We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Varinda Garden Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
“A little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Varinda Resort

I was so pleased to find this quiet special gem in Koh Samui. The architecture is sublime and respects the natural surroundings to compliment them not be invasive. So many colors, so many lovely details to capture your eye and mind.
The staff are kind and caring but let you enjoy your private time, while engaging when you want. The owner is a kind woman with a big smile to greet you. The food is reasonably priced and SO delicious (aroy mak in Thai!!!!).
So many different styles of rooms to enjoy.
The only little complaint I could find is internet wireless not free (1,000 Bhat@ month. Also you have to log in many times a day with password, but who cares in this little piece of Paradise!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vquester08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    79
    23
    6
    13
See reviews for
76
81
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

we stayed for 3 nights, with my sister and daughter staying on for a further 3 nights also. We loved the unique and quirky decorated jungle setting - there is literally a maze of interesting pathways adorned with anything and everything from the ground to the treetops. It simply must be seen to be appreciated! The pool and waking to the sound of birds and monkeys is a highlight for kids. The rooms are good and also each uniquely decorated, but could do with a few improvements (particularly the bathroom and kitchen facilities). Mozzies are prolific, so bring spray, but the nets over the beds helped and it wouldn't stop me from returning (and mozzies LOVE me). The restaurant was good too, and staff were helpful. They even found and posted my daughter's favourite soft toy back to us after she was accidentally left behind.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

There is some overdue maintenance of the houses. The rooms were not cleaned properly. In our houses, we found a number of things from the previous visitors. The beds are pretty hard and the disco noise was clearly heard in the cottages. When you want to use the bath tub then you can not fill the bath at one time, because hot water runs out quickly. Expect that there are often dishes on the menu card that you can not get. As positive points we again found the staff, sweet and helpful in particular: Mieuw, Big Beer and Little Beer. The food is good. Varinda is still a colorful place, with a nice pool and nice vieuw where you look!

Room Tip: Get room 37 or room 38.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A really cool and amazing resort with friendly staff and in a really traditional jungle tropical paradise. Good breakfast and great view of the bay. Stayed there for 7 nights and what an experience! You have the best of 2 worlds: serenity and peacefulness in the resort and the zany night life entertainment less than 10 minutes away. Would certainly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A scenic resort, location is excellent- on top of a mountain. leads a road to the lamai beach which comes alive at night. the restaurant has a sea view with a delicious breakfast layout. staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mselina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our stay at Varinda was really nice and I will highly recommend to anybody who wants to stay somewhere unique and authentic, especially couples. The place is very beautiful with an amazing garden, not to forget lovely pool area with a cool view. walk down to the beach takes abt 10 minutes. Breakfast is very good with multiple options of thai and western. The restaurant area has also a nice view, and also worth a visit during nighttime! Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 857Jenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Varinda Garden Resort. Do not stay here you will deeply regret it. Most of the good reviews for this place are for 1 or 2 nights stay only. It Is without doubt one of the worst resorts I have ever been unfortunate enough to stay at, it is ran by very unpleasant cheating scammers. It is run down and very dangerous not to mention the infestation of bats once the sun goes down. The people that run the place are rude extremely unhelpful and very unprofessional. The food was disgusting and the service was the worst I have ever come across. Only good thing about this place is the view from the pool. That is all and the only good thing I have to say. I can express how terrible this resort is from start to finish we were disgusted by it all.
The night we arrived 9.30pm we were picked up by a privet Taxi and taken to the resort (personally I would never class this a resort more a shanty town ready to be knocked down) we were charged 600 Baht for a half hour transfer and were told this would be a 2 way price we were CHEETED by the owners of the resort.
Once at the resort we were greeted by a skinny untidy youngish guy that could hardly speak any English, everything was in darkness and looked closed for the night. We filled in the particulars and as doing so my daughter was attacked by one of the many stray dogs they allowed to roam about and call pets. (dog fesses everywhere) we were then led into what I can only describe as a dark path into over grown Jungle with badly placed old garden ornaments all 4 of us tripped over something and were badly bitten by mosquitoes just going to the room. Once at the room we were shown into what we were told was the family villa I would call this a rundown shed. I asked about the bar or the pool and if there was any restaurant available. The guy did not have a clue what I was trying to ask. So I left it at that and we got everything settled. By 10.30pm we were all sorted and needed something to eat. I then asked the next guy I met if there was a bar or restaurant where we could get food. He said the whole resort was shut down now for the night. And directed us to a very narrow and steep path that my kids and wife were terrified of due to how steep it was and very poorly lit and Dangerous walk way. All the wooden path ways are very badly rotten and unsafe if.
Long dangerous walk into town and to the beach. No path ways so you are taking your life in your own hands dogging the fast traffic.
We met 2 couples with children that were disgusted with the place and the staff and had arranged to check out early as we did also but the girl had charged my credit card without my authorisation for the full Holliday and no refund for the days we did not stay the money was not an issue just the way we were treated again CHEETED by them. We found a much nicer friendlier place just down the road and loved it so put this place behind us.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel you will regret it if you stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daveytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
1.4 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varinda Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varinda Garden Resort

Property: Varinda Garden Resort
Address: 82/3 M.3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Varinda Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varinda Garden Resort is a family run and owned resort. Which is located high on a hill with stunning views of Lamai Bay one of the best of the island of Koh Samui. Where you can relax and enjoy their superb swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Varinda Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varinda Garden Hotel Koh Samui
Varinda Garden Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing