We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“watch the hard sell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Searine Samui Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Searine Samui Boutique Resort
sutton on sea
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“watch the hard sell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

first impressions was ok,we had booked a 'standard room'online but when we arrived they mentioned we could upgrade to a 'superior'room for 500 baht(about £10) per night extra,they insisted we look at this room but declined,we was satisfied with the standard,then her mood suddenly changed to being not very friendly.the 'superior'rooms are a lot nearer the reception,but be warned we was situated in a room right at top of the 'hill'we are pretty fit but when you have been out for the night we was not looking forward to your journey to our room!also if you don't know your way around the island they will charge at least 500 baht a trip!the local songthaw costs 60 baht!we wanted an extra 3 nights,we agreed a price but when it came to paying they requested more money!we moved to the north of the island.we took advantage of the free transfer to the airport which took us 3/4 of the way to our destination.be wary of the local karioca bars just below the hotel they go on till around 4 in the morning.the only positive thing was the breakfast which was cooked to order and not bad for thai standards,there was a loveley chap who took your orders always had a smile on his face.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    38
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
9
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We rented a villa and it was wonderful. Very quite hotel and a far but doable walk to the beach. They will drop you off for free, but you’re on your own to get back. Most nights/ days that was not an issue, but we did have to walk a couple times and it was a hike. This location is great if you want to be away from the partying, it’s nice a quite. Pool was beautiful but empty most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepITkep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

A group of us recently stayed in the Family Villa at Serene and were very happy with the resort. The friendliness of the staff really stood out - nothing was too much of a problem for them, and they were always smiling and offering suggestions for things to do and ways to get around.

Location: Great - short walk into Lamai (as another reviewer commented, it's near the seedier end of Lamai, but carry on walking and you'll get to a street of great restaurants and nightlife). We didn't use the free shuttles but they're available every day - would recommend hiring scooters through the hotel and heading to neighbouring Chaweng for a stunning beach trip though. We also taxiied to Cheweng to check out some of the clubs - it was around 100 baht/each from Lamai.

Restaurant: A bit overpriced for the quality - there are much better offerings in nearby Lamai. The included breakfast had 5 basic options (eggs/fruit/toast/croissants etc) which were lovely - one of our party didn't like her scrambled eggs (had a hint of coconut milk? Delicious for me, not for her) so the staff brought her a free plate of mixed fruit when they saw she hadn't eaten any of her eggs.

Pool: As others have said,, the pool was absolutely beautiful - lush gardens surrounding, and a bit of a view of the surrounding hills and ocean. The pool bar was closed, but it seemed that there were only 6 people in the resort when we checked in, so this may be why.

The room: We stayed in the family villa - it had two aircon units, a spacious living area and balcony, and a newly renovated bathroom with jacuzzi - would recommend for groups, not just families (it worked out being $NZ36/each a night). Free bottles of water + minibar were included. The room was very clean and even the towels were arranged nicely for our arrival. We left valuables in the room (passports, cash), forgetting that they would come to service it during the day, but had no problems. I left a dress behind that one of the housekeepers raced down to bring me when we were checking out.

Facilities: We didn't use the spa so can't comment, but there was only 1 computer available for internet. We used it to organise our travel and that's all - in the surroundings, who wants to be on a computer anyway?

I would recommend this resort to other travellers who are looking for someone clean, pretty and quiet, but a short trip away from the nightlife and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLimLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Serene Hill was perfect for us. The wooden villa was nicely set out. Great views of the ocean, comfortable and a balcony to relax on. The bathrooms are clean and modern and the villas are surrounded by green trees. Perfect location, a five minute walk to lamia beach and there's a free shuttle service from hotel to lamia beach and back. The pool is amazing next to big rocks. The service was outstanding, very friendly and extremely helpful. I will go back there next trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Hotel is in nice setting away from main resort up in hillside.
Only a 10 min walk to the resort though.
Resort itself is Lamai - not great - centre of the 'girly bars' and noisy at night. Beach ok but not very clean. Wouldn't recommend it at all.
Back to the hotel
Pool amazing - large and beautiful, and wooden villas also great.
Staff friendly
rooms clean and comfy.
couple of things to note - when we were there the restaurant wasn't as per the website description - no sign of head chef and his signature dish - very basic cooking done by hotel staff and menu - although nice - not extensive-Burgers, sandwiches and pad thai and green curry was about all you could get.
Breakfast very basic but ok. and again although menu not extensive what they did cook was good.
Had a huge cocktail list but the only spirit they actually had was white rum so couldn't get most of them.
The poolside bar was closed and some of the sunbeds stacked up there so obviously closed for some time.

Can't comment on spa as didn't use it - prices expensive compared with rest of massages etc offered throughout Thailand - BUT - not expensive when compared to the UK.

Having said all that we had a very good rate the wooden villas on special offer when we were there - so worked out at £16 per night for the villa!
And not many people there so had pool virtually to ourselves for the 5 days we were there.
Would we go back again? - Probably not as we've been there and done it and we didn't like the resort - but if need a couple of nights in Koi Samui - then go for it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bad kissingen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We were a group of 5 people and we loved to stay at Serene Hill. We even extended four days because of the great landscape the hotel is located. The staff always was very friendly and helpful. They even did all the telephone calls for us to rebook flights and hotel because of our extension. They upgraded us from luxury room to wodden villa at no extra cost. Well the way up to the rooms is steep but using the stairs we could live with. People not in good shape will have problems getting up there. The breakfast is like others wrote already some kind of poor because they have only 4 choices on the menue. But asking for different breakfast you got it the next day. Free taxi service was available at all times until 10 o'clock at night. The rooms were clean and beautiful. So was the pool. We will be there again next year. Wonderful place!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enigma51hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Thai House Resort
Grand Thai House Resort
#20 of 45 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bill Resort
Bill Resort
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.3 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#23 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lamai Bay View Resort
Lamai Bay View Resort
#18 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searine Samui Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searine Samui Boutique Resort

Property: Searine Samui Boutique Resort
Address: 127/60 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Serenehill Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Searine Samui Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is situated on the mountain with great view of the ocean. Our resort comes with full spa facilities with over 30 treatments at affordable prices. We have been awarded the best spa by the department of health. All our villas are made from teak wood, and surrounded by beautiful landscapes and trees. We have a huge swimming pool with water fall, overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Searine Samui Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hill Hotel Koh Samui
Searine Samui Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing