We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

we were here two years ago and had a nice stay. too bad the weather wasn't always that nice. food was ok, personnel very friendly, rooms large and cosy. beach was so so, i think there are nicer beaches in zanzibar. during high season the masai are there, nice experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas_Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dream of Zanzibar and for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased to read that you had a nice experience, looking forward to welcome you back at Dream of Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    400
    103
    39
    18
See reviews for
341
909
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The resort is very nice, beatifully locateded on a a white sandy beach. Big rooms, well cleaned and overall excellent service.
The theme restaurants are very good and nice but the buffets are average. The resort is very well cleaned and the staff is really very kind. It is more a honeymoon resort than a resort for active families who want to do a lot of spors. The atmosphere in the resort is very relaxed.
I would recommend the hotel for honemooners and people looking for a relax holiday, if you are looking for an active club holiday it will be a little bit boring.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dream of Zanzibar, and for taking the time to write your review, it makes us happy to read how much you enjoyed our beautiful beach, our service and our themed restaurants, looking forward to welcome you back at Dream of Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. The grounds were immaculately kept, the cleanliness was second to none, the beach - WOW, is out of this world - and don't even get me started on the staff!!! THEY WERE AMAZING!!! They couldn't do enough for you.... so helpful, polite and always with the biggest smiles on their faces.

The evening entertainment was well thought out with numerous 'themed-evenings' during the week.... some based on the beach, others around the pool.....if you didnt fancy the main restaurant you had an Italian, Chinese, African and a fresh-fish restaurant to choose from you. With so many choices, you never sat in a packed restaurant. The Chinese was by far the best..... amazing food in a little courtyard surrounded by foliage.

The room was African themed, large, airy and super clean - we upgraded to a sea-view - which was well worth it - waking up to the sunrise each day was so special.

The spa treatments were reasonable priced - some hotels you go to and they charge £120 for a massage.... here they are appox $80. I would recommend a visit, especially the 2 hour African hot stone massage!!

All-in-all I couldn't recommend this hotel/resort highly enough. Having met a mother and daughter who moved to our hotel following a disastrous check-in at the hotel next door, I realise it can be hit-and-miss with hotels in this area..... so we were lucky to have found such a gem of a resort. Thank you to all who made our hotel WONDERFUL!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dream of Zanzibar and for a wonderful review, we are so glad to read how much you enjoyed all our facilities and our service, we are going to share your nice words with our staff, looking forward to welcome you at your home Dream of Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From the very warm welcome to the end of our holiday we were made to feel very special guests by all of the staff. The rooms are very comfortable and the Jacuzzi was a lovely added touch in the junior suite we were allocated. The food outlets we tried - the main buffet, the Italian, the Chinese, the Indian and London Bridge were wonderful - all with varied menu's. There is another a la carte, which whilst you pay for this - it really was well worth it - the menu was mainly seafood and was delicious.
Sebastian and Syed (chefs), Riyab and Shams (food and beverage) and Michael (front of house) were exceptional hosts during our stay. (From Room 1501 - We miss them already).
The location is right on the beach - and what an amazing beach it is too. You really couldn't chose a better resort.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a Jacuzzi Suite then I would highly recommend to. Rooms are in two storey bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dream of Zanzibar and for absolutely wonderful review, it is really make us feel happy to read that you felt special at Dream of Zanzibar, we are going to share you nice comments with all the staff, looking forward to welcome you at your home Dream of Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel and one the best service that I ever received.
I highly recomend that at least one time in your life you have to try it. The rooms are large and with a splendid view over the ocean. All the restaurants are very good, and very very friendly Staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmorimNeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dream of Zanzibar and taking the time to share a wonderful review, we are glad that you had a wonderful stay, looking forward to welcome you at Dream of Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is perfect , staff were very helpful & friendly... its really the perfect choice for honeymooners... our room type was Junior suit jacuzzi , it was really comfortable, clean & romantic,, the food was delicious with high variety... we are sure we will come again in our anniversary

Room Tip: if you are honeymooner choose the Junior suit jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Sales_Maager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dream of Zanzibar and taking the time to share a wonderful review, we are glad that you had a wonderful vacation in our Jacuzzi room, looking forward to welcome you at Dream of Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldoret, Rift Valley, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Words can not describe how fantastic this hotel is...We were skeptical at first as we had heard it was a large hotel, but upon arrival its on a league of its own.

We stayed in the jacuzzi room and as honeymooners we got a great package for the spa and a surprise dinner for 2 on the beach.

Every day was different and 5 nights flew by...we went for the canoeing (a great laugh and good bonding time for newly weds) and walks on the crystal clear beaches.

We would like to say a big thank you to mr. Riyab (head of f&b) and the hotel manager as without them this trip would not have been as memorable. they really made us feel special and welcome as they provided us with everything we required, including special vegetarian meals.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone...it was fantastic...xxx

Room Tip: A room that are sea facing that have a jacuzi in the room is the best for honeymooners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldoretian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dream of Zanzibar for your honeymoon and for this wonderful review, we are glad to know that we were able to make your honey moon memorable; we are looking forward to welcome you soon at your home Dream of Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,571 reviews
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
489 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Property: Dream of Zanzibar
Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing