We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
123
209
87
34
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
209
87
34
38
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Arrived at the airport in Djerba, Rep was there and quickly directed us to our transfer bus, don't get involved with any porters no need what so ever , but the driver will take your case off you and stow it away ( will expect a pound ) but relatively hassle free experience. the transfer took about 45 mins and stopped at about 4 different hotels , best to worst with the Homere being last ,first impressions of the journey was desolation and neglect and how can people live in areas filled with refuse dumped everywhere leaving us feeling very uncomfortable. We arrived at the Hotel just before dinner and was welcomed with a cold refreshing drink and given a guest card to fill in at our leisure in the reception area whilst waiting for the key, again Hassle free . On getting the key you are left somewhat unattended not knowing how to get to your room and remember the vast majority of staff are French speaking so was left a bit bewildered ! Animation to the rescue , one of the team took us to our room and helped us with our cases ( no lifts and several steps to our floor) this was a genuine gesture and much appreciated, in fact I think I may have even offended him by giving him a tip. The room was split into 2 with a dividing door to separate the children , very basic but clean with air conditioning (not very efficient ) but reduced the temperature, the bathroom was dire with a bath that needed replacing several years ago, unfortunately that is true of most of the facilities of the hotel. The room service was excellent with towels changed daily and rooms tidied after 3 untidy children ( well worth a tip at the end of the holiday ) Meals : ok you may have a problem here , first of all you have to find a sitting in a dining room that seems inadequate for the number of guests ! when you eventually find yourselves seated you have to then find food to suit ( buffet style ) not one day went by where you either ran out of food or cutlery or plates , staff can only be commended they seemed to be fighting a losing battle , again through either lack of facilities or organisation but some frayed tempers by several unsympathetic guests , wine or water was available by the bottle to take to your table and childrens drinks via dispensing machines , food was to a high standard ,plentiful but remember not specifically catering for the English so somewhat spicy for some people. The Pool area was a big problem it seemed very small for the number of guests staying ( I counted aprox 100 beds the vast majority in poor condition)with no organisation and guests themselves abusing reserving beds and leaving them unused for the majority of the day. Towards the end of our holiday the life guard/pool attendant had started to remove the towels from abused reserved sunbeds which eased the situation. You could go down to the private beach which involves about a 5 minute walk across the road but it is very small and the all inclusive package only allows you to have water there, there is a deserted bar to your left and to the right it is frequented by the locals ( I did not feel very comfortable there ) evening entertainment was provided by a team of 5 animation staff who by anybodys standards where excellent, my kids loved the mini disco and by the end of the holiday where experts , followed by impromptu ballroom dancing which the French seemed to love. A stage show often followed at the amphi theatre with well rehearsed routines which you would have paid to attend at home. getting a drink at nightime at the bar is difficult with only 2 yes 2 staff on to serve all the guests , so be warned .
People say you get what you pay for but for,but for 2 adults and 3 children the cost was £3250 but still a sizeable amount for a young family , I don't know who is responsible for checking hotels out but this hotel provides excellent value but lacks organisational help from the big boys out there ( THOMAS COOK ) help not condemnation required 5* service from a struggling 2* hotel. regards Guest room 617 August 2014

Room Tip: the rooms to the rear of hotel by the indoor pool , seemed to be more modern and welcoming.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DeKomP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

You get what you pay for !
This is worth remembering when staying here. Having read some awful reviews before going we were dreading what we were going to find when we arrived. We arrived at about 11 pm on the Friday and were provided with good and drink before being shown to our rooms by a member of the animation team ,as my mum is in a wheelchair this room was unsuitable for us because of steps room was very basic ,smelt and had a wasp nest on baloney we complained straight away and were promised a move the next morning . Next day we were moved to rooms opposite the outdoor pool which were much better. Yes the hotel would benefit from an update. Food was not really an issue for us always plenty to choose from the usual all exclusive they also seemed to be trying to please as many nationalities as possible we even had cheesy mash one day lol. We found all the staff to be very hard working bar staff,restaurant ,maids reception and animation team. Entertainment improved whilst we were there with a genuine improvement with the English music having spoken with members of the animation team it became clear there not used to English visitors but were doing there best and we did not feel we were treated any differently than any of the other nationalities. Thanks gaston ,billie ,Luka all the others guys whose names I can't spell sorry! And the two lovely ladies from the animation team who contrary to a previous review I read we found to be lovely,polite and completely friendly all on all We had a fantastic holiday and meet some great people !

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What can I say, we went to hotel homere on the 16th August for a short break,as their was only two of us our room was small,quite dated but clean our sheets were changed regularly and the floor and bathroom always looked clean.
This hotel is very French orientated and the staff seem to be chasing them around speaking better French than English .
The food is ok but very samey and in the evening they would run out of plates and cutlery with the French not knowing how to Que. up and seeming to think they can just nudge in. The entertaining staff done a good job one in particular was Gasto I think that's his name he always spoke to the few English that were there and kept the kids entertained. There was a few injuries while we was there as the steps from pool and entrance to the hotel was very slippery two woman slipped down the steps injuring their arms and a doctor was called. The entertainment was the same every evening until about 21.45 then you could go watch something round the corner,we didn't bother. The beach is across the road but the alcoholic drinks are not included neither are the snacks even though the beach does belong to the hotel homere also the ice cream isn't free either, neither are the pool towels. But all in all it was just my husband and I and it was very hot also the pool was clean. so if you want to go on a cheapie your not to fussy,and you just want some sun and sea than this is the place to go. And of course you don't mind being surrounded by mostly French families.

Room Tip: We were in room 407 which just behind us was the entertainment but that all finished at 11.00 so wasn't a problem 315 was a family room which was more quite.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hayleyloveit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Rooms - we had to be moved after the first night as there was a loud generator near our room (400 block) which kept us up all night! Was moved to 700's block which was an improvement. The rooms were dated and basic. The maids were fine but floors weren't very clean. Beds were fine but the pillows were just awful hard and lumpy!

Food- after reading reviews I wasn't expecting much. It was more or less the same every day - the pizzas were good but it depended on what chef run that station some of them were really slow and there was nearly always a long queue. The food layout wasn't thought out well there was always huge queues for chips and the staff weren't very quick at re-stocking. Sometimes you would queue at one station and that'll be cold before you got the next station queue! The worst bit was the ran out of plates and cutlery on numerous occasions and you would be left standing waiting for it!.There were two drinks stations in the restaurant and they often ran out - again this would take ages for them to re-stock despite being told by numerous guests. I think the restaurant staff need training!

Pool- we enjoyed sitting around the pool. The only criticism here is there are not enough mattress covers for the number of sunbeds.

Private beach - nice - shame you can't get all inclusive drinks there though!

I do agree with other reviews I did feel in general the French guests received better treatment from staff particularly in the restaurant/bar.

The animation team were great (not the 2 girls they made no effort with us and looked like they didn't want to be there!) but the boys were funny and made an effort with my son and us as a family. In particular Gaston who was brilliant he helped us with our luggage on arrival/departure, he sat with us at dinner and told us more about Tunisia, he was very good with my son who is 3, a very kind and genuine guy and his English is very good.

Entertainment - this was fine! The animation team work long hours and did really well putting on the shows at night.

The shop on site is expensive compared to the one down the road.

Jamel the rep - he was friendly and has a good sense of humour.

Trips - we did the island tour - my advice don't bother! Chaos! Other guests got a taxi and took themselves off to the markets/ museums - I wish I had done the same!

All in all this hotel isn't amazing but it was cheap and we did have a good time but it's the animation boys that make it worth visiting!

Room Tip: Ask for 700 block
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey123191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We went here for a quiet chilled break myself and a friend, hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is clean and tidy. Could do with abit of refurbishment but its a nice hotel. Rooms cleaned every day, fresh towels again basic room but what we needed for a week away. Beach lovely and clean not pestered to do trips out, once you say no they leave you alone for the rest of the week. Food alittle bland, but always alot of choice.

Room Tip: rooms away from the pool as the entertainment goes on around the pool area.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracelylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews