We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Searine Samui Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Searine Samui Boutique Resort
London
1 review
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Hotel is in nice setting away from main resort up in hillside.
Only a 10 min walk to the resort though.
Resort itself is Lamai - not great - centre of the 'girly bars' and noisy at night. Beach ok but not very clean. Wouldn't recommend it at all.
Back to the hotel
Pool amazing - large and beautiful, and wooden villas also great.
Staff friendly
rooms clean and comfy.
couple of things to note - when we were there the restaurant wasn't as per the website description - no sign of head chef and his signature dish - very basic cooking done by hotel staff and menu - although nice - not extensive-Burgers, sandwiches and pad thai and green curry was about all you could get.
Breakfast very basic but ok. and again although menu not extensive what they did cook was good.
Had a huge cocktail list but the only spirit they actually had was white rum so couldn't get most of them.
The poolside bar was closed and some of the sunbeds stacked up there so obviously closed for some time.

Can't comment on spa as didn't use it - prices expensive compared with rest of massages etc offered throughout Thailand - BUT - not expensive when compared to the UK.

Having said all that we had a very good rate the wooden villas on special offer when we were there - so worked out at £16 per night for the villa!
And not many people there so had pool virtually to ourselves for the 5 days we were there.
Would we go back again? - Probably not as we've been there and done it and we didn't like the resort - but if need a couple of nights in Koi Samui - then go for it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    38
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
9
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bad kissingen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We were a group of 5 people and we loved to stay at Serene Hill. We even extended four days because of the great landscape the hotel is located. The staff always was very friendly and helpful. They even did all the telephone calls for us to rebook flights and hotel because of our extension. They upgraded us from luxury room to wodden villa at no extra cost. Well the way up to the rooms is steep but using the stairs we could live with. People not in good shape will have problems getting up there. The breakfast is like others wrote already some kind of poor because they have only 4 choices on the menue. But asking for different breakfast you got it the next day. Free taxi service was available at all times until 10 o'clock at night. The rooms were clean and beautiful. So was the pool. We will be there again next year. Wonderful place!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enigma51hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I spent almost two weeks at the serene hill hotel in Koh samui. I booked the hotel trhough the internet. I was impressed, enchanted by this hotel for many reasons.. The nature and lush vegetation, the design and furniture of the rooms, the lovely swimming pool and the price. The hotel is located just outside lamai strip (10 mn walking), therefore the prices are much lower than the hotels located near or on the beach. The bungalows are quite large with lovely furniture, a balcony and if you choose the right one, some offer magnificent views. There is no catle or coffee/tea offered in the room. However beware that as its name indicates, the bungalows are built on the hillside which means for most of them literally climbing to your room.
The downsides are 1) the SPA hugely overpriced and not all that charming and 2) the breakfast which is not very interesting (4 menu sets with slight variations on the same theme).
Unfortunately all this serenity was disrupted by a theft. The hotel staff stole USD 1,000 while moving our luggages to change rooms. The management was not helpful at all. Hotel staff was 'interrogated', watever that means. I probably should have reported this incident myself at the police station, but I did not do it. I would have happily gone back there again and again as I still believe it is a wonderful deal, but I probably never will. I can only recommend to those who wish to stay there to bring as cah or valuables as possible.It seems the same incident happened again, after mine...

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelbee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We staid at Serene Hill for 5 nights and it was a truly blissful experience. Our balcony had a magnificent view over Lamai and the sea. The villa was beautifully decorated in traditional Lanna style teakwood architecture. Everything was spotless clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff at the Hotels was very friendly and helpful and the spa treatments were fantastic and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaXi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

The Serene Hill resort is beautiful. The rooms and the views are stunning; the infinity pool is wonderful, and the service fantastic.

The resort is slightly away from the main strip, but the hotel run a shuttle service to transport you right into the heart of Lamai.

I originallly stayed for one night in Chaweng, in an over-priced, dirty, basic room - and then found Serene Hill on latestays.com for 1000bht per night! It was pure luxury at a low, low price. I think I was the only person staying in the resort - which is a shame as it is a truly lovely place to stay.

One thing though - some parts of the resort are steep! Great if you are trying to stay in shape, not so great if you have problems walking.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennynumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

Serene Hill Resort is a great property for those, who seek a peaceful and quiet property to relax and enjoy Thai holiday. It's a bit aside, but when looking for a bargain and an upgraded standard, you will not regret it.

Me and my wife had a Wooden Villa for 9 nights (we planned originally 7 but have extended!). We booked via sawadee.com. Although we paid a bit more for a villa than for a single room we never regreted it any second. The villa had a sea view from the inside and the balcony, was clean and spacious. The bathroom was adoring, constructed in a way that taking a shower you felt like you're in the garden. Privacy guaranteed, no worries.

The whole resort is splendid, located in a carefully kept garden. Their images at website don't lie. They have a spa with massages and other curement, we did not use it however.

You have to be aware that the property is located a little bit away from the center of Lamai Beach town and villas are built on a hill. If you do mind walking up, the reception arranges for you a trolley-drive in just few minutes, any time of day or nite. The staff in general is very nice and smiling and paying most attention to any need of a customer. Mr Zin who took care of the guests at the time was just perfect, we also met and takled few times to the owner, who was nice and welcoming as well! We ordered a scooter to drive around the island several times via reception, it was cheap and comfortable. Also we used their support with a one-day cruise to Angthong National Park (a must when on Koh Samui!) arrangement. Hotel offers airport pick-up for free, you just share the flight date and nbr and they are there for you. It takes about 40 minutes from the airport to Serene Hill, by an air-con SUV.

We'd also strongly recommend the restaurant at the hotel. The food was absolutely delicious, the chef wanted to meet any of our demand, sea-food/fish were always fresh and tasty, oriental soups were an extasy, they even bought a shark for me when I asked them if they had one in the menu (they didn't). I had the shark the next day :)

  • Liked — Standard of the villa. Food! Politeness and care of the staff. Pool.
  • Disliked — The steep walk was an issue after a large Thai dinner :)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Thai House Resort
Grand Thai House Resort
#20 of 45 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bill Resort
Bill Resort
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.3 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lamai Bay View Resort
Lamai Bay View Resort
#19 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searine Samui Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searine Samui Boutique Resort

Property: Searine Samui Boutique Resort
Address: 127/60 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Serenehill Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Searine Samui Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is situated on the mountain with great view of the ocean. Our resort comes with full spa facilities with over 30 treatments at affordable prices. We have been awarded the best spa by the department of health. All our villas are made from teak wood, and surrounded by beautiful landscapes and trees. We have a huge swimming pool with water fall, overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Searine Samui Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hill Hotel Koh Samui
Searine Samui Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing