We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dream of Zanzibar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coral Reef Beach Resort(Pwani Mchangani)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort(Pwani Mchangani)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Zanzibar(Kiwengwa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sofia Sea View(Pwani Mchangani)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Dida(Pwani Mchangani)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,898)
Filter reviews
1,898 results
Traveller rating
1,244
467
114
51
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,244
467
114
51
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain restaurantblue vanillajunior suitebeach boysarabic nightafrican restaurantmain poolall inclusive packagestone townour honeymoonthemed nightslow tideseafood restaurantbar fridgepool beachhakuna matatapalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 1,898 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

No electricity, no warm water, sometimes no water al all. No variation in the food (probably because the electricity panne). Bad service. Had to move to an other hotel (with candles in the evening). This is no 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sandra_vandenbroeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I'll start with the good things. The hotel is very nicely done and the rooms are well furnished and clean, the beach is georgous and the staff, as long as you don't ask anything, is friendly. Unfortunately, this doesn't help you if there is no electricity. During our 5 days stay, the first 3 days we had serious (1-2h) black-outs every day until at the 4th day the power was completey gone not to be coming back. The problem was, we were told, that one generator was serviced and the second one just brock down. So after 2 days we had a letter in our room, coming with a bucket of water to shower and flush the toilet, saying that the generator would be repaired by the next day. Obviously this was not quite true as 2 days later we had to be transfered to another hotel because the electricity was not coming back. But more of that later.

The other realy bad thing was the service. Ok, if you order something the staff is very nice and quick in serving. However, if you have something to complain or to ask you realize that they learned their few sentences of english by heart, but really don't understand anything else and cannot respond to any question. Not that they would really care. So arriving on monday we were looking forward to a nice honeymoon dinner in one of the 5!!! restaurants they have. Too bad that for this day it was already too late to make a reservation, which is required 24h in advanvce. But being a 5 star resort...no sorry, they didn't care and didn't try to arrange something for us. So buffet it was. Did I mention that I hate buffet? Well, so then thuesday we would, at last, enjoy a nice dinner in our honeymoon. But unfortunately all of the 5 restaurants are closed on thuesday because of some buffet event. So again, buffet it was. Well, on wednesday finally we did have a very nice dinner in the fish restaurant. The food was excellent and the staff friendly, but then, we paid 150 euros for it. So planning for our remaining 2 dinners we were again told that also on thursday all restaurants are closed (apart from the pizzaria, but who wants a pizza on the beach?). So to make a long story short, on 5 days in the resort we would have been able to enjoy dinner in one of the 5 restaurants exactely twice! And did I mention that I hate buffet?

So on thursday, after a whole day of no electricity, meaning no running water, no toilet flushing, no coffe etc. we went to complain. Finally the managing director appeared and, after some explaing from his side and extensive complaining from our side, offered us to stay in a nearby hotel called neptun. So we went to have a look at it. Turned out that this was not even remotely the same standard as the Diamond was supposed to be. The rooms were small and damp, the garden not as nicely done and in general just not what we had in mind for our honeymoon. Well, at that moment it became clear that they tried to sell us out the cheapest way. So after some more arguing we were finally sent off to the royal zanzibar resort, which was supposed to be the same standard. Unforutnately, it wasn't. I won't go into the details here, but overall we just didn't get what we paid for. And topping it all off, seeing the room rates of the royal zanzibar in the end, it turns out that we still ended up in a cheaper resort. And I don't think that they ever planned to refund us the difference of the room rates we paid in advance for the Diamond. We could stay in another "nice" resort and with that the whole thing was over for them. Well it's not for us.

So to sum it all up, if you go to the Diamond dream of Zanzibar you get a nice hotel with nice rooms and good service as long nothing unexpected happens and you don't have any special requests. At that point you will wish you were somewhere else. Boasting european prices (around 400 euros a night) I do expect a european standard of service, which you clearly will not get. So much for our honeymoon on Zanzibar.....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank gekio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We read the earlier reviews and decided to give the all inclusive Junior Suite package a bash. We arrived July 2nd which was the second day after reopening following revamp and renovations. The staff were absolutely amazing - from the gardener to the manager.
The hotel filled up quick around us, so our experience changed, but the staff remained helpful and courteous, always doing everything they could for us. The generators failed for almost a day and a night - but again, the staff could not have done more for us.
The beach boys are not that bad. They leave you alone if you just humor them a little. They are far cheaper than using the hotel's excursions - just ensure that they have permits to carry tourists. Madiba and Mohamiddi were they guys who helped us - friendly and not pushy. They gave us advice and even bargained with the locals for better prices for handmade goodies at the beach shops.
Highly recommend the swimming with dolphins tour, blue safari and Stone Town tours.
The tide does go out far at low tide, but it shifts times, so it was no issue - I the tide is out - drink cocktails at the pool :-))
For divers there is a dive shop at the resort next door. Their boat is close by, and their dive sites on Nmeba Island are awesome. One Ocean dive center has qualified and professional team.
We spent 10 great nights there, and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMAguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We went for 10 days and wished it had booked for longer. it was everything we had hoped it would be and more. When they say all inclusive (that was the pacjkage we were on) they mean it, the only time we paid for anything was day trips away from the hotel. They have a stunning pool with plenty of comfy loungers. Three fantastic restuarants with awesome food and snacks provided all day, including an ice cream fridge. ALL drinks free - including cocktails. Great rooms and wonderful, friendly and fantastic staff. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hola-daying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Two lovely pools, many deck chairs, good food and beautiful big rooms. The beach is flat and you can walk/jog very far (just do it early - 07:30 was already extremely hot for me!). The hotel organised entertainment for every night during our stay. The dinner on the beach was quite special.

Old/disabled people should note that the hotel is situated on a small hill, and one has a bit of a climb from the restaurant/beach area to the rooms.

The equipment for the water activities is still new and we rented the catamaran, windsurf, and canoe. One has to wait for high tide however. For snorkelling and diving we had to go to another Planhotel - La Gemma Dell Est - at the North-Eastern tip of the island. Here the ocean was quite different: no algae, but a short steep beach. The wind caused the ocean to be quite rough here, but the diving was superb.

We did a Blue Safari with some of the beach boys ( Bigfoot and Mr Brown) - highly recommended - as well as a Spice Tour and a Stone Town Tour with the official guides from the hotel. Stone town was VERY hot for me but one can't miss out on the opportunity to visit it. Everything was organised very well.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joubalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews