We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our experience at Clifton Sands has been wonderful. We recently moved from the United States to Australia and have spent a lovely time here while getting set up. The rooms exceeded our needs and were neat, tidy, roomy and well furnished. We’ve saved a lot of money by cooking in the apartment, rather than eating out each night.

The manager, Linda, was so helpful in aiding our transition, and providing local knowledge such as the best deals on rental cars, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. She has also been flexible with our changing needs as unexpected situations arose with our transition from the US.

The location is also exceptional. There is a shopping center with a grocery store and a few cafes within walking distance and a great restaurant across the street. In addition, we’ve had breakfast every morning on our private balcony listening to birds chirping and waves crashing as we watch the sun rise over the ocean. Whether you’re here on holiday or transitioning to a new place, I can’t imagine a better value for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Clifton Sands for a week in May and had an excellent time. We stayed in two different apartments and both were really clean and well equipped. They had literally everything you needed to cook full meals. The wi-fi in the communal area is really good and the grounds and pool are really clean, tidy and well looked after. The location is excellent - just 2 minutes from the beach and an easy walk or cycle into Palm Cove. The bus to Cairns also stops literally outside the apartment building. The manager Linda is really helpful - nothing was too much to ask - and she helped us organise a tour to the reef which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryony5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed in Clifton Sands for one week in March and enjoyed it that much that I returned in May for 5 days. The apartment is really spacious and it is enormously cheap as I had a budget apartment. The view from the balcony is amazing and you cannot only see but also hear the sea and the waves what is totally relaxing. Wifi is included but the wifi reception is not really good in. I had problems to get the wifi in my room, but it works without any problems at the barbecue place. I really appreciated the washing machine and dryer in the bathroom which was free (you only need soap). I would definitely come back to Clifton Sands again as it is an absolutely lovely place and only about 100 metres away from a breathtaking beach.

Room Tip: I had apartment 11 which is a budget apartment ("old kitchen", but I could not care less a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAround87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The apartments are large, clean and well equipped. The Clifton beach is only 50 metres from the apartments and very clean great for walks, a short walk to the swimming area which is safe. Keep walking for 45 minutes and you get to Palm Cove.
Unfortunately there is only one restaurant in Clifton, although the Clifton Capers is very nice and opposite the apartments - there is nothing else in Clifton Beach... If you do not have a car (like us) the bus does stop next to the apartments and is quite reasonable to get into Cairns. There is also a Coles supermarket about a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrGrizzle, Owner at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Clifton sands, we agree, it's lovely quiet complex & in a brilliant location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This establishment is an absolute diamond for value, views and convenience plus it's only a few steps from one of Cairns best northern beaches. We were hoping for unit 14 as had been mentioned in other reviews and by good luck or good timing we were allocated number 14 by Grant. He is a great host and a fountain of information. We were originally from Clifton Beach and on a first return to Queensland since a move to Victoria we were glad to see little had changed and our choice of accommodation was well and truly validated by the reviews on Tripadvisor. A very highly recommended choice.

Room Tip: Try for a level three unit. The views are excellent and Grant will help out if he can we are sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliftonsands, General Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you with us at Clifton & we really do hope we will see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Clifton sands was an amazing place to stay. Comfortable and at a great location. Only 5 minutes from Palm Cove and Trinity Beach. Clifton Beach is literally a 1 minute walk and so beautiful. Clifton sands had a very clean pool which was awesome to bathe at. Great seafood restaurant across the road as well. Wifi included also and had everything needed for a memorable holiday. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We orginally booked for 1 week but wound up staying for 2 weeks at Clifton Sands in November 2012. Grant the manager took care of all our needs from booking tours to the Great Barrier Reef, Undara lava tubes, Kanadra Scenic Railway, to providing us with directions and giving us some great travel advise which we took to heart. The apartment was awesome, watching the sunrise every morning from our 3rd floor balcony was the best part of our day. The laundry washer and drier right in the room were a real bonus since we were traveling for close to a month. As Canadians we did miss not having a coffee maker to brew a pot in the morning, but we made by with instant! LOL. We would definitly recommend Clifton Sands for the cost, location, amenities, it was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerold k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
0.8 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.5 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 11 in Palm Cove
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
319 reviews
11.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments

Property: Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
Address: Clifton Sands Holiday Units 81 - 87 Guide St | Entrance on Clifton Road, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clifton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the gently breaking waves, Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments at Clifton Beach is the ideal choice for a relaxed holiday in a beautiful beach-side village. All apartments look over the gardens to the Coral Sea beyond. The casual, laid-back atmosphere is an ideal escape for those seeking to be away from the rush and stress of modern living. Our spacious and well appointed one bedroom apartments are an ideal base to explore all that the Tropical North has to offer. We are - without doubt - the best value accommodation on the Cairns Northern Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments Clifton Beach, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing