We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamai Wanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lamai Wanta
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great location to all the restaurants, bars and convenience stores - all within walking distance. Very basic accommodation. Didn't expect more for a 3 star hotel so wasn't disappointed at all. Front desk staff right up to the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. Was happy that they have a safe in the room and hair dryer in the bath. Beach and pool was very clean but do not expect a big swimming pool (it's more for dipping than swimming). Only 2 minus point - breakfast was the same every morning and the water flowing into the drain during shower was extremely slow that it caused a puddle in the shower area.

Room Tip: If you do not like noises from the nearby bars, get rooms on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    234
    82
    15
    8
See reviews for
92
205
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We recently stayed here as a couple. Our initial feel was - very basic accommodation and we were very disappointed. We were in a standard room which was in need of a good makeover and if you had have given the door a good push you would have easily pushed it down!

We upgraded to a bungalow (or we would have checked out). This was so much better - still no frills, just the basics but the room was large and clean and comfortable. The location is great. The pool looks over the beach so you could sit by the pool and swim in either. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was average. It was (although in the heart of Lamai) quiet at night, as in we did not hear noises from the bars etc.

We wouldn't return there ourselves but would recommend it to people looking for a good location on Lamai Beach with just the basics.

We rented a scooter from directly opposite the resort and had no problems at all when we returned it 5 days later and had our laundry down just opposite the restaurant and it was quick and cheap.

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra and book a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCSUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Amazing beach where u can swim in, just below the hotel's pool. Not in all beaches it's like this. Some have a lot of rocks and shallow water, but not in Lamai Wanta.
Staff is very nice and attentive.
Price is good.
Rooms are good with nice porch/balcony attached to every room.
Right off the main road with nightlife on it, and still it is very quiet here.
Very very recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NivOren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a great location right in the middle of Lamai Beach and a easy 2 minute walk to the main shopping/bar/dinning area. The beach is great for swimming on and nice and clean with not too many vendors. The hotel it self needs to invest in some more beach chairs. The Breakfast at the hotel was average, it was enough to fill a gap but a lack of depth meant that after a couple if days it got very boring, a larger selection of fruits would be a good inexpensive place to start. The accommodation was what you would expect for the price, however I have experienced better accommodation for same price at other Thai locations. If you can afford it the cottages would be the best accommodation option. The staff were very good (Poon) the egg cook in the morning making a effort to greet all dinners in there own language. The cleaning staff maintained the rooms in very good condition. If you are looking for a cheap, clean, hotel in a good location this is it, if you want a top class experience then find somewhere else. Personally I wouldn't return but this is probably more due to the fact that Koh Samui is getting overcrowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed in Lamai Wanta for 4 days in mid August'13. The overall experience was fantastic. Like most reviewers say, the USP of the hotel is the location just at the Lamai beach. For those who are here just for leisure trip would find it quite a comfortable option. Forget stuffing towels/clothes for change or other items - all you need is to go to the pool side and enjoy the pool/beach with a drink or two which you can order from the restaurant just at the right place (next to pool).
The size of the pool can be a minor disappointment for those who prefer pool to sea. Also, the benches near the pool tend to get occupied by noon.
The rooms are decent. Nothing awesome about them but no disappointments there. The villa option might not be a fantastic option as none is actually facing the sea. Did not stay in the villa but I suppose there is not much of a huge difference between normal rooms and villa (other than the obvious differences).
The staff is quite friendly and supportive.
The restaurant is relatively quieter and has good menu. Prices are comparable to the other similar eating places.
There is an option of having Thai massages just next to the hotel which is again a big plus. Rates are comparable.
Overall, had a very nice time staying there and would surely recommend to others.

Room Tip: While going on a leisure holiday to a beach, just ensure that the hotel should be in a closest possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Wanta hotel is located in front of Lamai beach (central zone), 5 minuted by foot to Lamai main street.

The hotel is composed by cottages in the garden. Each cottage is big, clean and confortable with a/c and a big bathroom.
The breakfast is international and very good.
The reastaurant is good (thai and international), located on the beach as well as the pool.
The pool is not big, but very nice and the are around 30/40 beach lounger for the guests.

The hotel zone is quiet and without street noise. The hotel is ideal for youngers, couples and family with children.

In the hotel you can buy the transfer service via minivan to airport (150 bath/person).

Lamai street is not very good: many restaurants and pubs in the area (but around 11 p.m. the are no more people), not very clean and narrow with smog.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davide m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I combed the TripAdvisor reviews carefully before picking a hotel in Koh Samui, and in the end, I got exactly what others said I would at Lamai Wanta: a reasonably-nice hotel right on the beach, a block from the main strip of restaurants and vendors, with a good restaurant. Note, while the pool and restaurant are directly on the beach, none of the actual rooms are, including the bungalows. I really don't see why you'd want to stay in them, as people will be walking by all the time and you simply face a concrete wall that separates the rooming portion of the hotel from the beach. If you're looking for ocean breezes, this may not be the place. Also, there wasn't anything exceptional about the service, although the front-desk staff was friendly enough.

The good news is that Lamai Wanta really is on the beach, and it really is a block from all the action, so you don't have to go far to experience Koh Samui. Furthermore, the restaurant (Coast) is very good. Breakfast was included, and it's a serviceable buffet. Nothing fancy, but good. Lunch and dinner off the menu was excellent. In fact, the food here was at least as good as any restaurant on the main strip that we tried. And the sea view is very nice. They try to push the prix fix menu at dinner, but just ask for the a la carte menu, as it's much cheaper.

Rooms were fine, but yes, we had one at the back of the complex near the street and some parking lots. Luckily, all the windows faced towards the sea (although there was no view). The air conditioning worked well, but the beds were quite hard. A mixed bag overall, but we got a fantastic deal (US$65, which was 1/2 off, I believe) by doing some searches on the travel sites, so it was well worth the price.

A few pointers:
(1) I'm not sure if it's because the hotel has primarily European clientele, but no bar soap is provided, only bath gel. We had to buy our own soap in town. We were definitely the only Americans there when we visited (as well as some of the very few Americans in Koh Samui, by the way).
(2) If you truly want an "oceanside" experience, you should try some of the hotels that are not right in town, but instead are nestled along the cliffs. We saw some nice ones including Rocky's to the south, and Crystal Bay and Coral Cove Chalet to the north. All had more bungalow-style options right on the beach and beautiful views.
(3) And that brings me to my last point - taxis are EXPENSIVE in Koh Samui. Expect to pay about US$1/minute. A trip for the airport cost about 500baht booked through the hotel, but the going rate is actually 700baht (over $20). Getting just to Chaweng would easily cost $12, and if you stay at the hotels I listed above, even getting to Lamai's "downtown" will cost about $7-$10. So if you want the "resort" experience, either stay at your resort, or be willing to pay to get into the various town areas. Many regulars rent mopeds, but I wouldn't recommend that unless you're very comfortable with Thai rules of the road.

Room Tip: Definitely upper floor, unless you have a concern about climbing stairs. People will be walking by y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank termie_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.0 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Wanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Wanta

Property: Lamai Wanta
Address: 124/264 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Wanta 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, flowers, smile and momentums of happiness is all about our boutique beach resort “Lamai Wanta Beach Resort”.Located at the main coast of Lamai, at the heart of Koh Samui. Lamai Wanta provides a perfect atmosphere to rejuvenate your soul, reward a floral holiday, recharge your batteries and relax at the most cozy private beach of Lamai Wanta. The Boutique Resorts offer 74 most convenient room on floral theme with plush amenities and spacious size of bed. A floral sunbath, and smile therapies are just a few activity to name about, but lots to see when you are here. Reawaken your freshness of mind with the subtle rhythms of waves softly lapping the pristine aroma of herbs and flower. Enjoy the warmness of hospitality Lamai Wanta Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lamai Wanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Wanta Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Wanta Beach
Lamai Wanta Hotel Beach
Lamai Wanta Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing