We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Sublime”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

As hoteliers, we have visited many hotels on the Island, but no one compares to Dream of Zanzibar! From the moment we arrived Givar the Front Office Manager welcomed us and escourted us to the room. The resort is soooo beautifull...

Shams was outstanding in ensuring that we knew where all the restaurant outlets were and ensuring we get a booking at one of the restaurants. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating and made us feel very welcome. The resort is immaculate and very well maintained.

All credit should go to the "Captain of the Ship" Mr Lalit the General Manager. He's attention to every detail is great. He makes time to chat to the guests to see if everyone is having a good time. Mr Lalit is very "Hands On" and you can see that he has "He's finger on the pulse"

Asante Sana team, for making our break a very memorable one!

Room Tip: Junior suites are great
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucy2010Zanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
There are newer reviews for Dream of Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our stay comes soon to an end, we came for 2 weeks here, to enjoy the sun. The resort is rather small, but gives you such a cosy intimate feeling. Located on the northern east coast of the island, it is outside the noisy areas and the views are amazing. The rooms are very practical and comfortable. Cleaning daily, rooms attended twice a day, including anti-mosquito spraying. Bathrooms big enough (we stayed in deluxe room) with separate toilet. All rooms have a small terrace, enough place with a small table and chairs. The whole resort gives a very clean fresh view, a lot of green and flowers, alleys well maintained. All rooms have both air-con and ceiling fan, so one may choose the option.
Food and beverage quality is very good. The breakfast is not impressive at all, I would say that more diversity would be good. Lunch and dinner are quite good, a lot of choice! The specialty restaurant I reccomend is Boma. The Italian wasnot bad, but the choice of wine, even as extra, is very poor! The standard wine offer is either South African or Australian, not bad, but for an Italian specific restaurant, I would add 4-5 choices and prosecco!
Fresh fish always available, and in general the salads bar and fruits always tasty. The staff tries their best but still need a lot of training...Thanks to Shams, the F&B supervisor, the place runs quite well and the fact that Lunch and dinner place is changing to the terrace andto the beach is nice as well!
Swimming pool area is very well attended, always clean and quiet. Too quiet even - some lounge music by the pool would not harm, I think. The beach is nice, also always attended, the water though not the best. Still, quite nice to stay there. Bar serves decent cocktails, well, they could do better. The espresso and capucinno are good - themachine is good quality. Excursions available, expensive though, still, prefferedthen the beach-boys which organizethe same as they say. The staff in general very friendly and welcoming, and "the boss"always around, available, smiling - thank you!
For those picky - do not forget you are in Africa and some things should be taken as they come. Electricity may go down 2-3 times a day for max 1 minute. Hot water may go away in 20-30 minutes. Some staff is slow or a bit clumsy. Still I find this place amazing.
Lastly, this is not a resort for super fun and entertainment, this is a relaxing, quiet resort so choose carefully if you look for noise. Still, nightly entertainment is there, some music, local shows, mini market for souvenirs.
All in all, a lot ofgood things to say about this place! I would definitelly return should roads bring us back to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gufi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We enjoyed the first part of our Honeymoon here, we stayed in total 6 nights & then headed out to Kizimakazi & then last but not least to Nungwi.

We enjoyed our stay at the diamonds dreams of Zabnzibar very much! Everthing was great! The rooms were beautiful, the pool area was great, the bar & bartenders were great, the poolboys, the waiters, everybody working there were so friendly & helpful!
We enjoyed every single meal, there are plenty to chose from, if I had to say wich resturant we enjoyed the least, it was probably the african resturant Boma.
There is a resturant called chopstick, that is kind of asian fusion, and we wished we had tryed that earlier, because we had dinner there our last night, & it was exeptional good!
We enjoyed the Spa treatments, we played tennis, we had runs on the beach, we relaxed at the pool or the beach & we also really recomend a long walk during low tide, it was stunning to experiance this beautiful beach in low water with sandbanks, we walked far far away from the beach & it really was stunning!

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel & we thought a perfect way to spend our honeymoon was to stay in diffrent areas on the island to experiance the most of it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarakatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I went to Dreams of Zanzibar for a work conference over May 8th - 12th 2012. When you arrive, you are greeted by the staff with juice, and once you check in, you are shown to your room. The room is very nice, spacious and comfortable, equipped with a bar fridge. However, few rooms are sea facing. Each bed has a mosquito net, which is let out during turn-down in the late afternoon. Make sure to take your antimalarials as mosquitoes come out in the evenings. Remember NOT to drink the tap water.

The resort has power outtage issues, and I once showered in the pitch dark. The shower had little pressure and most evenings I would have a luke warm shower. Some may enjoy this when it is hot and humid outside, but I did not. The aircon would also stop working at 3am, and the room would become extremely warm.

There was a beach braai one evening, and the power went out, so all the guests used their mobile phones as lighting and the power came on about 5-10 minutes later. The evening entertainment included african dancers, which was nice.

The food at the resort was very plain and untasty, unusual for an island notorious for their spices! No real milk either, only powder milk. I did enjoy the fresh fruit at every meal (bananas, watermelon, pineapple)

The island did offer some delights - the spice farm tour was particularly interesting and the tour ended with a feast of delicious fruits. Stone Town was of interest as this is where slave trade took place. It also houses the home of Freddy Mercury.

The ocean swimming was lovely.. the water was like a bath. The pool at the resort was also good. Don't be surprised that you are harrassed by the local people to buy their things on the beach, before getting into the water!

If you are looking for an island holiday, I would think twice about staying at this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leel0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

What a fantastic holiday resort. The resort Staff were extremely helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. The room was exactly as described in the brochure. Excellent entertainment with a Band and the BBQ around the Pool.

Room Tip: Go for the Suites not a Standard room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardandJenny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a note that i sent to the GM of the hotel after the way my wife and I were treated.

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful time that we have had at your resort.

We had a marvellous time last year, hence the reason for our return.
You listened to our issues from last year and both of us cannot believe how you have step changed the business which you run.

You have some marvellous staff. Your new man Shams in particular has stood out.

Ready to listen...take advice and nothing is too much trouble.

The cleanliness of the place meets and beats some of the best hotels in the world which in the conditions that you work in is quite an achievement.

The food is probably the single biggest improvement...your new team is fantastic and very accommodating! We did not have one single bad course..
Your gardens are exquisite....immaculately maintained..

The bar staff...wonderful...polite and a joy to be around at whatever time of the day.

Travel and holidays are becoming a luxury for most people. The world is becoming a tougher place and people have to work harder and harder to be able to afford this luxury.
So when people go away to resorts like yours the expectations are very high...its like being in the Olympics....(No-one remembers who came second!)

So if this was the Olympics I would award you and your staff a Gold Medal for hospitality!!!

Please share this with your management and staff!

We will be back next year...(God willing) with our sons...

Kindest Regards

Nicholas and Karen Dunn
dunnn@smollan.co.za

Room Tip: We went during the quiet season....so the choice is better. You spend so little time in your room...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

welcome drink and the pleasant and friendly welcome by staff and management. When we arrived i knew that this trip would be our best thus far and it really was. I guess the friendly faces that you come across day to day, made our stay a perfect one indeed. overall i can only give and say the best! the food out done by the chef,Mr Daya and wow, from the breakfast to lunch to diner was the best we ever had. We were treated like royalty and this is something you do not come across in a hurry. Mr Shams well all i can say was superb in handling and organising the everyday duties to the best of his abilities. They always tend to give off the very best, and i can only say with time they will be the best! Our stay was wonderfull and look forwarding in returning back for another holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RanjiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,600 reviews
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 17 in Nungwi
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
501 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range: £197 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing