The bedroom and bathroom in our bungalow were spacious, clean, and inviting. Our room featured a comfortable king-sized bed, effective air conditioning, free WiFi, refridgerator, desk and chair, and television. The room was perfect for our needs. No complaints whatsoever.

Hotel staff was very helpful, efficient, and friendly. We set up two island tour activities through the front desk, and transportation to and from the airport was complimentary and timely. Breakfasts, which included eggs cooked to order, juices, local fruit selections, various rolls and cereals, bacon, ham and other items, were good and included in the overall price. Also included were coupons for a free Thai dinner for two and 20% off any meal served in the restaurant. We used both and the food was tasty, the service excellent.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Lamai Wanta.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank California86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Recently stayed a few nights in the Lamai Wanta hotel.
The room was a mosquito-infested dark cave... zero direct sunlight and many flying insects. Other rooms may be much better.
Overall the stay was still nice due to the great location of this hotel directly on the beach and the kind staff.

The good:
*Beachfront location
*Very quite yet still close to many shops and restaurants
*Friendly and mostly helpful staff
*Very good breakfast for a 3 star place with a nice fresh fruit selection. Breakfast restaurant being open to the beach was great.

The bad:
*Room: ground floor without any direct sunlight. Almost no privacy, as the opposite building was very close by. Many mosquitoes in the room. Only comment of the staff was something like "you should get mosquito spray from the 7/11 around the corer". Otherwise the room was clean but felt tired with a small CRT-TV (not that one would really need a TV in Samui) and a noisy fridge
*The beach in this part of Lamai is almost white but the sand is not very fine. No comparison to other beaches in Thailand

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravellerAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the lamai wants for 3 nights - had one of the cheaper rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking a vacant lot -the room was functional with an adjoining shower /toilet - cable tv & safe in room -it did get very bright early so bring nightshades and earplugs (for late night revellers coming home) staff were really nice and very helpful - they do a great breakfast good way to kick off the day -pool is lovely and location of the hotel is awesome -smack bang in lamai 5 min walk to everything -it was value for money for the nights we stayed -was very family orientated but wasn't an issue for couples ..hope this helps !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russrusslovemuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was tipped off by my friend who had previously stayed at the hotel and rather enjoyed his time there. However, I was a bit dissapointed when I was showed to my room. Second floor, room balcony overlooking at another block. I didn't mind, as I wasn't going to spend much time indoors anyway. Room was ok. Furniture was a bit tired. Bedding wasn't changed every day I believe.

Restaraunt is fine, but, I am not sure one will frequent it with so many great eateries just around the corner. I went there on a couple of occasions, just to try it out and then before leaving to use the complimentary discount coupon hotel provided at the check in.

The greatest thing about this hotel is the location. 1 min walk and you're right in the middle of Lamai Beach road with plenty to see around and explore.

All in all, 7 night stay for roughly 17K bhat is a bit too expensive (and no breakfast included). And I agree with one of the reviewers: just when I arrived I saw the sign outside the hotel offering rooms for just as much as 1K bhat per night..Hmm, that would make me think..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlaraZh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at this lovely hotel . close to everything you need . Sumui lovely .weather great and hotel staff wonderful . It suits couples singles and family alike. The only downfull was breakfast was poor and not worth it when you can walk 3 min for better as breakfast cold when I asked for hot. Pool lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 51 in Lamai Beach
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weekender Resort
Weekender Resort
#34 of 51 in Lamai Beach
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Wanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Wanta

Address: 124/264 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £27 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Wanta 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, flowers, smile and momentums of happiness is all about our boutique beach resort “Lamai Wanta Beach Resort”.Located at the main coast of Lamai, at the heart of Koh Samui. Lamai Wanta provides a perfect atmosphere to rejuvenate your soul, reward a floral holiday, recharge your batteries and relax at the most cozy private beach of Lamai Wanta. The Boutique Resorts offer 74 most convenient room on floral theme with plush amenities and spacious size of bed. A floral sunbath, and smile therapies are just a few activity to name about, but lots to see when you are here. Reawaken your freshness of mind with the subtle rhythms of waves softly lapping the pristine aroma of herbs and flower. Enjoy the warmness of hospitality Lamai Wanta Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lamai Wanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Wanta Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Wanta Beach
Lamai Wanta Hotel Beach
Lamai Wanta Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing