We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“easy, polite and all you need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamonds Mapenzi Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“easy, polite and all you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just what we needed after Kilimanjaro. It has a good pool, good beach, lovely rooms (huts) good amount of activities and the food/drinks are good quality. Always dome sort of food or drink on offer and staff make you feel very welcome. Dont be afraid of "beach boys", they do not hassle and trips are worth going on. Very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCBlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    243
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
196
377
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Enjoyed a 7 day stay at Mapenzie Beach, and our first visit to Zanzibar

Quick rundown of hotel:
Aprox 45 min drive from Airport
Garden room was beautiful, spacious and appreciated the air conditioning :) We were right next to the pool - great proximity to everything.

I really enjoyed the food variety ~ Breakfast, Lunch & Dinners were great despite being internationally catered for. The Pizza restaurant on the beach (you get one reservation per stay) was amazing! Truly exceptional! All Inclusive was definitely the only way to experience this hotel.

We were a bit disappointment that some of the water sports carried an extra charge - as no-one really seemed to use them either & Condition of equipment was not great. We did however address this with hotel management who allowed some additional time. (Big thanks for their patience and assistance)

Hotel reception & staff were pleasant throughout our stay, although I do think the atmosphere around the pool bar area was lacking a bit at times.

I have read numerous complaints regarding the beach boys which we tried to avoid by not responding to their attempts in making conversation - but I did witness a lot of hotel guests spending hours and hours chatting to them & making use of their excursion services (Which I wont recommend as our taxi was stopped numerous times to check for permits etc whilst on excursions).

The hotel overall is beautiful & location is great for relaxing & filling the days with nothing but sea and pool water, although I felt the whole time that it was lacking a bit of atmosphere... personal opinion.

Room Tip: We were placed in a garden room just off the pool area which was centrally located making it a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank natelie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have had the pleasure of twice visiting Mapenzi. The experience was amazing, the staff beyond friendly and efficient, the food delicious, the cocktails sublime and every time I've left, I've wanted to go back! Highly recommended

Room Tip: Specifically request location of your room, ie garden or beach front. There is a cost difference, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherinebinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had three rooms on the beach ( at extra small cost ) and highly recommend the extra expenditure as the rest of the Hotel is on a hillside and there are steps after steps.
Buffet style meals cater to an all inclusive clientele, so are repetitive and unimaginative.The supplementary restaurant on the beach ( extra cost) is better with good sea food, but overpriced.
Safe swimming beach when tide is in, otherwise long wade out to the reef (suggest bringing rubber shoes to guard against the many sea urchins). Service is good.

Room Tip: Beachfront a must - cooler than inland rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wow - this was my first all-inclusive experience and although I was impressed, I'm not sure I'll do it again.

Our room was gorgeous - right in front of the ocean and surrounded by sand. Inside, it was clean and beautifully decorated.

The food was tasty and the chefs seemed to really value freshness. After a few days though, no matter how varied the buffet is, it does all begin to meld into the same thing. The desserts could definitely use some improvement too.

Having drinks included was fun (as was trying every cocktail on the menu) and made it very good value. Again, after a few days, we found ourselves easing up on the drinks.

Service was fantastic, and we felt very spoilt with a free upgrade on our room.

My biggest piece of advice is to keep exploring, don't stay in the confines of the resort. The beach to the north is beautiful and everyone loved their various tours around the island.

Speaking of the beach, it isn't great at Mapenzi. At high tide there is no beach, at low tide, there is no water. But from we could gather, if you are a beach and fresh seafood person, then Zanzibar is not the best choice for you (we realised too late. But PS. go to Mozambique if that describes you and it's safe enough!).

Definitely worth a try if you find yourself in resort-land (aka Zanzibar).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChengduTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in Zanzibar with good service and not bad food. Lots of Italians and French. Ocean coast not very good and pool quite small.
Pretty sand, some different sport games makes some differ during the day.
Locals are annoying, but not allowed to the territitory.
May be excellent for some "relaxing" rest cause no any disco or other entertainment around. Perfect for reading books :))))

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Станислав Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sosnowiec, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent a week at Sansdies Mapenzi Beach Club in November 2013. Once we arrived, we were greeted with a cold drink and a refreshing towel. After getting the key to our bungalow, we were led to our accommodation. The hut we were staying at, was separated from other similar buildings, very spacious with comfy beds, mosquito nets, AC, large bathroom, mini fridge stocked on a daily basis and some wardrobe to hang your stuff in. Stepping out of the room you could chill out or to have a nap on the terrace as there was extra sofa with pillows. Overall the accommodation was perfect, clean, well-kept and nicely furnished. The Mapenzi Hotel can boast about a wonderful garden with plenty of palm trees, 2 bars, one next to the swimming pool and the second one at the beach, good access to the beach with shallow and warm water, sufficient number of sunbeds and umbrellas. The whole area is perfectly maintained, very clean with fine, powdery sand, very green and extremely peaceful. Hardly ever all the sunbeds were taken throughout the day. The bars are serving drinks from 10 am to 12 pm. Excellent service and very nice employees making your stay comfortable and pleasant. The food served in the main restaurant was very delicious. I don't remember a dish or a single thing I would find inedible or not tasty. Plenty of choice from fish to all sorts of meat. Great and sweet fruits, especially my fave one, passion fruits :) Once a week they are throwing a garden dinner underneath the palm trees with barbecue and other local cuisine specialties. All food was great and variable enough to let everybody eat what they like the most. The only thing that bothered me was the opening hours of the swimming pool, unfortunately we couldn't swim longer than 6 pm which was rather odd. I can bet there would always be a handful of people willing to swim once they came back from daily trips outside the hotel. I may be wrong but I would make the opening hours of the pool a bit longer. Apart from that we had an amazing time and great vacations in this hotel. Incredible African architecture of the whole resort, beautiful garden and nice beach close by, delicious food, spotless rooms, free wi-fi internet accessible only at the main facilities but still free of charge are only a few of the distinguishing features that make this place incredible and a perfect place to experience great Zanzibar holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kornomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
0.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
14.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.1 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Mapenzi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Mapenzi Beach

Property: Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Address: PO Box 100, Mahonda, Tanzania (Formerly Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Mapenzi Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the east coast of Zanzibar on the Kiwengwa shoreline, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach perfectly blends in the natural environment of the surrounding landscape, covering an area of 4 hectares blessed with a long white beach and lush tropical gardens of palms and colourful bougainvillea. The Resort is just 40 minutes from Zanzibar international airport and is a perfect choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers a nice mixture of relax,fun and extensive all inclusive services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Diamonds Mapenzi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club Hotel Mahonda
Mapenzi Beach Hotel
Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing