We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bill Resort
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We initially booked ahead for 4 nights from the UK for the end of April. Liked it so much after we arrived we opted to stay for a further 4 days. It was very quiet whilst we stayed, a few other travellers - French, German & Thais so quite nice mix of people. It is pretty much at the southern end of Lamai beach not far from Grandmother/father rocks so a good 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Lamai either via the road or beech, but that means it is very quiet except for the frogs at night - nice. The grounds are sub-tropical which is lovely if you like plants, which we do, but you need to protect against mosquitoes if you have a drink on the balcony at dusk.
Plus points:
Very friendly staff.
Rooms spotless and cleaned to a very high standard & good value compared to local competition.
Breakfast good. Food excellent in restaurant although we chose to eat up-town most evenings.
Nice pool & jacussi.
Mr Bill came round at breakfast to talk to everyone which was nice (his English was limited but better than my Thai)
No real negatives but a few things to consider:
The beach-front of this part of Lamai suffered from the heavy rains in April. As a result the access to the beach from the hotel was a bit difficult. The beach-front villas were under repair during our stay so may not be available.
The rooms near reception, which seem to be the best rooms involve quite a steep climb down to the beach & restaurant so if you have walking difficulties make sure you are nearer the bottom.
We hired a bike from Bills, it was a duffer - bald tyres, useless helmets etc. There are new looking bikes for hire in Lamai so they may be a better option.

Overall, had a great stay & would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinosaurus102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    108
    53
    28
    19
See reviews for
51
89
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Lovely little resort right on the beach with friendly staff, great scooter hire, nice pool and jacuzi, great restuarant and spacious and clean rooms. Would definately recommend to fellow travellers, very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanCB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Bill's is right on the beach, and on a great stretch of sand on Lamai Beach. There's a pool right next to the beach, as well. The staff is helpful and the rooms and neat and clean. Nothing fancy, but great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in January with my husband and friends.
We had booked two "new superior bungalows" with double beds for 2000 baht/night. Upon arrival, we were told that they only had single beds, but that the cleaners could push them together the next day. We checked in to our very depressing and small bungalows, which looked nothing at all like the images on the website. We complained and got switched to the "new deluxe bungalows" instead which had a nicer location, but, there was really nothing new or deluxe about them. The walls, sheets and towels had stains on them, and we found dead cockroaches on the floor. The bathroom looked like it was from the 70's, with dark brown tile.
The second day we noticed that our AC didn't work, that's why our room had been so warm the first night. We asked them to repair it but they couldn't, so they put in a fan instead (which was nice!). For our third night the staff fixed our AC. We asked for compensation and got a free cab ride to the airport.

I don't mind a simple bungalow or room as long as it's clean, and as long as you get what you're paying for. The staff was friendly and helpful, but still, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaofStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

They offer a range of room types depending on your budget, steps lead down to a nice sandy swimming beach and their restaurant overlooks the beach. Nice pool area, good quality scooters, shops and markets close by. Great location in Hat Lamai, friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueKiwi1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of Feb in the standard accommodation. On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink, which was a nice touch. The rooms were all very clean and had all we needed, including free bottled water each day. The beach isn't as nice as Chewang beach, and is a bit rocky near the resort. But the swimming pool is lovely, and not too crowded when we wre there. Buffet style breakfast was included in the price and there was plenty to choose from. The resturant overlooks the beach nice setting to watch the sunrise or sunset. Didn't eat here in the evening (seemed a bit more expensive than elsewhere). Overall the staff were friendly and helpful, the only downside is the very steep hill from reception to the pool/ beach/resturant. Overall good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galaxygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

After reading all the reviews i decided to visit this resort with my husband.We stayed there from 15/02/2010 to 24/02/2010. Everything was nice, but in our last day my notebook was stolen. It was made by the staff of course. No doubts.
My husband always gave money to all the staff ( waiters,house cleaners and others), but only once when we forgot our notebook in our room ,someone from this persons stole it. It was absolutely awful , because i had a very important information on it.
We were in police, but of course it won't help. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends. Now i know that in Bill Resort it happens very often, but it's too late....:-(

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadejdalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#44 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#35 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Resort

Property: Bill Resort
Address: 127 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bill Hotel Lamai Beach
Bill Hotel Koh Samui
Bill Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing