We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we could not wish more”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“we could not wish more”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

we spent our honeymoon at dream of Zanzibar, and despite the other reviews and the elecctricity problems the place and the staff were excellent.
Its Africa, you should enjoy as it is.
who cares about the room, whih was superb and the dark
we spent the whole time on the beach and we didn't notice at all the problem and if it was only for 1.5 days.
We loved the place and me and my wife we will for sure go back nex year..

Hakuna matata
ahsante to all dream of zanzibar stAFF

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harleysposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    392
    99
    39
    18
See reviews for
329
886
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

After 7 days travelling around Zanzibar i stopped for a rest at Diamonds Dream of Zanzibar, which i knew from last years family holidays.
The Resort is full of emotions as ever, the staff friendly and professional, the Restaurants have been refurbished and restyled which i find gorgeous.
During my stay there were some problem with the generator and electricity, the manager and all its staff have done their best to fullfill all my requests.
Actually i must say that during the day i didn't even notice the lack of electricity and at night the resort was amazing with all candle lights everywhere.

I hope i will be able to go back to that living dream again very soon

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

we arrived at the 10th of july in the dream of zanzibar. What should be a dream vacation became a stress vacation.
The rooms were very nice and new. Nothing to complain only the matrass was so hard that we had to ask housekeeping for something soft under our sheets. They did it twice without complaining.
On day 1 they nightmare begin. After a day on the beach we would like to take a shower. I was under shower and suddenly there was no more water and the lights when out...ok within 3hrs the power was back on. But the diner was less than normal (and normal there wasn't also much variety).

The day after the same scenario...no water and no power. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. But the day after was the worst. The situation became unhygenical. No water to flush the toillet, no power to cool the food,...The power fell out from 02 am and wasn't going on untill they fixed there generator. Know that they needed spair parts wich have to come from Italy!!! So the part normally arrived on monday, 6 days without electricity and clean water, sorry no i had enough off it. I went to the reception an demand to be transferred to another 5 star hotel. Finally the manager came because there were a lot of people complaining and we sticked together and demand a solution.
He told us to transfer to the sister hotel next too this hotel. We could go and take a look if we want to stay there the rest of our vacantion. It was sandies hotel. I didn't like the hotel at all. The other people didn't also...so we looked up on the internet in this hotel (ours didn't work because there was no electricty) wich other hotels there where. We decided to ask for the royal zanzibar. After 3 hrs the manager did all he could and we could move to the other hotel. There we could enjoy further from our holiday. But it was a lot of stress. I had to make me very angry at the people of the reception because they were laughing out into your face, they didn't understand why we had stress and why we were upsaid. No power and no electricity...they said Hakuna Matata. If you work a whole year and you want one week to relax and payed a lot of money for it and expect a 5 star hotel, and this happens....you feel very sad.

Now the comment about the hotel: Rooms are very nice. We had a standard room by the garden pool. Very quiet.
The food was horrible! Breakfast was always the same....every day.
Lunch was poor. Some left overs from the night before from the theme restaurants..Pasta wasn't fresh. Grill: the meat was from bad quality, you couldn't cut with a knife throug it...
Diner: sometimes left overs from lunch. 1/week diner on the beach. 1/week at the pool. Every day the same.
Staff is trained and know some line by heart. If you ask something else they say: Enjoy...and took off. But they are very pollied and try to make your stay very comfortable.
The swimmingpool is great with the palm trees and lounge chairs. Also the beach is very nice.

This hotel could be a very good 5 star hotel if they had more disipline and structure. And if they were propared to problems with electricity, because it is a wellknown problem in Zanzibar.

We will never go back to zanzibar! It was a nightmare for us. For that money you better book a hotel at the carribean! Same palmtrees/ view but hotels are much much better!!!!

Internet and gym isn't included: 5 dollar a day for the gym/ 5 dollar for 30 min internet.

Lot of italians in the resort!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank verossassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

No electricity, no warm water, sometimes no water al all. No variation in the food (probably because the electricity panne). Bad service. Had to move to an other hotel (with candles in the evening). This is no 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sandra_vandenbroeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I'll start with the good things. The hotel is very nicely done and the rooms are well furnished and clean, the beach is georgous and the staff, as long as you don't ask anything, is friendly. Unfortunately, this doesn't help you if there is no electricity. During our 5 days stay, the first 3 days we had serious (1-2h) black-outs every day until at the 4th day the power was completey gone not to be coming back. The problem was, we were told, that one generator was serviced and the second one just brock down. So after 2 days we had a letter in our room, coming with a bucket of water to shower and flush the toilet, saying that the generator would be repaired by the next day. Obviously this was not quite true as 2 days later we had to be transfered to another hotel because the electricity was not coming back. But more of that later.

The other realy bad thing was the service. Ok, if you order something the staff is very nice and quick in serving. However, if you have something to complain or to ask you realize that they learned their few sentences of english by heart, but really don't understand anything else and cannot respond to any question. Not that they would really care. So arriving on monday we were looking forward to a nice honeymoon dinner in one of the 5!!! restaurants they have. Too bad that for this day it was already too late to make a reservation, which is required 24h in advanvce. But being a 5 star resort...no sorry, they didn't care and didn't try to arrange something for us. So buffet it was. Did I mention that I hate buffet? Well, so then thuesday we would, at last, enjoy a nice dinner in our honeymoon. But unfortunately all of the 5 restaurants are closed on thuesday because of some buffet event. So again, buffet it was. Well, on wednesday finally we did have a very nice dinner in the fish restaurant. The food was excellent and the staff friendly, but then, we paid 150 euros for it. So planning for our remaining 2 dinners we were again told that also on thursday all restaurants are closed (apart from the pizzaria, but who wants a pizza on the beach?). So to make a long story short, on 5 days in the resort we would have been able to enjoy dinner in one of the 5 restaurants exactely twice! And did I mention that I hate buffet?

So on thursday, after a whole day of no electricity, meaning no running water, no toilet flushing, no coffe etc. we went to complain. Finally the managing director appeared and, after some explaing from his side and extensive complaining from our side, offered us to stay in a nearby hotel called neptun. So we went to have a look at it. Turned out that this was not even remotely the same standard as the Diamond was supposed to be. The rooms were small and damp, the garden not as nicely done and in general just not what we had in mind for our honeymoon. Well, at that moment it became clear that they tried to sell us out the cheapest way. So after some more arguing we were finally sent off to the royal zanzibar resort, which was supposed to be the same standard. Unforutnately, it wasn't. I won't go into the details here, but overall we just didn't get what we paid for. And topping it all off, seeing the room rates of the royal zanzibar in the end, it turns out that we still ended up in a cheaper resort. And I don't think that they ever planned to refund us the difference of the room rates we paid in advance for the Diamond. We could stay in another "nice" resort and with that the whole thing was over for them. Well it's not for us.

So to sum it all up, if you go to the Diamond dream of Zanzibar you get a nice hotel with nice rooms and good service as long nothing unexpected happens and you don't have any special requests. At that point you will wish you were somewhere else. Boasting european prices (around 400 euros a night) I do expect a european standard of service, which you clearly will not get. So much for our honeymoon on Zanzibar.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gekio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We read the earlier reviews and decided to give the all inclusive Junior Suite package a bash. We arrived July 2nd which was the second day after reopening following revamp and renovations. The staff were absolutely amazing - from the gardener to the manager.
The hotel filled up quick around us, so our experience changed, but the staff remained helpful and courteous, always doing everything they could for us. The generators failed for almost a day and a night - but again, the staff could not have done more for us.
The beach boys are not that bad. They leave you alone if you just humor them a little. They are far cheaper than using the hotel's excursions - just ensure that they have permits to carry tourists. Madiba and Mohamiddi were they guys who helped us - friendly and not pushy. They gave us advice and even bargained with the locals for better prices for handmade goodies at the beach shops.
Highly recommend the swimming with dolphins tour, blue safari and Stone Town tours.
The tide does go out far at low tide, but it shifts times, so it was no issue - I the tide is out - drink cocktails at the pool :-))
For divers there is a dive shop at the resort next door. Their boat is close by, and their dive sites on Nmeba Island are awesome. One Ocean dive center has qualified and professional team.
We spent 10 great nights there, and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMAguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We went for 10 days and wished it had booked for longer. it was everything we had hoped it would be and more. When they say all inclusive (that was the pacjkage we were on) they mean it, the only time we paid for anything was day trips away from the hotel. They have a stunning pool with plenty of comfy loungers. Three fantastic restuarants with awesome food and snacks provided all day, including an ice cream fridge. ALL drinks free - including cocktails. Great rooms and wonderful, friendly and fantastic staff. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hola-daying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,531 reviews
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
14.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Property: Dream of Zanzibar
Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing