We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, relaxed and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varinda Garden Resort
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

As part of a rather fast-paced island hopping tour, we stayed at Varinda Gardens for 3 nights, which was our longest stay over the week...and we really didn't want to leave! The infinity pool and views were spectacular, by day or night. The resort had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and we all loved the quirky ornaments and furniture dotted around the reception and pool areas. Our room was fantastic. Plenty of room for 3 people, with fridge, big beds and lots of seating areas. Breakfast each morning was varied and filling and the staff were helpful and friendly. The location was great and close to the beach and shops. It was also in a convenient location for transport to Lamai beach. A lovely, relaxing stay which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

We loved Varinda garden. Varinda is very nice decorated with everywhere you look cute figurines, pots and other fun frills The only thing that we din't loved at this hotel was the hard beds. For the rest it is a lovely place to be. The food is great and the staf is very sweet. It is near to the beach. You can take a short cut, and you are in a flash at the beach! Thank you lovely people for a great stay at your

Room Tip: Ask for room 36 or 38, that is close to the restaurant etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Greeted by lovely friendly people and their lovely dogs (who you would hardly know were there unless you played with them). The garden resort is made up of chalets each with their own deck with table & chairs in a garden environment. Each chalet surrounded with shrubbery making it more private, didn't hear anything much from neighbours. Went to sleep with the sound of croaking toads/frogs which was very relaxing. The dining & bar areas are open plan almost like an African lodge as you can sit looking down on the local area - views across the bay are lovely. Peaceful and suitable for couples, there were also families who seemed to use the pool either early or late but you didn't see them during the day as they probably headed to the beach every day. As the hotel is slightly higher up than the rest of the town you can walk down a path & steps although this is quite steep and would recommend flat shoes. I have a knee problems but still managed to do it. The whole hotel is on different levels and involves steps so not suitable for true disabled people. The reception is manned all the time they are every helpful and organise hire cars/bikes and seem to offer organising trips too although we did this on our own. The nearest 'high street' is full of bars, restaurants, clothing & souvenir shops you don't need to go here and cannot hear from the hotel but using the path shortcut it is a few mins walk. Lamai beach is located just behind this although we found entering the sea was quite rough and not suitable for small children, This is where the two pools with connecting slide come in useful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuildfordTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just got back from a 4 nights and 5 fabulous days in Koh Samui. The Varinda Garden Resort was a large part of what made the trip so enjoyable. It had been 20 years since my wife and I had been to Thailand. This time we had kids in tow. The Varinda was perfect! It's on a hill, so you have to walk about 5 minutes to the beach, but being off the beach was actually a blessing. The Varinda was laid back and lacked any of the harried atmosphere we saw down on the beach. The staff is attentive and friendly, and the accommodations unique. LOVED it and will be recommending the Varinda to all our friends and acquaintances!

Room Tip: They're all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medamaoyaji88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The resort is exactly what you could expect from its website and pictures; a colorful collection of small houses hidden in the jungle. Our children loved meandering through the small paths as there were little statues, pottery and various odd/fun objects hidden in the bushes and trees everywhere. The rooms (we had a wooden family house with a small living room) are cosy, individually and tastefully decorated with various local arts & crafts, the bed sheets are tye & dye… that should give you an idea of the atmosphere:) They are however not well isolated, so we could also enjoy the TV channels of our neighbours...
The swimming pool is quite small, but has a slide, which again is fun for kids!
The biggest disappointment in the hotel stems from the quality of the food; namely the breakfast buffet and the dinner served at their (compulsory) Christmas and New Year’s Eve Gala Dinners. Dinner was not what one would expect on such a festive occasion and moreover was insufficient…! On New Years Eve it was raining (as forecast) and the hotel staff did not make any preparations to protect their open air dining hall. Everybody ended up wet, cold and hungry as food ran out after half the guests had passed through the buffet... shameful.
Another big disappointment was the helpfulness of the front desk officer. She did not seem to have any idea on what to advise us on terms of nice beaches, restaurants or other attractions in Lamai or on the island…
So OUR advice is, if you stay in Lamai Beach:
• For good (day) food and a nice beach sun bed, go the Baobab Restaurant (just ten min walk from the hotel)
• For a nice outing (off the beach) for children is the Paradise Park Farm. The drive is beautiful and the park is very well kept. Animals are well taken care of and the garden and pool are gorgeous! Fun for kids and parents:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lineke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My friends & I went to Koh Samui in November 2012 and we booked the family room with Varinda Resort for 3 nights. It has 2 bedrooms with king sized bed each, a single bed in the living room, a furnished kitchen, a bathroom with bathtub & hairdryer and an own private veranda.

Is located in Lamai beach but the resort kinda outskirt and uphills. There was lots of stairs to climb and slope to walk, so if you have elderly with you, it may not be suitable & convenient for them.

As it is located uphills and with little forest & trees at its surrounding, so don't be surprise if there is lots of mosquitoes & sound of insects. My advise to travelers, remember to bring your insect repellents along. However, the positive side of this is that you gotta to enjoy the quietness and peacefulness of the resort.

The resort is kinda rundown too, but they are doing renovation & touching up when we were there. And they are building slide for its swimming pool. But, the swimming pool is not as big as you seen in the pictures. And we were unable to access to the sauna room as it was under renovation.

The hospitality service was good. The staff was helpful & polite. And not forgetting, the owner of the resort has 5 dogs in total, with 2 of them being the friendly big Labradors as their guest relations officers. Is recommended for all dog lovers.

Overall, we did enjoyed our stay with Varinda.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here with my partner September 2012 for 5 nights and we fell in LOVE with it! The complex is so quirky with an authentic Thai feel.

Firstly, we were greeted by the loveliest people you could ever imagine! Such pleasant, helpful and sweet people, & they made us feel very welcome.

Everywhere you turned in the complex you could see something different, all the little nooks & crannies to see and explore,the ornaments, statues, plants, lanterns, the wood features you feel like your in the Jungle!

The infinity pool was gorgeous with views over Lamai. At night everything in the complex was alight & looked amazing!!

The rooms were beautiful!!! Little detached bungulows on stilts, each with there own name! Ours was called Shallot, & I could see next doors was called Cashew!

The cleaners are in daily, with fresh bath & pool towels & complimentary bottles of water which we thought was a really nice touch.

We had a couple of roomates (Geckos!) but we didnt mind a bit, they dont dare come near you so you're fine plus they eat bugs & mozzys!

The balcony was lovely, at night we could hear the insect noises and it made us feel even more like we were in the Jungle!

The restaurant was great, quirky as ever with views over Lamai, one night we ordered about 5 Thai dishes to share, the food was delicious!

The location was fab, about a 10 minute walk into Lamai via the hotels own private path & secret gate! lol.

Whoever designed/created the Varinda Gardens resort has put so much thought, creativity and love into it it is unreal, they are a genius! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
320 reviews
1 mi away
Crystal Lamai Hotel
Crystal Lamai Hotel
#19 of 51 in Lamai Beach
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varinda Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varinda Garden Resort

Address: 82/3 M.3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £34 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varinda Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varinda Garden Resort is a family run and owned resort. Which is located high on a hill with stunning views of Lamai Bay one of the best of the island of Koh Samui. Where you can relax and enjoy their superb swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varinda Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varinda Garden Hotel Koh Samui
Varinda Garden Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing