We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homere Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Aghir
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

After reading bad reviews prior to our holiday we were apprehensive ! However we are very happy that we came the hotel is very clean the food really nice staff are all very nice and make u feel welcome beach is a 5 minute walk nice n quiet for relaxing pool area clean the animation team were great a very enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    206
    81
    27
    31
See reviews for
154
131
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent a week at the Homere hotel the first week of July with my friend on all inclusive. As we got there, the room we got had no balcony and they didn't want to change it for us, even though the hotel wasn't full.
The room had a blocked sink and the shower curtain came off as you pulled it. The bathroom tiles were very dirty also.
The food was OK, we always found something to our taste. Even though we had a bad start but the staff made up for it. Amazing animation team, lot of activities and fun thanks to Medhi, Luca and Billy. Also on my friend's birthday she was given a special table decorated with flowers and a big chocolate cake.
The beach is just opposite the hotel, is clean and there's a little hut where you can book any activities through a guy called Mario. Advised to see him before booking elsewhere he has the best prices :)
The pool was clean and lovely too.
Only the music was quite cheesy lovesongs during the evenings we didn't enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moncsi0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I too saw the reviews and considered changing hotels before going, but I decided that our last holiday which some reported as 'ok, a shame about the food' was great, so maybe we show go with an open mind...

So..the food. Breakfast IS the same everyday, but you don't have to choose the same things everyday. There are boiled or scrambled eggs, pancakes made in front of you, pain au chocolat, croissants, cereal, bread/toast, a choice of 4 jams, fresh tomatoes, peppers, cheese, ham etc. Lunch and dinner is always different with a choice of a minimum of 2 meat dishes including chicken and beef, fresh pizza and calzones made in front of you, fish dishes, plenty of salads and side dishes. We went as a party of 5 including meat eaters, a pescatarian (fish eater) and vegetarian and no one went hungry!

The pool and hotel areas are clean and beautiful.

The room 306 (one of the older ones) was nice and perfectly adequate - no complaints. The room was cleaned everyday that we wanted it with fresh towels crafted into a crocodile on one day, it was impressive.

The bar and reception staff are respectful and courteous, even when people were rude because they couldn't get a free drink after hours. All the staff are bi-lingual to some degree, but all will try to help. All inclusive does now include vodka and whiskey. If you drink rum or bourbon, just go for the tunisian whiskey with cola and if you prefer gin and tonic, go for gin and tunisian lemonade. Alchohol is served from 10am-11pm, after that most drinks are 5TDR which is £1.85 for a double/treble. A big thanks to Adel, Abdul and Nabil. Good guys we will miss.

Kids club: during the off peak time, you need to find the person holding it. It runs from 10am-12:30 and 3:00pm-5:00pm but because there isn't a great demand the animation person is normally helping with something else unless it is enquired about. When I arrived, a reviewer noted that there was no kids club but I noticed other kids playing with the animation team, so after 4 days I asked, and my little one loved it. I just wish that the Thomas Cook rep had mentioned the kids club in his speech, then little one would have have most fun from the start. The animation team do try to put something on for everyone from the waltz to kids dances, funny shows, Mr & Mrs UK/France/Germany etc but if you just want to relax that's fine too. I didn't get the whole 'I love Medhi' thing, but I think he is there to encourage the 18-25s to get involved (or maybe just the skinnies). As a 30-something with 3 boys, I found Marwen, Z, and Luca made most effort with us and the kids, 16, 14 and 5.

The pool is freeform with an extra kids pool and an indoor pool which is warmer and shallower.

On the English/ French divide thing, I did not find this to be the case at the hotel. I don't think we were treated differently at all, but then we made the effort to say thank you.

The only problem we had was with another European guest who took the little ones inflatables and didn't give it back for ages. Once we were able to get it back, little ones googles, arm bands, my book and flip flops went missing from my sunbed. So hold onto your stuff ladies.

The hotel also has its own section of beach for its guests not to be disturbed by salesmen, which is a good thing. Water is free but you need to pay for coke/fanta, but 1 TDR= 37p right now so its not a big problem. By the way if you smoke B&H go for Royals Red at 2 TDR at the shop outside the hotel.

Bottom line is the hotel is great. You should go!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kirstin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LKFessili, Manager at Homere Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello dear Kirstin.
This is the management of Smartline- Homére Hotel. I would like to thank every one of you for your interest. I also would like to express my happiness seeing most of our friends who stayed with us enjoyed their vacations. As you can see in this site the reviews have improved since 4 weeks because of the misunderstanding between Thomas Cook and the hotel has been solved and fixed. The all-inn have been improved and we try to improve each day by listening to your concerns .

It was great seeing you all and god bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

got to hotel. got given a key and told room on second block. the first room was small. went back to reception and got given another key for different room. much better large clean and spacious. chamber maids cleaned every day. all public areas clean and pool was clean also. no towels available but we took our own. drinks ok hubby drank beer and i drank vodka so was all inclusive. not much to do outside and beach was lacking as not many sunbeds,

Food was not good. breakfast could be made so much better by providing a big toaster and some beans.

Lunch and dinner rice bread meat fish and chips.( chips either hard or soft.)

Shame about the food as could make real difference to the whole hotel.

Thomas Cook rep was fab. not pushy byt always around for advice and help. was a cheap holiday and we came back nice and tanned

Room Tip: ask to go further back rooms 400 plus are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

After being really apprehensive due to all of the bad reviews, we arrived at this hotel expecting the worst. However we were pleasantly surprised, our room was nice ,spacious and clean. Both the indoor and outdoor pool areas were lovely, large and again clean. The drinks were fine, most spirits were available (vodka, whisky, gin etc.), the wine was unusual but the rose was quite drinkable. Food was good, big variety, some nights were better than others but always one very good dish and nice freshly made pizzas, not to mention dessert was very good too. Unfortunately not much around the hotel and the local capital of Houmt Souk is disappointing. Entertainment team were very friendly but left you alone if you didn't want to join in. All in all, very good value for money but a shame about the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elrich900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Was worried by previous negative reviews before arriving. However, we found the hotel was very clean with good sized rooms and friendly staff. Arriving well after the stated dinner times, the staff still made the effort to give us welcome drinks on arrival and had also provided food which was a nice surprise.

Food is pretty standard all inclusive buffet food, with lots of variety, pizza, chips and pasta options are always provided. We also found the drinks included to be good, the beer and gin both went down well, weren't such fans on the wine, but we didn't miss it.

Staff were all friendly and helpful through out our 2 week holiday. Some had better English than others, naturally not everyone will have perfect English, but everyone was helpful, cheerful and friendly. The Animation team are enthusiastic and keen to get everyone involved in activities such as yoga, aqua-gym, darts, water-polo and volleyball. Mehdi entertained us greatly for the 2 weeks, making an extra effort throughout the duration of our holiday.

The hotel was great, however everything that Thomas Cook was involved in was awful (changing the all inclusive package, flights, problems with baggage reclaim etc.) Would definitely recommend the hotel but not Thomas Cook.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room and don't mind a bit of noise at night, ask for a room in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A good hotel. Food,entertainment,cleanliness was good. The person that wrote a previous review, think you know who you are had possibly already drank the bar dry or has a serious problem in his grasp of the English language. If you are going to leave a review at least let it be an honest and informative one. I had no issues with this hotel, lets face it, the cost of the holiday was cheap and as long as the rooms are clean and food palatable then for £1000 for two weeks all EXclusive!! what more can you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jackieseeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghir
4.7 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
5.1 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bravo Djerba
Hotel Bravo Djerba
#40 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palm Azur
Hotel Palm Azur
#28 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seabel Aladin Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homere Hotel

Property: Homere Hotel
Address: BP 162, Aghir, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Aghir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Aghir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Homere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Homere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homere Hotel Aghir
Homere Hotel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing