We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More creepy than eclectic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Varinda Garden Resort
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The rooms were clean and reasonably priced. We expected eclectic but found the decor to be creepy; a table filled with ceramic dog heads, a cradle with a giant frog, an area filled with hanging baby clothes from the ceiling. The rooms smelled quite dank. The signs stating "beware of thieves" were disconcerting. This, in combination with the flimsy padlock on our room, left us feeling unsafe. We left after 30 minutes, unable to obtain a full refund for our reservation. It was quite disappointing. We trekked onto bophut and were happily accommodated for our stay in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKHadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Let me start by saying that I am travelling with my 21 year old daughter so a place needs to attend to both our requirements. I am a writer so a place with views is a bonus. Varinda is located up a small hill off one of the main roads so perfect for a 5 min stroll whenever the need takes you. For those of you who are tesco fans, there is one.
The rooms are very spacious and well equipped inc. a hairdryer. Good cable tv and wifi is available in the public areas, signal good. You can of course have wifi in your room, just purchase a card with so many mins or hrs on it. The only problem with this resort would be that is does not cater for anyone who is unable to use steps as it is a multi-level design.
Infinity pool on one level, open view over bay style dining room. A smaller pool linked to main pool by slide.
Above dining room there is a huge, again open view lounging/reading room, lots of chairs and a hammock. The whole place has a unique feel to it with the style of interior design. I found it be be fun, interesting.
The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble, if you need to talk to reception about housekeeping then it is done there and then and housekeeping responds immediately. I needed some water and when I returned to my room it was there.
The food should suit adult and child whether you are looking for something simple such as pizza or bolognese or a thai curry the kitchen produce an excellent meal. They actually lisen to your requirements. I do recommend the seafood pizza!
The beach runs pararell with the street and is clean and family friendly.
The street below is busy with everything you might be looking for: restaurants, bars, live kick boxing, shops selling everything inc plug adaptors.
All in all I would return to this place again as I managed to write a huge amount of a fairly complicated material because 'my chosen writing room' was at the top of the resort away from the main lounge and it seemed no one knew it was there other than the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 203MaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed here with my family (wife and two girls) and we had an amazing visit! Yindee and her staff were phenomenal. So much personal care is built into the resort unlike many of the other cookie-cutter resort options available in Koh Samui. Along with the great service and unique/stylish setting the Varinda has an outstanding restaurant and a beautiful pool overlooking the Gulf of Thailand. I'd highly recommend staying here as the grounds are great and it's a simple walk into Koh Samui and the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agraziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

All the reviews are good and I expected a nice 3* hotel without too much sparkle in beautiful Koh Samui but on arrival we found out that the resort is not fenced, the rooms are nice but our Mac did not fit in the safe, the pool was small and even if the view was nice we were a bit disappointed.
Maybe for a normal holiday we would have been happy with it but being in transit from Australia to UK where we were moving back with all our valuables in the backpack we did not feel secure. All the signs outside the rooms saying to be aware and that the hotel was not responsible if anything disappeared did not impressed us. We decided to check-out after 4hrs and moved to nearby Nora Resort where we spent an amazing and relaxing week.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Erymalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

As part of a rather fast-paced island hopping tour, we stayed at Varinda Gardens for 3 nights, which was our longest stay over the week...and we really didn't want to leave! The infinity pool and views were spectacular, by day or night. The resort had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and we all loved the quirky ornaments and furniture dotted around the reception and pool areas. Our room was fantastic. Plenty of room for 3 people, with fridge, big beds and lots of seating areas. Breakfast each morning was varied and filling and the staff were helpful and friendly. The location was great and close to the beach and shops. It was also in a convenient location for transport to Lamai beach. A lovely, relaxing stay which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We loved Varinda garden. Varinda is very nice decorated with everywhere you look cute figurines, pots and other fun frills The only thing that we din't loved at this hotel was the hard beds. For the rest it is a lovely place to be. The food is great and the staf is very sweet. It is near to the beach. You can take a short cut, and you are in a flash at the beach! Thank you lovely people for a great stay at your

Room Tip: Ask for room 36 or 38, that is close to the restaurant etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Greeted by lovely friendly people and their lovely dogs (who you would hardly know were there unless you played with them). The garden resort is made up of chalets each with their own deck with table & chairs in a garden environment. Each chalet surrounded with shrubbery making it more private, didn't hear anything much from neighbours. Went to sleep with the sound of croaking toads/frogs which was very relaxing. The dining & bar areas are open plan almost like an African lodge as you can sit looking down on the local area - views across the bay are lovely. Peaceful and suitable for couples, there were also families who seemed to use the pool either early or late but you didn't see them during the day as they probably headed to the beach every day. As the hotel is slightly higher up than the rest of the town you can walk down a path & steps although this is quite steep and would recommend flat shoes. I have a knee problems but still managed to do it. The whole hotel is on different levels and involves steps so not suitable for true disabled people. The reception is manned all the time they are every helpful and organise hire cars/bikes and seem to offer organising trips too although we did this on our own. The nearest 'high street' is full of bars, restaurants, clothing & souvenir shops you don't need to go here and cannot hear from the hotel but using the path shortcut it is a few mins walk. Lamai beach is located just behind this although we found entering the sea was quite rough and not suitable for small children, This is where the two pools with connecting slide come in useful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuildfordTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
320 reviews
1 mi away
Crystal Lamai Hotel
Crystal Lamai Hotel
#20 of 51 in Lamai Beach
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varinda Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varinda Garden Resort

Address: 82/3 M.3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £34 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varinda Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varinda Garden Resort is a family run and owned resort. Which is located high on a hill with stunning views of Lamai Bay one of the best of the island of Koh Samui. Where you can relax and enjoy their superb swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varinda Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varinda Garden Hotel Koh Samui
Varinda Garden Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing