We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not safe - BEWARE”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not safe - BEWARE”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went there for our honeymoon in March 2012. On our 2nd night we were woken up by a load noise coming from the door. When I reach the door I saw a screw driver coming in from the other side to try and break open the lock. Managed to bang loudly from my side and it scared "them" away.

Struggled for two hours to get hold of reception as I was scared to go outside. Management told us it was the first time that this had happened but if you have a look in the rooms, most of the locks are damaged. We were given the best room on the resort but we constantly slept in fear.

As for the terrible rating, if it was not for the break in incident, this resort would have gotten 5 stars from me. Food and staff were brilliant and we were treated like Kings.

Travel tip - If you do decide to go there, do all your excursions trough a guy (beach boy) you can find on the Diamond Dreams beach called "Bigfoot". By a long shot cheaper than the hotel and don't let the price fool you!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank W1l6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    392
    99
    39
    18
See reviews for
329
886
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Dec 7th-19th 2013.
We booked D.O.Z as part of our honeymoon and were expecting a great holiday.
The resort is about an hour from the airport and is a fascinating drive through the villages and local population. Passing spice farms and vast jungle/greenery en-route.
We arrived late at night about 2230 and the staff seemed friendly enough and everyone spoke English.
We were shown to our room (207)which was clean and tidy but quite far from the main area resort area. The resort were kind enough to bring us some sandwiches as we had been travelling all day.
We got settled in and were told as we were on honeymoon we would get a bottle of champagne and fruit plate. This didn't materialise and we had to ask for it. We spoke to Pamela the reception manager who apologised and the same day we had it in the room along with a voucher to Blue Vanilla the paid restaurant which was a pleasant surprise and gratefully accepted.
The resort itself is amazing and very clean and the grounds are immaculate and the staff are constantly cleaning a gardening and are all very friendly.

The resort has one main pool which is a nice temperature and large enough to accommodate everyone. The beech has golden sands and a warm sea several shade umbrellas and trees.
There are several restaurants including Italian, African, Chinese as well as the main buffet style area. You need to book all but the main one and normally the day before can get you a table.
The resort is mostly Italians, French, German & South African tourists. Very few English/ Americans which was a change for us and quite different.

Resort Learning Points:
The resort is sooooo close to being perfect but not quite there. I would like to list some areas of our holiday that frustrated us to give the resort some constructive feedback to make it better.

The staff are all incredibly friendly but don't seem to know what they are doing with regards to drink orders. It was very frustrating to be having lunch/dinner and not be asked or served drinks. We couldn't work out why our table wouldn't be served and on several occasions were ignored by staff. Nearly every day.
Not sure why, we thought maybe we were too polite as the British tend to be and as such the staff thought we were ok and didn't need anything. The Europeans tend to bit a bit more vocal in ordering and we thought that is what the staff think is the way to serve customers. If a wine glass is empty then fill it up or at least ask.

The Coconut bar stays open late but is far to small to cope with the amount of people needing drinks. The staff do table service and more often than not they either took our drinks to another table or couldn't remember where we sat or forgot completely. We resorted to ordering at the bar and waiting for them so they didn't get lost.
Having watched the bar operate is was no wonder the drinks got lost as the 1 barman who actually made the drinks wrote drinks on scraps of paper and they were stuck to the counter and then once made given to the waiters. If a drink was spilt whilst making it all the orders were lost.

There doesn't appear to be any table order or numbers to assist the staff and I was told they generally work areas but seemed to just take orders from all around the pool area and get lost on the way back. Especially at breakfast/lunch in the main buffet the staff are dealing with hundreds of guests and there doesn't seem to be any order.

All of the restaurants could do with ceiling fans especially the golden bridge as once the chef's start cooking in the restaurants with woks we measured the temp as 37degrees and had to ask to sit outside in the bar area to finish our meal.

Blue Vanilla restaurant (paid) served amazing sea food but once again the service was lacking. There were only 3 couples in the restaurant and one member of waiting staff who seemed to go awol until the food was ready and she would bring it out. We re-filled our own drinks from the wine bucket and were not offered any water or bread. Shame as the food was amazing.

The beach boys as friendly as they were had their favourite guests and they reserved sunbeds and shaded areas for them and most days we were under trees or furthest away from the pool area and the guests would turn up after lunch for their reserved spots which was frustrating.
Once again getting a drink on the beach and actually getting it was nearly impossible.
We liked the beach as the breeze kept us cooler in the 35degree heat.

The beach is kept clean and there are 2 security guards keeping the hawkers from getting too close which was good but they can't stop them from shouting at guests to try get their attention.
We found when we did venture onto the beach if you are firm with the hawkers and we would say no we're just walking they would generally leave you alone. Some don't but just ignoring them soon works.
Don't be scared of wandering into the little market off the beach to the left of the resort as they will try sell you things but understand no for an answer. Sarong's are over half the price of the resort shop.
The resort shop was very expensive and a medium size bottle of sun cream was 30euros and they don't sell basics like paracetamol and were told by reception if we needed it they would call the doctor. Not really needed for a headache.

The entertainment is standard for this kind of resort and the acrobatics troop were very good and the Italian guitar/lounge singer could do with a few more songs in his play list but generally we enjoyed most nights in the resort once we got our drinks.

We found charging 3 euros to use the gym in an all inclusive resort is a bit cheeky

We got a private taxi to Stone Town ($80) to have a look around and he took us to a supermarket and we bought sun cream very cheaply. Stone town was interesting and the small side streets are like a bazaar and worth a look.

People of note to mention who made our holiday are:
Shams who once we complained about the service being poor listened to our complaint and made sure every time he saw us he checked we were ok and even though it wasn't his job he got drinks and cleared plates for us. He strives to make the resort run smoothly and obviously takes pride in his work and has lots of ideas to make it better and the management should listen to him.
Pamela at reception was very helpful and assisted with the few problems we had and was worth speaking to when we weren't enjoying our stay.

Generally we had a lovely stay but the service is just not good enough for a resort of this standard. I would say more positives than negatives but wanted to pass feedback to the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbutler613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The standards in Zanzibar are not great but Diamonds is among the best there is on the island.
The staff are friendly and whilst the rooms are a bit run down (lamp shades torn), they are clean and comfortable. Quality of the food is good. Nice Beach - pity that you are constantly hassled. by the locals trying to sell you something . Nice pool though . Water in the shower was somewhat sporadic. Air cons fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Espagne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in Aug 2013, the hotel is very nice, the people working there very nice, the views from the room very nice. It's an all included hotel, but it still is a luxury hotel, fortunately people don't go crazy to eat and drink as much as possible, which is highly appreciated. But the beach is a fail, with the tides you cannot swim most of the day, no watersports, no snorkel... It's a real pity, not what one would expect from Zanzibar.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

great indian upon request from indian chef Daya. Food manager Smams always there to assist and General Manager interacts with guest. Chef Sabastian also warm to quest. Staff always willing to serve quest. Full board package good value for money . Entertainment good!From Vish Maharaj ...Johannesburg

Room Tip: toilet seperate to shower.kingsize bed with nets.furniture in good condition,however mnet tv receipt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishmedical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was so welcoming, there was a huge selection of food to cater for every taste and it was delicious. The rooms were simply stunning and were cleaned daily. One of the staff, Shams, was very accomodating and baked a birthday cake for us even though we gave him a days notice. Special thanks to John and Asnat for your hospitality.

Room Tip: I stayed in a garden room view. There's no need to have a sea view room when you are at the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishka r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have just returned from a week vacation in the hotel "diamond dreem of zanzibar" and we had an amazing time. The hotel is amazingly beautiful located near a beautiful beach with white sand. The service is great and the staff are really nice and friendly. The food is excellent. The hotel offer 5 different restaurants with great food. We came there with our kids and they had a great time. The rooms are simple but nice and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDWMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,530 reviews
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
14.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Property: Dream of Zanzibar
Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing