We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit expensive”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahonda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nyota Beach Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Montrouge, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed two nights in Matemwe. It is a very peaceful village and a nice place to go diving.
The bungalows were simple but nice and clean. The staff were friendly and the food was good... However we payed 75$ per night which is a bit expensive, because you can find the same quality for cheaper (50$).

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
5
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Didn't enjoy this place much. The food was OK and eatable but that is all. Prices were acceptable. My wife had prawns but felt they were not cleaned properly. I had chicken, the sauce tasted like Cheese Whiz. The portions are large if that is important to you. Prawns cost 18,500Tsh and the chicken 15,000 Tsh. The staff was very nice and helpful although we were one of only two tables occupied. The fellow there was on the hustle for snorkel patrons which is a bit annoying when all you want to do is eat. The ambience is "beach modern" and the music seem to be on repeat of 3 songs. We did not even consider returning to this restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahonda hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at nyota and while decent, it definitely was not worth the cost that they were charging ($75). For that price I would expect that a mosquito net with holes would be replaced - and moreso, the replacement would be new and not one with even more holes than the first one (as was our experience). Overall didn't feel that welcome there, instead found a great home away from nyota down the beach at Sales restaurant (and bungalows).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

It was my first travel to visite zanzibar,I have been in kenya before,I went in matemwe to find good place and stay in nyota,I did not believe the staff of there were helpfull and very charming,team work.The room 9 seaview was good and quity with fresh atmospher.I did see small place good like this paradise before

Room Tip: room 9 seaview is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I visited zanzibar 1/5/2012.I stayed in nyota for four days,the room was good,and service too.it was small place quity and good atmosphere.staff were charming for clients and my room 5 yellow nyota was great and quity.The restaurent of nyota is simple than it so amaize.I hope on my next plan to visite africa I will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Me and my friend we whent in Nyota beach bungalows but what we find was orrible , place of beach boys manage by a briton ridicular guy name James and one rasta boy Eddye,
just a joker
we realize that is not manage from the right people !
some old man of the local village of Matemwe plus one forenar resident give us the true story , this young boy Eddye with help of many other people take off one of the owner by force a italian man and boost a stone to him !
sin 2010 the place is manage by this Eddye
no security
no respect
no service
hotel ? just funny game manage from this child rasta Eddye with life of people

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brambilla f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

If you value your life and safety don't stay here! We planned to stay 3 nights but after such a terrible experience left after 2 nights. The management is the worst i have experienced with the manager Abdul always drunk or having a severe hang over. He is rude not only to the guests but is a bully to the staff that you can actually see them cringing! After being not only dissappointed in the quality of food and the run down rooms, our experience only turned out to be more horrific when we saw Abdul physically abuse 2 females. One female it seems to be working there the other was a guest. If this was not enough the place was then robbed that night as there is such bad security, well we didn't even see any security guards at all. We had money stolen off us during this theft in the middle of the night. Once again if you believe in human rights and value your own physical safety do not stay here! We moved out immediately and forfeited the rest of our stay. So much for our return to Zanzibar!

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wavesunwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Beach Resort
#6 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyota Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyota Beach Bungalows

Property: Nyota Beach Bungalows
Address: P.O. Box 93, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nyota Beach Bungalows is a small ambient resort located near the quiet village of Matemwe on the North-Eastern coast of Zanzibar. Set on an idyllic 5 km long white-sand palm-fringed beach, cooled by an Indian Ocean breeze, it offers a wonderful relaxing stay in Paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nyota Beach Bungalows Hotel Mahonda
Nyota Beach Hotel
Nyota Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing