We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disrespectful Staff”
Review of Lamai Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamai Buri Resort
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disrespectful Staff”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I normally wouldn't book a hotel with such questionable reviews for a holiday however I was forced to stay here on a tour I did with G Adventures.

Not only is the hotel a ten minute walk up a hill from the beach, bars and action, but it's service is extremely poor to the point where it's just plain disrespectful.

We got given room 112 which has no windows, but it was clean so both my friend and I agreed that we could put up with it for the 48 hours.

Tonight, the toilet wouldn't flush. The water rose over the bowel and spilled all over our bathroom floor. We ran to reception and told the two staff (who didn't look a day older than 18 and were engrossed in a Thai comedy show) what had happened. They seemed to speak little english but followed us back to the room to check out what was going on.

They then proceeded to scold us for trying to flush toilet paper down the toilet (which is obviously the norm for anyone who has grown up in a 1st world country). We were not informed to not flush toilet paper prior to this nor are there any signs in the bathroom to caution guests. The boys told us that there was nothing we could do but wait for the toilet paper to break down in the pipes.

We asked them to clean the floor which was now sticky with a mix of urine and toilet water, however they said no as their cleaners went home at six. We asked them if we could switch rooms as the bathroom was unusable and they proceeded to laugh in our faces and claim the hotel was fully booked. We asked them to clean it and they said that one of them was a receptionist and one was a security guard so no. We asked them if they had supplies so we could clean it and they just said no it was with the cleaners.

We ended up being given a couple of towels to put on the ground which was our idea. Thank god we are two bright girls who have the initiative to take action in a toilet explosion situation, with ZERO help from the staff.

I'm sorry but in what country is it ok to use a bathroom that is a swimming toilet bowl.

Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    102
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
117
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel was booked as part of a tour booking, but I would had definitely booked it myself if I needed to. The rooms were well presented on arrival and very clean (great air con). Also, standard complimentary water was provided, as well as a fridge and safety deposit box in the room. Beach/pool towels were also provided in the room.

Breakfast was provided with our booking, but you needed to bring the pink slip with you each morning. Freshly made omelets were on offer as well as fresh fruit, toast, and thai breakfast. I also had lunch one day in the restaurant (Calamari), which was delicious and well priced.

The pool is a very good size and very clean, and there are lots of sun loungers around it. The beach was a 10 minute walk away, as were the shops, restaurants and bars. The beach is stunning, not too busy, and not teaming with sun loungers taking up all the space. I spent most of the day down there and it was so relaxing. Such a chilled out and relaxing place. At night, things pick up in the bars so you can definitely have a wild night out too.

One night we took a taxi to the centre of Koh Samui which was much busier (20-30 minute drive). Theres lots going on here, beach bars/clubs/restaurants, ladyboy shows, etc. We were in a group so it was much easier to arrange return pick ups in a mini-bus but we were advised it can cost 600-1000 baht to get back if we wanted to stay later and miss the transfer back.

We organized a trip from the hotel to Namueng to go on an elephant trek, they picked us up from the hotel and we spent 30 minutes on the elephant as well as some time looking at the local market stalls and waterfall for 700 baht.

I would highly recommend this hotel, its clean, staff were friendly, its close enough to the beach/shops, etc., and it has a great pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadNad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked a balcony room over looking the pool which had beautifull views of the local scenery and sea. Room was lovely and clean with a small mini bar (reasonably priced). 2 bottles of free water was supplied every day also. Shower was not particularly powerful but worked ok.
There was always an odd smell though after each time the room was cleaned. We couldn't work out what it was but think it may have been some sort of insect repellent. Kind of got used to it after a while.
The staff were lovely and friendly. There is a small bar by the pool which was shut when we arrived but as soon as we walked towards it a member of staff came straight over to open it up. I should say that it was extremely quite when we stayed. The restaurant was open intermittently that we noticed, despite it saying it was open all day, although we did not use it during our stay. It looked pleasant enough though. The location to beaches and town were also convenient. Beaches were about 10mins walk and only 2min walk to the shops and bars. Don't let this put you off though if you like piece and quite. It was just far enough away so you couldn't hear any noise. Would recommend to others as a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms with balcony also have lovely view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salimali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks in a Deluxe verandah poolside room.. Nice ocean views, and nice sitting outside in the evenings.. Staff were friendly, rooms were cleaned daily and left spotless... Beautiful pool area, kept spotless. Short walk to Lamai beach, and close to lamai centre... Highly recommended, at a good price..

Room Tip: Hire a scooter from hotel, management are excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 24 days. Staff was friendly the room were clean. the manager ( a lady ) was nice and helpfull. The swimming pool is really beautifull. The only thing I don't like was that the studio room have no windows but i don't care because the only moment i was in the room it was for sleeping or for shower. Last thing the place is quiet with vegetation all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdel4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked the v cheap rooms, without windows - very well priced, but would recommend the ocean side rooms as they looked really nice. We were on a budget though so all good. There was a light that was on outside our room 24/7 shining in but we taped a towel to the wall and this seemed to fix the prob. Lovely staff, lovely surroundings and pool area, v quick walk to Lamai town and beach. Lamai beach is great for swimming. Highly recommended for value.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, or if you plan on spending time in your room - don't book the windowless r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Got the cheapest room available and although it had no window the only thing I could fault was a musty smell in the room. For 700 baht a night could not complain. The pool is lovely and it has a great location to the main strip and beach. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a cheep but sweet hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjcrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.3 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.3 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#47 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
7.9 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Buri Resort

Property: Lamai Buri Resort
Address: 126/69 M.3 T. Maret Koh Samui Suratthani Thailand, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamai Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Buri Hotel Koh Samui
Lamai Buri Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing