We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do with a bit of renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #49 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could do with a bit of renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Main building is very close to the busy road...so very noisy in the night! Rooms and the restaurant needs renovation! The restaurant and the infinity pool have a great view...This place needs a bit of investment...We changed hotel after 3 days! Went to Coconut beach Resort and we got much better value for less money...and much centre location

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
10
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

At first the hotel seems decent, then you settle in and realize not so much. We were in two different rooms on our two night stay. Found it odd someone would reserve a specific room. The first one was comfortable, albeit with strangely painted concrete walls and what appeared to be blood droplets on the floor (seems as though it was stain from "renovations"). Bed was comfortable and pillow as well. Second room was terrible. Lumpy bed and pillows, no shower curtain and a shower head that sprayed everywhere.

Staff wa accommodating but the language barrier is an issue. Overall the grounds were moderately well kept although the one bathroom by the endless pool, in which the improper drainage on the overlap was turning into a lagoon, was absolutely disgusting. Real bacon at the included breakfast was almost enough to overlook the shortcomings

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is still worth the price. We did have a special price of 1250 THB per night so that helps of course. Most of the rooms needs redecoration. (If not all) The railings on the terrace was in a really dangerous condition and needs immediate replacement. (We stayed in the main building). But the beds are good and Golden Sands is on the quiet side of Lamai, so we had excellent sleep quality. The rooms are clean and the staff welcoming and helpful. There was one thing though. If the cleaners had gone for the day, the front desk was not able to provide extra towels etc. Kind of strange and a management problem if you ask me. For the last 2 days our sink was broken. This happend at night so there was of course no way the front desk could help us since there was no technicians there at that time. He came the next day and "fixed" it. So another day without a sink. We were promised it should be fixed within the next day, but that didn't happen. We were offered a new room, but with only one night left we didn't change. The shower was working :-). It is annoying, but not manageable from our side. Just had to rememeber not to use the sink, otherwise the floor was flooded by the spill water.
The breakfast was OK.
Still there is a magnificant view from the hotel and there was new tiles in the swimmingpool, so there is some redecoration work done .
For sure there is plenty of hotels with better standard, but not with the same price. And if you are out for some luxury, enjoy the happy hours at Ammatarapura just few minutes away on the beach. (Coctails at 90 THB)
Stay there? I am less sure this year, but I still say yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Booked into one of the Chalets - had to move after one night. The room was dirty, practically falling to pieces with daylight coming through holes in the bathroom roof, mouldy, terribly furnished (no cupboards, we had to keep everything in the suitcases).
It was full of mosquitos as it was impossible to block up the holes.
The shower was dirty and cold.
We would have changed hotels but our travelling partners wished to stay. Moved to one of their hotel rooms which was marginally better. Asked for extra pillows, got them only 3 days later after a further 3 requests.
The pool was lovely, unfortunately couldnt stay there as only limited loungers which were claimed by the use of towels from early morning.
Breakfast was OK, but not great.
Excellent access to the beach, the position of the hotel is excellent for shops and restaurants etc.
Good parking facilities.
Pleasant staff but not efficient.
A real shame that this hotel which has such great potential with regard to its position is so let down by its lack of staff training and its very poor and tired rooms.

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PugwashFleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were 2 families who stayed there for 11 nights. The plan was not 11 nights though, but due to full moon party on Ko Pah Ngan there was a change in travel plans. We stayed in the main building on the top floor. We thought that was the best choice when considering privacy and bugs. The space between the building must be the best on whole Lamai beach. The path from the reception down to the beach is surrounded by building on each side. It must be 50-60 meters wide, planted by palm trees. The pool area is really nice and the restaurant is placed just on the beach. (Elevated from the beach though). The rooms are normal sized with an OK bathroom. There is a shower curtain, which is always disgusting, except when it is brand new. The breakfast is adequate, with fresh fruits, eggs in different styles made on your request, cereals and hot Thai food. The staff at breakfast seems to be a little slow. (but nice). The receptionists was very helpful and having late check out was not any problem.
Of course I will recommend this hotel based on the price, location and space between buildings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noord holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We enjoyed the sea view and the pool daily. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff polite and wonderful with our children. Quite and relaxed area in Lamai which you can enjoy with your family. Convieniently located next door to a great and quality massage place(number one massage).

Again great place for a family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#43 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#20 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai House Beach
Lamai House Beach
#40 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Beach Resort

Property: Golden Sand Beach Resort
Address: 124/2 Lamai Beach | Suratthani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Golden Sand Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing