We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We want to go next year again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamonds Mapenzi Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We want to go next year again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a nice room on the beach. The food and drinks were great, especially the cocktail menu.
We were there at full moon which means the tide was in early morning and early evening, a wonderful time to swim in a benign ocean. The staff were amazing there was nothing they would not do to keep guests happy. A gardener climbed a coconut palm to fetch me a madafu (drinkable green coconut) every day. Fruit on every buffet was wonderful and you could eat something all . the Hotel policy of all inclusive is wonderful. Good cocktails. good wine and good food. Air conditioned room, nice beach there is nothing to complain about and i was one of our better holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    243
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
196
377
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oakham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Such helpful,friendly staff. Shame about about some of the other guests. amazing resort, lovely beaches and super beach huts with fresh flowers every day. Truly made our honeymoon special and we are missing it already.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the beach front huts as they are to die for>
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen44krissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a 3 night stay in October 2013.
Friendly warm welcome on arrival. Rooms upgrades were handled quickly and efficiently.
Rooms were clean and cool and had beautiful views.
The restaurant was fantastic, and the food was really good - dessert table was divine.
We had a problem with our A/C, but they fixed it day 1, and when it broke again, we were moved to another room.
Pizza restaurant was great. The beach bar and beach staff were helpful, albeit a bit slow.
But all in all, it was a fantastic stay, enjoyed by all 14 people in our party.
Only problem was the 'beach boys' - very irritating, but I suppose not the hotels problem.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are really great. They will upgrade at the hotel on arrival at a nominal charge if rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had 3 days here in September, and apart from a problem with the beds and the a/c, which was resolved quickly by moving us to the beachfront, which was wonderful. Sadly there was no kids club, but the staff did their best by playing with the boys.
If you want to do nothing for a few days, except eat, drink a glass of vino and relax, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19booty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent in the hotel 5 wonderful days. Was a great experience. African atmosphere together with European service. The hotel breaks the stereotype of all-inclusive hotels with average-low quality of food. Here it was just great. Fresh, delicious, healthy and various.
The coast is so beautiful that you want to spent there all your time. For the more active ones the management of the hotel can organize different trips around Zanzibar for a quite reasonable prices.
Even staying just in the resort can be interesting as you have different events happening there and a lot of places even just to relax.
Go there! I would love to do it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anushka_evn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I have just got back from a lovely trip to Tanzania finishing up at Mapenzi Beach. We were very happy with it and can only assume that some of the other reviewers below are very picky. We found everyone welcoming and helpful, we were greeted often by both the manager and his wife and the fact that they ate in the restaurant was a testimony to the quality and variety of the food provided which was very good. We particularly enjoyed the soup and the desserts. The Swahili Night on the beach was a real highlight for us too. The beach and sea are beautiful and the hotel itself whilst in need of some low level maintenance is lovely. We had a marvellous relaxing and refreshing time there. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Our room was up near the tennis court, nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Delightful resort with wonderful staff and great food(a gastronomic delight)."Toto Incluido" is the way to go!Well located for the endless beach protected by amazing reef and its proximity to Mnemba island for outstanding snorkelling or diving.
We commend you for the really great team of staff who work with you tirelessly and with smiles for all, from early morning to late night. Nothing is too much trouble and every request answered “hakuna matata”! The Mapenzi food is a gastronomical delight, the restaurants’ staff are superb, the housekeeping done with such attention to detail, with beautiful flowers in our rooms, your entertainment programme so varied and all the activities add to the joy of each day, the stretching, water aerobics, boating, archery and a catamaran ride too. The gardens, the pool and beach area are always maintained so well. Joseph, Victor, Juma and Omar, also Judith, Augustine, Paschal, Martha, Benjamin [front desk], Mkadamu and all your team have given us a most memorable holiday yet again.

Room Tip: Beach-front villas are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
0.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
14.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.1 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Mapenzi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Mapenzi Beach

Property: Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Address: PO Box 100, Mahonda, Tanzania (Formerly Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Mapenzi Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the east coast of Zanzibar on the Kiwengwa shoreline, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach perfectly blends in the natural environment of the surrounding landscape, covering an area of 4 hectares blessed with a long white beach and lush tropical gardens of palms and colourful bougainvillea. The Resort is just 40 minutes from Zanzibar international airport and is a perfect choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers a nice mixture of relax,fun and extensive all inclusive services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Diamonds Mapenzi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club Hotel Mahonda
Mapenzi Beach Hotel
Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing