We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - with easy access to beach and city” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #49 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location - with easy access to beach and city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I booked into this "resort" on a walk-in basis in early September (2013). It was low season, so when they quoted me a price of 1,200 baht, I was able to negotiate down to 1,000 baht without any problem (without breakfast). I was impressed with the location. It was on the street paralleling the beach in Lamai, and access to the beach was perfect. So, the location has the best of both worlds, the entertainment/shopping of Lamai, plus right on the beach.
The reception area was very nice and the check-in attendant was very helpful and courteous.
The room I got was nice and clean, however the bathroom was quite disappointing. Not exactly the cleanest, and the shower was a bit dated. Furthermore, I believe the separation in the bathroom with the adjoining bathroom was paper thin. Every single noise by the guests in the next room could be heard (and I assume they heard every single noise I made!). It made things quite uncomfortable.
Two other things about the room are worth mentioning. There is no safe in the room, meaning you have to deal with the inconvenience of running to the reception to store your passport, cash, etc. Also, the air-conditioning unit did not have a remote control unit. All other resorts I stayed at in the Thai islands had a remote control for the a/c. It just made things inconvenient when waking up in the middle of the night and I was freezing...
Other than this, the pool is very good, overlooking the beach. And the beach is just steps away.
So, if you can deal with the inconveniences mentioned above, then it is a great location to enjoy Lamai...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
10
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Having published quite a few reviews on trip advisor I have been lucky enough to have never had to rate a hotel as terrible before, until now. We booked this hotel for one night as a problem with a previous hotel meant we needed somewhere to stay at short notice, upon arriving at the hotel the check in area / reception is nice enough, open area and we were shown our room quite quickly. We paid for a beach bungalow which upon entering clearly needed renovating, there are bugs everywhere, the tv does not work properly, very little storage and the bathroom is the worst I have ever seen in a hotel, the shower did not have a fixing meaning we needed to hold it when we wanted to use it, the whole bathroom area was so unclean I did not even want to use the toilet. Want luxuries in the room like a safe or a fridge? Well forget the safe they don't provide them and as for the fridge... Again not cleaned for a long time.

Overall the room was shabby and badly cleaned, this place could be made into such a nice hotel but urgently needs renovating.

Onto the restaurant, if you want to visit a stray cat sanctuary this is the place to go. Cats everywhere.. On the floor looking for scraps, climbing over the chairs and tables and sleeping on chairs too. Any type of cat is available for viewing here... Male, female, healthy, sick, pregnant... Really should not be the case in a restaurant or food Consumption premises.

The best part of the hotel is the pool, it is the only modern aspect of the hotel and although not very big did look reasonably clean ( though I did not chance it). The hotel is ideally situated right on the beach but... This is nowhere near the best beach to be on.. Go further up the island and you will find far better beaches.

Overall this gets the title of the worst hotel I have stayed at. If this was a hotel in the UK it would be lucky to get one star. I would recommend staying elsewhere ( unless you like dirty rooms and cats). One night was enough for us.

I would go on to explain about the lizard in the bedroom Which kept me up for 5 hours thinking it was going to land on my head during me sleeping.. But I'm sure by now you will have got the jist of my thoughts on the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0wz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Main building is very close to the busy road...so very noisy in the night! Rooms and the restaurant needs renovation! The restaurant and the infinity pool have a great view...This place needs a bit of investment...We changed hotel after 3 days! Went to Coconut beach Resort and we got much better value for less money...and much centre location

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

At first the hotel seems decent, then you settle in and realize not so much. We were in two different rooms on our two night stay. Found it odd someone would reserve a specific room. The first one was comfortable, albeit with strangely painted concrete walls and what appeared to be blood droplets on the floor (seems as though it was stain from "renovations"). Bed was comfortable and pillow as well. Second room was terrible. Lumpy bed and pillows, no shower curtain and a shower head that sprayed everywhere.

Staff wa accommodating but the language barrier is an issue. Overall the grounds were moderately well kept although the one bathroom by the endless pool, in which the improper drainage on the overlap was turning into a lagoon, was absolutely disgusting. Real bacon at the included breakfast was almost enough to overlook the shortcomings

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is still worth the price. We did have a special price of 1250 THB per night so that helps of course. Most of the rooms needs redecoration. (If not all) The railings on the terrace was in a really dangerous condition and needs immediate replacement. (We stayed in the main building). But the beds are good and Golden Sands is on the quiet side of Lamai, so we had excellent sleep quality. The rooms are clean and the staff welcoming and helpful. There was one thing though. If the cleaners had gone for the day, the front desk was not able to provide extra towels etc. Kind of strange and a management problem if you ask me. For the last 2 days our sink was broken. This happend at night so there was of course no way the front desk could help us since there was no technicians there at that time. He came the next day and "fixed" it. So another day without a sink. We were promised it should be fixed within the next day, but that didn't happen. We were offered a new room, but with only one night left we didn't change. The shower was working :-). It is annoying, but not manageable from our side. Just had to rememeber not to use the sink, otherwise the floor was flooded by the spill water.
The breakfast was OK.
Still there is a magnificant view from the hotel and there was new tiles in the swimmingpool, so there is some redecoration work done .
For sure there is plenty of hotels with better standard, but not with the same price. And if you are out for some luxury, enjoy the happy hours at Ammatarapura just few minutes away on the beach. (Coctails at 90 THB)
Stay there? I am less sure this year, but I still say yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Booked into one of the Chalets - had to move after one night. The room was dirty, practically falling to pieces with daylight coming through holes in the bathroom roof, mouldy, terribly furnished (no cupboards, we had to keep everything in the suitcases).
It was full of mosquitos as it was impossible to block up the holes.
The shower was dirty and cold.
We would have changed hotels but our travelling partners wished to stay. Moved to one of their hotel rooms which was marginally better. Asked for extra pillows, got them only 3 days later after a further 3 requests.
The pool was lovely, unfortunately couldnt stay there as only limited loungers which were claimed by the use of towels from early morning.
Breakfast was OK, but not great.
Excellent access to the beach, the position of the hotel is excellent for shops and restaurants etc.
Good parking facilities.
Pleasant staff but not efficient.
A real shame that this hotel which has such great potential with regard to its position is so let down by its lack of staff training and its very poor and tired rooms.

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PugwashFleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were 2 families who stayed there for 11 nights. The plan was not 11 nights though, but due to full moon party on Ko Pah Ngan there was a change in travel plans. We stayed in the main building on the top floor. We thought that was the best choice when considering privacy and bugs. The space between the building must be the best on whole Lamai beach. The path from the reception down to the beach is surrounded by building on each side. It must be 50-60 meters wide, planted by palm trees. The pool area is really nice and the restaurant is placed just on the beach. (Elevated from the beach though). The rooms are normal sized with an OK bathroom. There is a shower curtain, which is always disgusting, except when it is brand new. The breakfast is adequate, with fresh fruits, eggs in different styles made on your request, cereals and hot Thai food. The staff at breakfast seems to be a little slow. (but nice). The receptionists was very helpful and having late check out was not any problem.
Of course I will recommend this hotel based on the price, location and space between buildings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#43 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai House Beach
Lamai House Beach
#40 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Beach Resort

Property: Golden Sand Beach Resort
Address: 124/2 Lamai Beach | Suratthani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Golden Sand Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing