We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great staff!”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We read the earlier reviews and decided to give the all inclusive Junior Suite package a bash. We arrived July 2nd which was the second day after reopening following revamp and renovations. The staff were absolutely amazing - from the gardener to the manager.
The hotel filled up quick around us, so our experience changed, but the staff remained helpful and courteous, always doing everything they could for us. The generators failed for almost a day and a night - but again, the staff could not have done more for us.
The beach boys are not that bad. They leave you alone if you just humor them a little. They are far cheaper than using the hotel's excursions - just ensure that they have permits to carry tourists. Madiba and Mohamiddi were they guys who helped us - friendly and not pushy. They gave us advice and even bargained with the locals for better prices for handmade goodies at the beach shops.
Highly recommend the swimming with dolphins tour, blue safari and Stone Town tours.
The tide does go out far at low tide, but it shifts times, so it was no issue - I the tide is out - drink cocktails at the pool :-))
For divers there is a dive shop at the resort next door. Their boat is close by, and their dive sites on Nmeba Island are awesome. One Ocean dive center has qualified and professional team.
We spent 10 great nights there, and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMAguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

We went for 10 days and wished it had booked for longer. it was everything we had hoped it would be and more. When they say all inclusive (that was the pacjkage we were on) they mean it, the only time we paid for anything was day trips away from the hotel. They have a stunning pool with plenty of comfy loungers. Three fantastic restuarants with awesome food and snacks provided all day, including an ice cream fridge. ALL drinks free - including cocktails. Great rooms and wonderful, friendly and fantastic staff. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hola-daying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Two lovely pools, many deck chairs, good food and beautiful big rooms. The beach is flat and you can walk/jog very far (just do it early - 07:30 was already extremely hot for me!). The hotel organised entertainment for every night during our stay. The dinner on the beach was quite special.

Old/disabled people should note that the hotel is situated on a small hill, and one has a bit of a climb from the restaurant/beach area to the rooms.

The equipment for the water activities is still new and we rented the catamaran, windsurf, and canoe. One has to wait for high tide however. For snorkelling and diving we had to go to another Planhotel - La Gemma Dell Est - at the North-Eastern tip of the island. Here the ocean was quite different: no algae, but a short steep beach. The wind caused the ocean to be quite rough here, but the diving was superb.

We did a Blue Safari with some of the beach boys ( Bigfoot and Mr Brown) - highly recommended - as well as a Spice Tour and a Stone Town Tour with the official guides from the hotel. Stone town was VERY hot for me but one can't miss out on the opportunity to visit it. Everything was organised very well.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joubalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I spend 1 week in November 2010. The Hotel was the top one.It's only 1 year and 5 months old. It's new well cleaned and a good host. Excellent quality of food with 4 restaurant with attention all minimum details. All service guy was with a smile and welcoming.
The room was large size and very comfortable, large bathroom and well cleaned. For our honey noon was a special package with included a massage and 1 dinner in the fish restaurant. For my wife birthday we found a cake on our room..fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeTorriVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I cant believe i was so worried about going to this hotel, these reviews that i read really had me thinking twice! well i have been there and would return tomorrow. The staff are very friendly and yes not all their english is great but how is your Swahili? And yes you can wait up to 10 minutes for a drink from the bar. their is a popular phrase in swahili "POLE POLE"
it means slow slow, the people are laid back and on a go slow but in a very friendly manner.
if you going to order drinks do one of three things: 1. find a waitress 2. order your drink and tell them where you are sitting. 3. order 4 drinks at a time. another thing, zanzibar is +/- 600km from equator, there is nothing the hotel can do about ice melting or a drink getting hot. get an ice bucket.

The rooms are amazing, house keeping brilliant. air con and fan of 5 star status. food is good and always available but plain. african restaurant is brilliant and is inclusive.

reception is well organised and their english and italian is very good.
pool area is amazing and big. also kiddies pool. beach is very nice and beach boys cant bug you if stay on your 'beach beds area' due to security.

now about the beach boys, if you are not stern with them and let them know that you wont be messed with, they will bug you. i simply told them to all be quiet and i am speaking to one person at a time, they were amazed at that and respected it every time.
i also found once i bought something from them on the first day and got to know them by name, they came to me everyday to greet me and that was that. if you dont want to buy anything just say you have bought plenty of it and they leave you alone.

reagarding excursions, i read reviews about doing it with the beach boys as compared to the hotel or tour groups. therefore pre-booked all my tours before i went. Thank goodness a fellow hotel guest told me about the tours he had done with the beach boys and the tour groups are a rip-off. so i cancelled my tours with the tour groups and booked with the beach boys. best thing i ever did, i did a tour like safari blue, mnemba island snorkelling and stone town tour. It was funny to see the tour groups next to us doing everything we were doing. the beach boys feed you,look after you and provide snorkelling gear. price comparisons safari blue 150$ stone town 60$ and mnemba island 65$. the beach boys were sfari blue like tour 50$ stone town 25$ and mnemba 30$ and we had the same boats ,cars etc. the beach boys to talk too are main guy KAMBI and his side kicks MOHAMMED and OLIBAB. take my advice you will not regret it.

about 1km up the beach towards the north is a resort called waikiki, go there on a friday night at about midnight and have an amazing beach party. walk in a group of 6 or so and get 2 or 3 beach boys to join you on your walk it is a safe walk. no entrance fee and when asked by security if you want the beach boys to join you,,,,,say yes. its the only way they are aloud in. after all they just walked with you along the beach and keeping you safe.

this hotel is what you make of it, if you are laid back and are their to relax, you will absolutely love this massive hotel. if you going to get upset about little things, dont come here . us laid back people dont want you their either.

we were scoping out the our neighbouring hotels and dream of zanzibar has a better beach and is better looking. bring water booties and watch for sea urchins even though they are generally atleast 300m out from shore where there are 100"s. tide might be out a 1km but will be back in within 4 hrs, its amazing. awesome hotel awesome experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sladey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We Had A Pleasant 10 Evenings At The Dream Of Zanzibar. Rooms Were Very Clean And So Were The Rest Of The Facilities. The Food Was Of Good Quality But Quite Plain Most Of The Time. Unfortunately Coke Light Was Not Available For A Week And This Was A Problem For Us. The Beach Boys Are A Huge Pain Actually Spoiling The Beaches Chasing After You Whenever You Put A Toe On The Sand. Fortunately there is a patrolled private beach area in front of the public beach and other pools to laze at which we enjoyed. The Staff were Friendly And Polite When They Understood Us - And Always With A Bright White Smile. It Is Not A Full-On 5 Star Hotel But Its Not Like They Charge Full 5 Star Prices... In Contrast To The Rest Of The Country It Is 5 Star Though. Take Lots Of Change (Tanzanian Shillings) Because Everybody Wants Tips For Everything outside the hotel area. Pack Lightly Since Formal Wear Is Not Really Expected During Evenings (just don't pitch in your cozzy). Its Hot So Pack In The Sunscreen. The Hotel Faces East And There Was A Pleasant Breaze Blowing Most Afternoons And Busy Chilling Reading A Book Or Sun-Tanning Was A Pleasure! Overall for what you pay it was a really good experience and value for money for the all inclusive package. Tommy + Michelle Joyce. South Africa, Knysna

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

An amazing piece of paradise, we were treated like royality, the staff were excellent and well trained... everyone is ready and waiting to serve our every need, the hotel rooms were excellent and the beaches amazing. Food was unbelievable with wide variety... we were devastated to leave and cannot wait to return! We highly recommend this excellent hotel for all.... It was like a piece of Heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lperrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,661 reviews
13.4 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#6 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
514 reviews
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range: £185 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing