We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of Paradise”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

An amazing piece of paradise, we were treated like royality, the staff were excellent and well trained... everyone is ready and waiting to serve our every need, the hotel rooms were excellent and the beaches amazing. Food was unbelievable with wide variety... we were devastated to leave and cannot wait to return! We highly recommend this excellent hotel for all.... It was like a piece of Heaven on earth!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lperrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    379
    94
    36
    18
See reviews for
303
856
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We travelled from 21st Sep - 25th Sep 2010. We were 7 in total, friends wanting to get away and relax. The flight was ok - 3hours 30min, a bit boring without a TV. A tip for all ladies travelling, make sure to use the toilet facilities on the plane prior to getting off. Seriously, the 1 room building you enter upon arrival is really just 1room & the toilets are bad. Plus when you use the toilet, there are ladies waiting inside for a tip. I never thought I would ever say Aeroplane toilets were like 5star, so you can understand how bad they were. Make sure when you come out of the building to keep a hold onto your bags. There are a line up of guys waiting outside to take your bags for a tip - they don't ask, they simply take it. So just be upfront with them. I guess being such a poor country, they look for money anywhere they can. On arrival to the resort, we were greeted and helped with our booking. The entrance is a very relaxing place - love the open office under the thatch. You could sit there and relax the entire day, enjoying the breeze. That was just the entrance. The tour operator for the resort - Hamis was helpful and informative. He will ask you to attend a meeting for about 30min - I think a must especially if you want to do tours. Onto our room....mmmm.....what can I say - the room was Dreamy. We were in a Junior Suite - full view of the ocean....huge bed, plus a lounge in the room - this room was so big, I can't explain it - plus it still went out onto the balcony...loved it....The bathroom is funny - shower with no door, so the floor ends up getting a bit wet....but lovely & big.....I loved the room, we all did! Just a note for future bookings - when you book "sea-facing - doesn't mean sea-views"....just means in the direction of the sea, so you have units infront of you - you can't have a view. The beach ......Wonderful...this is nature untouched...the abundance of shells and coral life is everywhere - don't remove any, as this will eventually disturb this beautiful place. Walking in the ocean is like being in a heated pool - I liked that....plus the breeze helps alot. So people curse the wind, know it really helps with sitting out the entire day on the beach - without the wind, I think we would of managed. At low tide you can walk to your hearts content...seriously...that far out when people look like ants....its amazing. The only problem with the beach is the amount of people selling you stuff and trying to offer sevices like snorkelling etc....its ok if you want to do it, but when you just want to take a walk - it actually gets a bit frustrating having them follow you, really they follow and bug you. But just keep your cool and try and say No...calmly....maybe tomorrow.....when you see how poor that country is, it is a rude awakening.... The pool bars take forever to make a drink - so be very patient...plus depending on the barmen on that day, they might know how to make it - which is funny.....The food was good - I basically eat everything plus one of our friends is vegetarian and she has no problem with the food. I loved the buffet variety everyday at the main restaurant. There are 4 restaurants on the premises - be sure to book at the pizza / chinese / indian & seafood on arrival as it doesn't accommodate many people at a time. We ate at the main restaurant the first 2 nights..loved it. 3 rd night we ate at the Chinese place....this was a nightmare....the menu maybe has about 7 items on it besides desert - no real options.......we waited 40min before they brought out the starter, then we waited for the main meal - when that finally came out, they didn't have the ones we wanted....eg. we wanted 2beef, 3 chicken, 1 veg...but then they bring out 2beef, 1chick & 2 veg....but no one tells us until we get the food....really bad.....finally we said fine we would except the food - this was maybe the worse chinese food I ate - the noodles were overcooked, so it was more like mashy....plus very salty....honestly we were all very dissatisfied by this meal. so we got up and told them that we were unhappy with the meal and left to the main restaurant to eat.....this was a saviour to us....the next morning at breakfast, we were approached by the resort manager - Jakarti, who enquired about our meal last night at the chinese as he was at the restaurant when he saw us leave.....I explained that it wasn't becuase the food wasn't spicy enough, but rather that it was poorly cooked and really not edible. He was very understanding to the situation and I guess our feedback only helps the resort to better in some areas....He even offered us if we wanted anything made especially for that night - to let him know, but we fine just letting him know about the problem - I must say - Glad that he noticed and made the effort to resolve - 5stars....4th night we ate at the Pizza place....good variety...enjoyed the food....so try all and enjoy...thats the only way you will know.....I think the beach, sand and water makes it Dreamy....you can relax the whole day sipping on cocktails and chilling on the beach.....On departure both Hamis & Jakarti was there to see us off - really good experience - loved the place!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayDreamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lusaka,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Dreams is absolutely wonderful,the rooms are big roomy and comfortable.The beach is lovely but the tide is normally out during most of the day and returned in the evening which wasnt so bad.the complains i have is with the food.its very unsatisfying the breakfast was the same thing everyday and most of the food was very plain and bland and another thing is the hotel is occupied mostly by italians who arent very friendly this wasnt an issue for me as i didnt mind the coldness another thing is the staff are more hospitable to the italians which can be rather disappointing but not all are that way and few are very welcoming and friendly all in all was an amazing stay the food may have been a disaster but the rest was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

When we read the various negative reviews on Tripadvisor we were concerned about what we would discover. However we had an excellent experience in this hotel and very much enjoyed our stay.

Hotel & Rooms:
-The grounds are well kept, the gardens are beautiful, the property very clean. it's a rather mid-sized hotel with about 140 rooms.
- The rooms are relatively large and comfortable. But be aware of the fact that the rooms they call "sea view" are rather only on the "sea side" and since the buildings are located in a second row, you barely see the sea between two buildings and behind the palm trees - if you really want a seaview you should book a junior suite.
- the swimming pool is quite long so good for swimming (only about 1.5 deep). And the water is extremely warm!
- entertainment: since the hotel was only 30% full, the usual courses/events didn't take place (aqua gym, arts courses etc). We had two evening shows: BBQ with African music and dancers (nice) and a Masai show (below average).

Beach
- the beach is clean and the beach beds are nicely spread accross the beach, not too close to each other
- like most people mentioned, the tides are quite important and the sea is retrieving several hours a day. We didn't mind too much as the shallow water allowed us to walk in the sea (knee to waist level) for several hundred yards.
- the water is beautifully green and transparent most times but can be a bit troubled and warmish when the water comes back.
- beware of the strong sun! We got burned a few times, despite high-protection cream. Avoid the hottest times if you have a fair skin.
- one annoying thing for us: the local sellers on the beach basically "attack" you when you go for a swim. You cannot avoid them!! They don't bother you when you are on you beds but as soon as you get up and move to the water they try to sell you their stuff (excursions and local goods). SOmetimes they even try to follow you in the knee-deep water! Although they keep persisting day after day, overall they usually stay very polite.

Restaurants
- the buffet restaurant is nice, you can sit inside (poor decoration inside though, we preferred sitting outside) or outside on the terrace (overlooking the swimming pool). Food is good and rather diversified - clearly oriented to please Italians who seem to constitute avout 70% of hotel customers, aahh, pasta!
- we tried the Italian and Chinese restaurant, both also good (decoration so-so but we always chose a table close to the arch windows (open)
Just a quick comment on the food: keep in mind that you are in an all-inclusive hotel, so don't expect fine cuisine, but overall the quality is good.
- service is good in all restaurants, we were always served quickly and mostly by smiling and friendly waitresses.

Overall rating: good to very good if you are looking for a calm, relaxing stay (there is not much entertainment and nothing to do outside the hotel).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredene, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Hello everyone
For the second time I was in Dream of Zanzibar, and it was even better than last time. who foretold that this is nothing does not know it. And I know because I travel around the world. you can see it in my travelmap I did more than 60 locations and I think this is one of the best. The whole staff is doing its very best, the general manager is super kindly, The food thanks to the chefs is super. Not to mention the recratie manager Ahmed Said is super super friendly and became a really very good friend of us.
I highly recommend this place.
A happy family
Bissenbergen Maurice

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maurice1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2010

It was a short but verry nice vacantion, friendly people, beautiful location, verry nice food. I saw the bad forums of dream, but it is not true, everything was excelent.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bimmeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

we were at Dream of Zanzibar at the beginning of January, the hotel is amazing.

all has been perfect the room very spaciuos, all staff professional and ready to help at any time.
we enjoyed the choice of restaurants and food.

Dispite the tide problem the beach is amazing huge and offers a wide range of possibilities for young people such as water sports activities kite surfing and diving.
The diving school was at an other hotel form the same chain but all the transfer was perfectly organised and included in the diving prices

i will highly reccomend this hotel as me and my friends we all had amazing time.
thank you to all Dream of zanzibar staff

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
14.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.2 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Property: Dream of Zanzibar
Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing