We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine if you're just sleeping there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Searine Samui Boutique Resort
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just fine if you're just sleeping there”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was a fine hotel for us to sleep, shower, and eat. Like everyone's been complaining about it is on the other side of the main road, the beach being on the other side, but you're getting an awesome deal for the villas, and you're away from all the noise of the parties. If you can hear the traffic from the villas then it sucks to be you. We heard nothing. Decide what's more important to you, but don't complain about your own decision. If you stay here you should probably get a motorbike or be prepared to take taxis. The resort is also on a hill so you may want to request a villa closer to reception. The restaurant is boss and the pool is alright. Though they don't keep alcohol at the swim-up bar, you can easily flag them at the restaurant and they'll bring everything to you. If you plan on staying at the hotel all day, I don't know why you would do such a thing, you will get bored. The only thing I found annoying was that you have to sign-in and out for a towel at reception each time. Otherwise, Nina at reception is very helpful and if you're nice she will go above and beyond to get you what you need. If you plan on walking down to the beach and strip of bars and restaurants it's approximately 15-minutes.

AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, I don't know why it says "formerly Serene Hill Resort", but I was just there for the first two weeks of April 2014 and it's definitely STILL "Serene Hill Resort". DO NOT make this mistake and look up "Searine Samui" on Google maps when going there. There sign still reads "Serene Hill Resort" and using "Searine" will take you somewhere else. You will be annoyed, and sweaty. Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    38
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
10
40
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The rooms were pretty OK. The staff acted as if they were prison guards and the guests convicted prisoners. Extremely ignorant and unhelpful behavior. The place do have potential despite the location, and could be quiet pleasant if it was rehabilitated and better maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaPn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBJB1967, General Manager at Searine Samui Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear JoaPn,
Greeting from Searine Samui Boutique Resort,
Thanks for sharing your experiences about your stay with us. I reply your review as we are the new Management team who really focus and take action all the guests feedback to ensure that all the problems are fixed. We are happy to hear that you love our room. It is old but with our care and maintenance it keep the condition of wood look good.
The most important update that I want to inform is the problem of staff attitude and behavior re totally improve. With our new Management team, we have regularly done the services mind training, attitude, and customer care. We have staff who can speak English, French and German to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and we can fix any challenges during the guests stay with us.
JoaPn, please give us another chance to prove that the experiences that you have met last time is disappeared.
Please contact me directly if you have any plan and time to Koh Samui again.

Best regards,

Narongchai Roipila ( J J)

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Soham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I booked a deluxe room which turned out being a very basic room and right at the top of the resort. The resort is situated on a hillside and the road up to the room is very steep. There are rooms lower down so if you don't like hiking up a steep hill sides best not book a deluxe room. The pool was good but loses the sunlight around 4pm because of the hill. My biggest gripe is the photos shown on websites. These must be several years old as it looks like nothing has been done to maintain the resort since, which is a shame. For instance the photos show a poolside bar which is now non-existent. The wifi was awful at the top of the hill and not much better nearer reception. It took me 5 days to get any connection and then it was so poor it was near enough unusable. On the plus side the staff were very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the bottom of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Rooms OK and hotel clean and nice, sea view (very very far!) from the breakfast table

BUT:
- Directly on the main road of the Island: noise noise noise
- No real curtains: You wake up with the sun (if the road didn't wake you up already
- 10 minutes walking to city center and 15 from the beach.
- Few people from the staff were nice (the other were horrible!!!!)

Lamai is nice but Chaweng is way better, so we changed of hotel and went to Evergreen hotel in Chaweng, way better value for money!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel, and if you do, ask to be as far as posible from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinelg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A lot of false advertising, rude staff, not so good food, and the service is very slow and don't expect your room to be ready on time either. Very steep walks to you room also.

They advertise there is a swim up bar, FALSE! There is no swim up bar at all, and you will be waiting about 15 minutes for a cocktail!

They also advertise that it is a Resort and Spa, FALSE! There is no spa at all!

We were welcomed with an hour delay for our room, that was after we were taken to our rooms and they were still dirty from previous guests.

I personally like to sleep in a dark room, but they had white curtains that didn't meet, so the sun would be shine in early in the morning..

Room Tip: Get a room near reception so you don't have to hike up a hill everyday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBJB1967, General Manager at Searine Samui Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Sarah S,
Thanks for your feedback about Serine Samui Boutique Resort. It is long time feedback but still important for us to focus and keep update our reader.
Now new management team are in placed, let me confirm the information about the points that you mentions
* Rude staff, this point is fixed. Our staff are very nice and friendly as we have regular training in house about services standard and attitude.
* Bar in the pool is there, they close for a while during you stay and we start to open now with daily happy hour for our customer round the pool. We have new bartender person who are expert for his job to take care and serve. ( Mr. Bon)
* The Spa business is closed with some internal reason, however now we have set up the Thai Massage, Oil massage, Foot massage, Head Shoulder, Back Massages for our guests activities.
* The white curtain is our design concept, however if some of our guests feel uncomfortable we can provide another dark curtain temporarily.

Sarah S, thanks again for your value feedback, if you want to give us another chance to show how our hotel improve, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Narongchai Roipila ( J J )

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a good value mid range hillside resort. Not sure where the Spa bit comes in as I didn't see much evidence of this. The pool is fantastic, big with well kept pretty garden area and not over chlorinated. We stayed in a basic room so I can't comment on the cabins although they did look really nice. The room was very big and clean. It could do with some modernization TV, decor etc but it was clean and functional so if you aren't a total interiors snob like me you will be just fine. Fridge and basic mini bar are always a good thing and often overlooked but not here. Staff are indeed very nice if not very well informed. Didn't eat here food looked bland but can recommend a fabulous french bakery just 5 minutes on a bike or car called La Fabrique. Excellent breakfast and coffee.

Room Tip: The hill is steep so yes book a lower room if its in your budget and the wooden villas certainly loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mywelltraveledfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I have stayed here several times, last time in April. So obviously I like it... but I appreciate it may not suit everyone. Unless you have good legs or need exercise, ask for a room on the lower part as slope is quite steep. Good value for money, breakfasts so-so, staff very friendly. Nice pool. Very green with some interesting insect life. Chances are you will have the place pretty much to yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#36 of 50 in Lamai Beach
221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
381 reviews
1.9 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
199 reviews
2.3 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Lamai Beach
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searine Samui Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searine Samui Boutique Resort

Property: Searine Samui Boutique Resort
Address: 127/60 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Serenehill Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Searine Samui Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Searine Boutique Resort on Koh Samui is situated on a hill with great views of the ocean, while only 10min walk from Lamai's famous beaches. Our villas are made from teak wood and surrounded by beautiful landscapes, trees and gardens that shall give you the tropical jungle sense. Amidst this amazing scenery there's an elevated roundly-shaped swimming pool with waterfalls. The staff is always ready and happy to serve you with a smile! Enjoy staying with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Searine Samui Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hill Hotel Koh Samui
Searine Samui Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing