We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bill Resort
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We went here with fairly low expectations. The pool, beach and restaurant areas surprised us very pleasantly. The beach and pool were clean, there was no one putting towels on subbeds at the crack of dawn, the food was nice and plentiful, drinks were cool and refreshing, staff were pleasant. The one thing I didn't like were 3 or 4 dogs roaming. I think they were pets (one had a collar on)- they didn't really bark and I didn't see any go for anyone but they were inquisitive and didn't really respond to a 'no'.... I didn't like it but other guest petted them...

Free wifi in the reception/pool/restaurant areas. Prob reaches to beach but didn't try. None in the rooms but this wasn't a prob for us (some rooms closer to the reception/pool may have it)

Our room was fine (305), nothing spectacular, we didn't spend much time there. Fairly basic but was clean and had a balcony with clothes dryer. Free bottled water was provided daily. Sheets and towels were changed daily (in my opinion excessive) and all the towels and sheets were fresh and clean. They gave you towels for the room and also for beach/pool (with a handy bag to carry them!). I'm sure some of the more modern rooms are nicer, but I loved our bungalow in the trees (almost felt like a tree house).. A few steps to get up but for us not a problem. Really felt like we were in the jungle and felt very private.

The sea was a bit cloudy to snorkel, as is the same along lamai and chaweng. Really nice spot though. Definitely worth getting up for a sunrise as east facing.

There is a great cake shop close by called lolamui, also found on trip advisor. Well worth a visit. Also Kob Thai is walking distance, and delicious for dinner. The hotel will take you there for 200bt

We found food at bills great, especially the chicken and coconut soup and for pudding banana in coconut milk. Breakfast was great - just enough choice to find something you wanted. Watermelon and pineapple and bananas just amazing.

So, I'd definitely return here / recommend to a friend on a budget. If I had a bit more to spend I might go somewhere a bit smaller, but that's just a personal preference. Definitely great value for money. Don't expect the world and you'll probably be more than happy here in your hols if all you want to do is unwind and relax - that's exactly what we did.




  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cryschuchimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    108
    52
    28
    19
See reviews for
51
88
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I just want to say that this "resort" was an awful experience. Money was stolen from luggage inside the bungalow, I saw the staff (cleaning women and gardener) when I came back from the beach, pretending that she was cleaning the bungalow, then leaving very quickly. I found money was stolen, reported to reception, to the manager etc - no help at all, no interest etc. the loss of money was bad, the unacceptable behavior of the reception staff and owner / director who refused to help was even worse. Cannot at all recommend this hotel. very bad. don't go there

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sam120pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

In Koh Samui this is a quiet and great place to relax. Nice bungalows, clean and peacefull beach. Nice swimming pool area. Good restaurant. Not too far from Seatrans ferry harbour (about 15 mins by car).
Location a bit far from shops and restaurants - I recommend you hire a motorbike from the resort so you can go easily and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Firstly, id like to say that its not luxury 5* resort, so dont expect too much. but for 3* hotel on the first line of the beach - its one of the best option (and i guess not only in Lamai beach).
"+"
- the territory is very green and all the buildings and bungalow are surrounding by palms and other tropical trees,
- rent-a-bike service, very close to 7-Eleven, massage "salon" (on open terrace), good pool (illuminated during all night), reasonable prices for the restaurant (everything i ordered was tasty and portions were big)
- very clean beach. in front of the hotel on the both side there are few rocks which separated the rest of the beach and make the beach kind of private for the hotel.
- i had very nice balcony with sea view

"-"
- everything in the room is made from wooden, very grating bed and not so comfortable
- towels seam to be very old and washing off
- simple bath amenities
- free wifi only at the reception
- to get to bar street - only by taxi or bike

To sum up all the impression: Probably will choose the same hotel if coma back to Samui. one of the best option for budget travel, standard breakfasts, definitely will feel like in a tropical oasis, first line of the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Julia_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The resort itself is kind of built on a hillside and you can few it in one of two ways depending on your point of view.

You can consider the resort quaint and close to nature and integrated with surroundings.
Or... You can consider it rundown and worn with basic accommodations and facilities.

I suppose it is great for those on a budget who will only use the room for a sleeping location and will spend more time on the beach and other attractions.

I stayed in a bungalow for one night. The room was 15 feet by 13 feet including the bathroom. Basic furniture with the lacquer peeling off in places. The bed was a low platform with a 6 inch memory foam mattress. The sheets were clean but worn.

I'm not sure I'd recommend it to friends but the price is good so set your expectation accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a great experience at Bill resort. We stayed in room 206 for three nights and the room wasn't the nicest but it was very clean and worked for our budget. The housekeeping staff was great - we didn't want anyone to clean our room so they left toilet paper, fresh towels, sheets and complementary bottled water outside our room! The Beach is a hop away from the pool (which has a tub with jets and cold water! so nice!) and very refreshing! Bring sandals as the sand is fairly coarse. The restaurant is a tad bit pricey but the food is fairly good. You'd be better off walking a few resorts over on the beach to the Black Pearl. The massage parlour is fantastic although I HIGHLY recommend you do not get the manicure or pedicure there. You basically pay for them to buff and paint your nails, and my attendant made my cuticles bleed - more than just slightly. It was very painful! My girlfriend and I went to get mani pedis and she didn't even get a foot or hand rub. The massages are great though! On our last night we stayed in bungalow 613 - recommend this one but see if you can barter it down to a cheaper price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saniya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Bill Resort has a very nice beach but the hotel itself is a bit....schizophrenic. We paid for an upgraded room and were in room 201. The room was filthy, noisy, outdated and falling to pieces. Our power was in and out so the solution was for them to put us in a bungalow overnight then back to our nasty room. The bungalow was clean and modern. I guess if you choose to stay there go for bungalow but I would recommend finding another place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#41 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#35 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Resort

Property: Bill Resort
Address: 127 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bill Hotel Lamai Beach
Bill Hotel Koh Samui
Bill Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing